We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay here and wish it could have been for longer but will just give a list of Pros/Cons:

Pros:
- Amazing staff - so helpful and friendly (I asked about a shoe repair in town and they had put a slip of paper under our door by morning with directions of how to get there and opening times)
- Delicious and huge breakfast (get the grapefruit - although this could have been cut up for you as it was difficult to eat!)
- Lovely big bathroom and powerful, wet-room-type shower
- Spacious bedroom
- Spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom
- Water bottles provided FOC each night
- 24/7 room service - this is key

Cons:
- Two beds pushed together does not a king bed make! (We even called ahead to ask if this was the case and they said it's definitely a king bed - I hate this European method of 2 beds pushed together to make one!)
- Shampoo provided wasn't great; I'd bring my own next time (no conditioner provided either)
- We were in Rm203; wish we'd had a better view (this was a view of the 2nd floor decking/spa)

Room Tip: Rm203 doesn't have the best view - realised afterwards we should have requested a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddlemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wished that you could have stayed for longer. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your experience at the g such as our amazing team, our fantastic breakfast selection, beautifully appointed bedrooms and bathrooms as well as the features and amenities they boast.
We appreciate your comments about our “zip and link” beds. These have become the European standard due to their flexibility of offering the guest a twin or double bed. However we have taken additional measures to ensure that our “zip and link” beds do not separate. We will look into your feedback regarding our toiletries today as we offer bespoke g toiletries. Lastly, not all of our bedrooms boast front facing lake views and a supplement applies to those which do.
Thank you for your comprehensive and honest review. We appreciate your time and custom and we hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 2,736 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a really great stay in the G hotel . The staff were very hospitable especially the front of house staff. Our room was really spacious and had a great view. We eat in the hotel and found the food of excellent quality and very good value. The hotel is in a very central position with a cinema on its doorstep and a bus stop right outside the front door .We walked into Galway city only 15-20 minutes away. The ambience of the hotel is wonderful I am missing all the lovely colours of the various lounges on return home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. Our team were delighted to read that you found them to be welcoming. It was most rewarding to read how much you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated as well as our menu offerings. We have recently added four new menus in Restaurant Gigi’s and our Restaurant Team were pleased to read that you found these to be good value for money.
Our location makes the g a great base for visiting the City Centre and the surrounding areas such as Connemara and the Cliffs of Moher. Thank you once again for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Not your typical Western Ireland hotel, so make sure you want to stay in a fun, funky, cool hotel when in Galway. If you do, you will enjoy this place. If you want traditional, don't stay here.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and funky. We did not try the spa, but is seemed to be very busy. The lobby common rooms were cool and fun for tea and then drinks after dinner. A little out of the town centre and in a bit of a modern shopping mall, but then the town centre is a little touristy!

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It was good to read that you found the g to be a fun, funky and a far from typical hotel. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel strives to be different and our team aim to provide a relaxed and sophisticated level of service.
We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway and that you will of course get an opportunity to visit ESPA at the g, our award winning Spa.
Thank you for your kind words,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is really my kind of hotel! The decor is absolutely brilliant. From the outside you really don't know what is going to greet you but once you get inside it is fab!! The Pink Lounge is fab could have stayed there all day! The room we were in was gorgeous and overlooked the Lough which was really nice. Spotlessly clean also which Im sure is hard considering they have cream carpets!! I do have to say the shower in our room probably the best I have ever had!!!

Breakfast was really lovely with such a wide selection & the hot breakfast was truly lovely. Huge portions and we couldnt leave any of it behind it was so nice. We also decided to experience the afternoon tea which was a nice treat for us and we found it to be really relaxing and enjoyable.

The staff we met were lovely, the lady in the breakfast room with the purple shirt couldnt do enough for everyone and always in good form. Also, Virginia on reception a really lovely lady who made us feel welcome the minute we arrived.

Location wise the hotel is perfect - less than 10 minutes into the city and taxis are easy to get from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again, although maybe next time go with the girls so we can do the Spa!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the unique decor and ambiance of the hotel. Our breakfast and our afternoon tea offering receive constant praise and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed them.
Our team were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and Virginia was especially pleased to be mentioned in your review.
Our location makes the g an ideal base for exploring the west of Ireland and Galway. We look forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon and hope that you get the opportunity to visit ESPA at the g on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I love the interior design.. It doesn't look like Galway... Nice place to go alone, with somebody else or with the family, but I'd say it's a very fashionable place. I cannot complaint of my stay in this lovely place, defo I will come back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the design of the g. Our hotel is the ideal base for romantic breaks, family reunions and of course to unwind. We really appreciate your kind words and please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure your next stay is as memorable an experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our second stay and we both loved it. Amazing spa treatments.The rooms are beautiful with probably the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The G is one of the stylish hotels in Ireland.
The food in the restaurant was amazing but I have to say that the jewel in the crown for the G is their staff. The staff are friendly polite and helpful and incredibly attentive.
I would recommend anyone stay here, they will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseG1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the second time. Our beds receive constant praise and it was lovely to read how much you enjoyed their comfort as well as our beautifully appointed bedrooms. We have shared your wonderful feedback with the entire team who were so pleased to be mentioned in your review.
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back for the third time again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had never heard of The G Hotel, and made this booking via hotwire (which meant I did not know the name/brand until after I had purchased the reservation). The hotel is located a bit outside of town--about a 25 min walk or 10-12 euro taxi ride--and it is a commercial shopping center. The building was originally designed to be used for offices, than was changed to a hotel. Considering this, I think they did a fantastic job converting a more traditional office building space into a luxurious and artsy hotel environment. Even with the slightly inconvenient distance outside of town, our stay at this hotel was fantastic and we would stay again. The room was beautiful, the hotel was pretty and quirky, the food at breakfast was delicious, the beds very comfortable, and the staff were always so polite and helpful. Free wifi and parking were nice too. The concierge team (Neil?) were especially helpful in directing us on our day time drives and quick to provide a converter/adapter when the fuse on mine blew. The only complaints we had: 1) the free wifi service was inconsistent and 2) the bathroom layout could improve--there was very little counter space and the sinks were set up such that using them sent sprays of water all around the counter. But again, i would like to stress we loved this hotel and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Get the eggs benedict at breakfast--it was the best eggs benedict I have ever had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlukesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was so rewarding to read that you had a fantastic to stay at the g and that you would return to us again. Our beautiful bedrooms, unique design and decor, menu offerings and of course our amazing team combine to make the g a truly unique destination. We will certainly look into your final comments and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Lastly, thank you for recommending the hotel. We are greatly looking forward to welcoming you back to us again.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,750 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,860 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £135 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing