We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed two different times in the same week. Stayed in two different Junior Suites. Both were excellent. All suites have a brilliant view of Galway. The Smart TV has USB ports and I was able to plug in an external hard drive and watch movies. Although the TV has a Netflix app the TV can't connect to the hotel's wifi so I brought my own O2 WiFi for the second stay. Food was as beautiful as it looked and arrived in about 10 minutes. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I don't have a single bad comment to make about the place. Stay in a suite, it's definitely worth the extra money and you won't regret it. Best hotel in Ireland.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us twice in one week! It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed your time in one of our Suites and that you found the level of service to be consistent on both occasions. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and we are all so grateful that you consider us to be the best hotel in Ireland.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

another fantastic stay at this hotel in Galway - friendly efficient staff - lovely rooms - great breakfast and evening meals all within easy reach of the city centre. .There is also excellent free parking .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butchColeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for rating the g as a first class hotel. Our team were delighted to be considered friendly and efficient. It was so rewarding to read how much you enjoyed our bedrooms, breakfast and dinner offerings.
Thank you for sharing such lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent 2 nights in the G Hotel this week. Great hotel which is about a 15 minute walk from the City Centre. Check in was great, really friendly and efficient. We had dinner in the hotel on one of the nights and it was beautiful (although for a €55 pps menu, you would expect to get some vegetables with the main course rather than having to order sides!) Breakfast on both mornings was really good and there was an excellent range/selection of food. Our room was spacious but our view was over the retail park which wasn't great but to be fair we had not asked for a particular view. Every staff member we dealt with was professional and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteFarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read of the great welcome you received at the g. Our team were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s. We have recently added four new menu types to our Restaurant. These menu’s vary in price from €19.95 for two courses right up to the €55 for our four course menu, we will certainly share your feedback with or Head Chef, Pauline for her to look into. Our Deluxe Bedrooms and Suites all boast lake views and please let us know when you are returning so can look at allocating you one of these bedrooms. Thank you for your review.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Came here on my sister's hen. We all found the hotel to be so relaxing, welcoming and friendly. I think everyone of us on the hen noticed how exceptional the staff were- putting in that extra effort in such a friendly manner. Everyone from the bar staff, the night duty manager, the waiters and the staff on the front desk in fact all we came in contact with were exceptionally courteous, kind and good at their job. I for one will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us at the g. It was great to read that you found the hotel to be relaxing and that you noticed the extra effort and attention that our team give each and every guest. The entire team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and we really do appreciate the time you took to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Please pass our best wishes onto your sister in the run up to her big day.
Thank you once again and we hope that we can welcome you back to the g again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for several nights in November and it was quite a pleasant stay. The hotel is a little bit outside the center, but it is still walking distance. The decor was funky (especially in the hallways), but the room was very modern and pretty good size. Breakfast was included and it was quite good. The bar had a nice and chilled atmosphere and some good drinks and appetizers in the evening. Overall a very nice stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilsen_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in November. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed the decor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. We have shared your kind words about our bedrooms, breakfast offering and relaxed atmosphere with the entire team.
Thank you for your review and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I celebrated my hen night here recently. We were a party of 5 who wanted something relaxing and sophisticated. The G did not let us down. Most reviews rave about the food and the decor and they are right. It is excellent. For me however, it's the staff that really make this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. The spa was amazing. The staff treated us like royalty. The thermal spa area must be reserved and only 6 people are allowed access at one time. This gave us a feeling of privacy and luxury that allowed for total relaxation. After an hour in the thermal suite, we proceeded to the relaxation room. What a joy! We were met by our individual therapists for facials/massages. A huge thanks to Jin who was my massage therapist. Her quiet and kind approach really made me relax more and really forget the cares of the world. Then it was back to the relaxation room to meet the others and we just lay back and enjoyed the peace and quite. Later was dinner and cocktails, both of which I found excellent. The only suggestion I would make would be to have more choice on the restaurant menu. Irish customers also like their potatoes and vegetables. Dishes with celeriac mash/rosti doesn't really satisfy. That is only a tiny gripe though. The service from staff was impeccable from start to finish. When one of our party had car trouble, the staff had her on the road in about 5 minutes. I would agree with another reviewer who said that the corridors were too dark. I understand that it's to create an ambience but it's not practical when bringing luggage and trying to find your room number.
The G was a special experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Definitely not a place to bring children, which I see as a plus. The hotel has a calm, grown up and relaxed atmosphere where there are no children tearing around the place. This is also a totally non smoking hotel which I loved. The prices are high but I feel they are worth it. The rooms are plush and confortable with an excellent bathroom and powerful shower. If you are near Galway and you want a bit of luxury, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the spa, for example room 211 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us at the g. It was so rewarding to read that you found the hotel to be relaxing and sophisticated. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and we were all delighted to read that you found time to visit our amazing Spa, ESPA at the g. We have already shared your feedback regarding our menu offerings with our Head Chef, Pauline for her to look into.
We really do appreciate your comprehensive review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the g with others. We wish you and your partner the very best for your upcoming wedding and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Thank you once again,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Recently spent three nights at the g hotel. Everything was excellent from start to finish. Friendly helpful staff, luxurious rooms, excellent food both in the restaurant and bar. Highly recommend the Thermal Suite. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and on arrival a congratulations card and chocolates were sent to our room which was really nice. The luxurious relaxing environment coupled with great food, staff and facilities made our stay very enjoyable. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for three nights at the g. It was so rewarding to read that everything was excellent from start to finish. Our team and our luxurious bedrooms receive constant praise and it was lovely to read that you were impressed with them both. Congratulations on your special occasion. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay and we hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,788 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £113 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing