We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband for two nights in March. What a lovely stay. From the minute we arrived we felt very welcome. We were checked in by a lovely girl on reception who was so pleasant and explained everything to us. The decor in the hotel is unique and the rooms are spacious with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast is really good with a great selection.
We had dinner in Gigi's restaurant at the hotel and it was amazing. We were served by a lovely young man who was very friendly and attentive(sorry I didn't get his name, he wore glasses). He explained everything to us and answered any questions we had about the menu. He also served us at breakfast the next morning and was equally friendly.
We found all the staff to be lovely, and this really makes a difference to your stay.
The hotel is also just a short taxi ride away from the city centre with all the great bars and restaurants.
We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time at the g. It was lovely to read that you found the g to be unique and that our team took such good care of you. Our location makes the g an ideal base for exploring the city centre as well as the west of Ireland.
We greatly appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay as memorable as this one.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    571
    332
    133
    75
See reviews for
270
1,558
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay in the g galway..Ive stayed in five star hotels before,and was expecting the same standard but was sadly disappointed.At first glance from any photo of the hotel it looks fab.Only when you drive round to the car park do you get the full picture.As this complex seems to be incorporated into a shopping precinct.My particular room was above an Eddie rocket type burger bar.across the car park was petmania next to home store and more,and a multi screen cinema called the eye.luckily it being an easter weekend they were all closed.The staff were very good I must say,but the hotel was lacking.There is a mini bar in the room,Empty? although there were two people in the room,there was only one shower gel supplied.There was dust in the bathroom behind the toilet.And the room was to my mind sparsley furnished for a 5 star.I found the bar to be overpriced.nine euro for a g&t...9 euro-15.50 for a cocktail.No iron was supplied,there was an ice bucket but no ice making facility.I really cant fathom how this hotel got a five star rating...its a far cry from the likes of Powerscourt;..Doonbeg:or castlemartyr resort.Breakfast was very good although somewhat confusing.Would not return.Over rated..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Naturally we were all upset to read that you were not entirely impressed with your stay at the g. The g is situated in the Wellpark Retail Centre so the hotel is close to shops and our neighbouring business, the eye Cinema. Many of our Deluxe bedrooms and all of our Suites feature front facing views of Lough Atalia, which forms part of Galway Bay.
We do not stock our mini bars unless requested and we find that our guests seem to prefer this. We also offer twenty four hour room service which allows our guests to choose from a more comprehensive menu than just a mini bar.
We provide an ironing service or will deliver an ironing board upon request. We will also gladly deliver ice on request and we provide ice during our complimentary turn down service. Our Signature Lounges receive constant praise for their good value for money offerings. Our new “two for one” cocktail menu has been hugely popular.
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay. However it is important to realise that the g is not a resort like some of the properties you mention. We are a city centre hotel and we aim to be a city experience.
We hope that we have addressed your concerns.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with girlfriend for 2 nights. Spa and room were high points. Service was good but not incredibly memorable. location is a 20 min walk to city centre or cheap taxi.

Spa is the extra here you must enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated as well as our Spa, ESPA at the g. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

well from the minute we stepped out of the elevator from parking (missed the valet parking) we came up on it too fast.... We were greeted by Aidan and he just took our bags a fab girl (sorry can't recall her name) black rimmed glass we were booked in a few minutes upgraded delighted and before we knew it in our suite bags delivered and pink Precessco on ice and our stay had started... The room was a very very big room with a terrific bathroom it was a aaah moment... we had food in the bar that evening both the service and food were excellent I had booked a Facial the next morning again a fab experience really enjoyed it.... If I had anything to say its the whine of the AC I am a very sensitive sleeper and I knew it was in the back ground and if I could have found the music CD that was playing in the Bar/ Lounge area it would have gone to the bin it was the one thing that made us return to our room early that evening.. its just not where you would expect to find what I electro dance music... but other than that and if thats you kind of music well you will have found a Heaven on Earth for a very relaxing stay would I be back yes yes yes won't be passing this door too often when I next visit Glaway

Room Tip: I would think you would be spoilt for choice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlelamb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time in Galway. Our Front of House team were delighted to be mentioned in your review. Our bedrooms make any stay at the g special and it was lovely to read how much you enjoyed your time in the one you were allocated. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with the temperature control unit in your bedroom. We have also shared your feedback regarding our playlist with our Signature Lounge team to look into.
Thank you for your kind comments about our bedrooms, menu offerings and Spa. We hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, we had an amazing weekend. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was absolutely gorgeous and breakfast in the mornings was fantastic. Would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tagamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that the g is the nicest hotel that you have ever stayed in and that you had an amazing weekend. It was lovely to read that you found the bedroom to be spacious and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s.
We have shared your kind comments about our team with all and thank you for recommending the hotel to others.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed a night at the G as part of our honeymoon. Beautiful room and lovely spaces throughout. A nice personalised welcome was really appreciated. Both concierges were excellent, as were the front of house staff. Bit disappointed with the evening meal, particularly with the pre-dinner cocktails, which had to sent back. But the morning at the spa the next day more than made up for it - beautiful, calm environment, great treatments and fabulous thermal suite - not to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eadaoin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate part of your honeymoon with us at the g. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated and our Signature Lounges. Our Front of House team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and we were all pleased you enjoyed your time in ESPA at the g. Naturally, we were disappointed to read you did not enjoy your cocktails. Please accept our apologies for this.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The team at G could not have been more helpful. Noel went out of his way to help us and every amenity at the hotel was fabulous for the price point. While not right in town, it was a short, lovely walk along the water (it was a gorgeous sunny day while we were there!). The staff was most helpful and the breakfast (included) was nicely done.

Water and cupcakes included when you check in as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
It was so rewarding to read how well our ladies and gentlemen looked after you during your recent stay at the g. Noel was delighted to be mentioned in your review. It is a 15 minute walk along Lough Atalia into the city centre and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed this walk. Our arrival cupcakes are one of the many little touches that make the g special and we were so pleased that you enjoyed these.
We hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,718 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,832 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing