We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we stayed recently at the g Hotel Galway for one night en route to Mayo.It was a special occasion and i had mentioned this to the hotel when booking. they upgraded us to a better standard of room and had placed two cupcakes with a personalised note in the room which i thought was really nice and reflective of the standard of hotel we were in. the room was fabulous, spacious, a double shower and comfortable bed. the breakfast was also top class, nicer than the majority of hotels we stayed in. so all in all well worth a visit, professional friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sineaddaly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were so pleased to read how well our team looked after you during your special occasion. Our upgraded rooms make any stay at the g memorable. We really do appreciate your wonderful review and we hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 2,736 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have been wanting to stay here for quite some time now, and finally got the chance last week.
From the moment you check in till when you check out it's all worth it.
The staff greet you in the corridors and other hotel areas like they know you, which is a small but very lovely touch.
I was unfortunately on a business trip so I didn't get to avail of all the amenities, but I'll make it my business to return here again soon
Thanks to all at The G !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that you finally made time to stay with us last week. We take enormous pride in the level of service we provide and it was very rewarding to read how well our team looked after you. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and for longer so can enjoy the g fully.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. First visit. Had heard lots about it, and thought it wasn't my taste. Proved to be much better than I expected. I was upgraded to a luxury room free of charge on arrival. Room size was really fab, and bathroom also. Double sinks, double shower, with super power, plus a very nice free standing bath. Very large bed. Staff in all sections very friendly & helpful.
Where did it not work for me: sense of sacrificing comfort for glamour... Eg. Restaurant seating is not great, nor the lobby area. Seats are not ergonomic. Also while bed size is great, and pillows fab, mattress not up to 5 star standard. Lastly, point of personal taste, is that if you want to be in hub of Galway, not the best location.
Overall I would say a great choice if you want a relaxed stay in the West of Ireland /Galway, with just a few minor quibbles.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Guest64Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that your experience at the g exceeded your expectations. Our Luxury bedrooms live up to their name and it is easy to understand why with you kind words and feedback. We were disappointed to read your comments about the seating in the restaurant and location but appreciate that this is your own personal opinion. We do appreciate your review and we hope that you will stay at the g the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 wonderful days at the G hotel and loved it so much...we stayed in a superior king room and it was beautiful with lots of little extras like fresh water everyday and lovely toiletries...food was lovely and although drinks were a little expensive you expect that in a quality hotel...staff were lovely too and there is a bus stop just across from the hotel if you don't fancy driving into town only 1.90 each way...would be nice if you didn't have to pay for the thermal suite which I did but enjoyed it anyway..Would love to go back again soon

Room Tip: We stayed in room 257 which was really quiet which we requested
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruceDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated as well as the amenities and features they boast. We have shared your lovely feedback with the entire team. Our thermal suite does command a charge as it is considered a treatment in itself and numbers are restricted at any one time to ensure an atmosphere of privacy and relaxation is maintained for those enjoying this facility.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a weekend in the G hotel. It is truly an amazing hotel with staff so friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay such a memorable one. I would recommend this hotel to friends and work colleagues alike. The room was fabulous, spacious and all you could ask for on a relaxing weekend away. Food in the Gigi restaurant was gorgeous and a great selection on breakfast. The atmosphere was so relaxing it was just the tonic I needed personally.
10/10 for me, I can't fault one thing with our stay and great credit must go to management and staff for such a memorable stay. They have a repeat customer here and look forward to another break in this hotel in the near future. Thank you for everything and hopefully I'll be back in July for the races all going well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meath1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the g. Our ladies and gentlemen working here were delighted to be mentioned in your review. Our bedrooms and menu offerings combine to make the g a truly unique destination and it so rewarding to read that you found your experience to be 10 out of 10.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon. Please let us know if there is anything you can do to ensure your next stay is as memorable.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have just enjoyed a very nice dinner at the G Hotel. Food was delicious and waiting staff superb.

Decor in main lounges is wonderful, but ladies toilet is dark, dingy and feels dirty ... toilet door would not lock and handle on entry door would appear to be ready to fall off ... disappointing that superb decor was not carried throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the g. It was so rewarding to see that you had a lovely experience in our Restaurant gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges. We have shared your feedback with our Maintenance team for them to look into immediately.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from afternoon tea in the G with the ladies. It cost €24 pp for the ladies afternoon tea and €26pp for the mens afternoon tea. We ordered two womens and one mens afternoon tea for three people. The waiter first came and welcomed us and placed a napkin on our table before going through the menu options.

A selection of beautifully presented sandwiches arrived a short time later with consisted of a variety of different bread types such as wraps,baps and brown and white bread. Filings included ham and cheese, mini beef burger, goats cheese, cesar wrap, smoked salmon and cucumber sandwiches. Each tasted delicious and unique.

They then removed the plates and shortly after we received a tiered assortment of pastries. White and brown scones with fresh strawberry jam and cream, apple pie, chocolate scones, meragines, cheese cake, chocolate fudge biscuits, and much much more. the array of desserts were a feast for the eyes and the texture and flavours were amazing. We ordered coffee i.e mocha,cappucino,americo, hot chocolate and vanilla tea(tea was not great) and these were all included in the €24 each. we paid around €70. We were there 3 hours and felt like princesses. Thanks for the amazing experience,looking forward to returning for another girly break soon and visiting the spa.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to have Afternoon Tea in the g. We were so pleased to read that you sampled our new Gentlemen’s Afternoon Tea as well as our traditional offering. We have recently transformed our Afternoon Tea menus with the addition of new teas and we have also themed our Afternoon Tea for special occasions such as Easter and Mothers Day.
Afternoon Tea is an experience not to be missed and we hope that we can welcome you back to our Signature Lounges again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,750 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,860 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £135 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing