We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but unremarkable.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but unremarkable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Close to town, reasonably easy to find. Very funky interior, attempt at low light ambience detracts from functionality. Staff good, breakfast good. Free parking and wifi good pluses. Nice but unremarkable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of hotel as well as the complimentary Wi-Fi and parking. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is very colourful and a truly unique design. It is disappointing to read that you found the hotel to be unremarkable, however we appreciate that this is your own personal opinion.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    560
    323
    132
    71
See reviews for
259
1,518
34
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay. All i can say is wow. From the minute we walked in we were blown away by the decor. Friendly greeting at the desk along with an interesting walk through the corridor to our room. On entry....a pleasent surprise awaited us of 2 cupcakes (after a 2hour journey it was a treat). The room was lovely and spacious. But the shower was amazing. Very powerful and hot. Stayed in many hotel before and the showers pale incomparrison. The bed was very large and very comfortable. The only problem with the room was the air con. It didnt work meaning the room was roasting all night. Saturday was spent in both the gym (a small room with ample equipment..maybe heavier weights would do) and the lovely spa (the vitality pool was great along with 2 great massages). Bar food that evening was great (chicken skewers and chicken ceasar to start were amazing along with salmon and a steak for mains...both delicious. Followed by 2 tasty chocolate fondants to finish). All staff were very friendly. I woud recommend the G to everyone and would definatley go again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending two nights with us at the g. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the decor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. Our bedrooms make any stay special and it was lovely to see that you enjoyed the comfort and features they boast. Our arrival cupcakes are one of the little touches that make the g so special. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with our in room temperature control unit. We will look into this immediately.
Lastly, we were pleased to read you found time to visit our Spa and Signature Lounges. We really appreciate your kind words and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very cool hotel with vivid colors, special touches like cupcakes, chocolate & bottled water on arrival. Welcoming staff that make everyone feel comfortable ie you don't ave to be a jet setter to feel at ease here. Rooms are big, clean, quiet. Easy to find. Breakfast was a nice inclusion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is very special to us all here in Galway. It is easy to understand why with your lovely comments about our unique decor, special touches and of course our amazing ladies and gentlemen working in the hotel. We really do appreciate your lovely words and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our bedrooms, breakfast offering and special touches once again.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

this was our first time in this hotel and is was a wonderful experience. the spa was out of this world and the accommodation wonderful. Staff exceptional . Restaurant was fully booked so we opted for the bar food which was exceptional. Everyone should experience a stay in the G.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 165angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. We have shared your wonderful comments about our Spa, ladies and gentlemen working in the g as well as our Signature Lounges with all.
We hope to welcome you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was absolutely the most amazing hotel I have been to. Surprised my husband for his birthday as he always wanted to go there. He was blown away. Food, staff, rooms were all A+++++++. Would highly recommend this hotel and next time I go I will be staying two nights.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
It was fantastic to read that the g is the most amazing hotel you have ever been to. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your husband’s birthday with us in Galway. Your kind words about our menu offerings, ladies and gentlemen working in the g as well as our bedrooms are very much appreciated.
Please pass our best wishes onto your husband.
We hope to welcome you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at the G with my best friend. It's absolutely gorgeous. The staff are great. The rooms are amazing, clean, spacious and luxury. The food is beautiful. The bar and lounges are great. Location is perfect. Nice views. 2 minutes to the greyhound racing track (which you should go to for great fun.its brilliant). The spa is glorious. Was very hard to leave thermal suite after 2 hours. I would stay there for hours. Heaven :)
I love the G hotel. Favourite hotel I've ever stayed in. I can't fault it at all.

Room Tip: I've stayed I'm deluxe room, luxury room & junior suite. They are all magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia Shelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you and your friend enjoyed your stay at the g. It was so rewarding to read that you found our bedrooms to be amazing and luxurious. We have shared your kind words about our menu offerings, thermal suite and of course our amazing team with all.
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently stayed at The G Hotel for my birthday for two nights before heading off to another few hotels in Ireland. I have stayed in quite a few hotels including a few 5 stars but The G by far blows them out off the water. The hotel & decor itself is beautiful, we felt so relaxed and comfortable the whole time. Attention to detail from the staff was also great and everyone we met was friendly and helpful. And I don't even know where to start on the food, FANTASTIC! I have to admit i have quite a sweet tooth and the desserts on offer are to die for! Breakfast was also amazing, as where the cocktails ;)! We also paid a little visit to the E spa in the hotel which did cost abit extra but well worth it! We could have stayed in it the whole day we felt that relaxed. The location is great as you can either walk into the city or hop on a bus that leaves every half hour from across the street. Parking is complimentary which is also a great bonus! We will defiantly be staying again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a few days in complete luxury or too chill out! Also a great spot for hen party's! All in all, an amazing hotel that well deserves its 5 start rating! X Natasha

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read how impressed you were with the g. It was so rewarding to read of the excellent service you received and our team were so pleased to be mentioned in your review. Your kind comments about our menu offerings, our award winning Spa as well as our location were lovely to read.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you once again for such amazing feedback.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing