We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we popped up to galway for a conference and decided to stay here for one night prior to the conference closer to salthill. It was my boyfriends birthday and I got a great pkg which included the jr suite and prosec co on arrival, we also had a late checkout at 2 which was fab since we didn't get there until 8pm. The service in the hotel is great and the menu decent in the restaurant with several choices. One thing I'll point out though is it's confusing, we had the chateaubriand which was excellent BUT we ordered a sharing meal for 100€ to get it, in the room the following day I saw we could have ordered it alone instead of having a starter and dessert which we didn't really want. This should be clearer.
The room was great and very relaxing, pluses were the comfy bed, the privacy and the seating area with fire, all really great touches, the minuses the lighting is actually pretty crummy for someone having to do their makeup, I couldn't find one light in the whole room ok for this, no magnifying mirror either. The temp in our room was all over the place and led to my boyfriend sleeping very uncomfortably, with it going very hot and very cold all night, the porter tried to fix on our arrival but to no avail. Our room should have been switched when this was noted. The only other gripe I have was that when I emailed the hotel to advise of a special occasion they sent me a menu to buy things off them, this really annoyed me. We travel extensively throughout the yr with many occasions landing within these periods, we are always looked after very well when this is noted, twice I was asked to pay for something I wasn't interested in, usually a card in the room or a small cupcake is customary, when I pointed this out I got a smug email back saying a bar of chocolate would be there in the room for him. This was a lovely touch as were the cupcakes which I didn't expect, but I really didn't like the attitude I got and it stuck with me. Because of this sorry G five star your def not. Guests are accommodated for in 5 star without the stick I got

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther down corridor second floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting Galway on business. We were so pleased that you purchased our eight birthday package which included an overnight stay in a Junior Suite, a bottle of Pink Prosecco on arrival as well as a late check out until 2pm. It has been a major success for the hotel.

We will share your feedback regarding our menu offerings with our Food & Beverage Manager, David for him to look into further. Please accept our apologies that you were not offered a room move when you informed us of a malfunction with the in room temperature control unit. This is a standard practise and we will look into this immediately. We always do our best to ensure that our guests celebrating a special occasion are well looked after. However as standard we always send guests our “pick and mix” selection if they are celebrating a special occasion and they may wish to plan a little something extra themselves. Please accept our apologies if offence was caused as this certainly was not the intention.

We hope that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,715)
There are newer reviews for the g Hotel & Spa Galway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,160 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The lobby, lounges, restaurant, spa and hotel room were all completely luxurious. The staff were all approachable and provided us with great service. Room service is offered 24/7, and again the staff went above and beyond with this service and the food was great. We paid the extra 10 euro to use the room in the spa that had a large jacuzzi-like pool, sauna, steam room and heated lounges and absolutely loved this experience. Another plus is that there was a fitness center available to use. The only downside to this hotel is that it is a good twenty minute walk into Galway. If you don't mind the walk or distance from the town and are looking to stay at an excellent, luxurious hotel, the G hotel may be the right fit for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel combines unique decor, amazing service and creative menu offerings. It was lovely to read that you made time to visit ESPA at the g, our award winning Spa. Thank you for your kind words. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the G hotel on a pigs back voucher. Our stay was fantastic from start to finish. I cannot think of a hotel that was as relaxed and consistent throughout. Our luxury double room was super in size and comfort. The food in the bar was above average but not wow! I have heard the good in Gigi's is supposed to b gorgeous! We dined elsewhere unfortunately so I cannot comment. Even though the hotel is not in the city centre, I would definitely stay in the G next time I am in Galway. Staff were nice enough but not amazing as some people have said, our prose co was handed to us at the door unopened with no offer to open same. The bathroom products were of extremely good quality, my skin was soft and fragrant after, I was surprised at the quality. The double shower was very refreshing & the bath relaxing. Consistent decor throughout the hotel. Overall a great hotel and the best I have stayed in in. Galway. I would spend the taxi fare to town for a city centre location to stay at the G.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindaob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that your stay was fantastic from start to finish. Our team were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the relaxed ambiance of the hotel, their consistent levels of service as well as our amazing bedrooms and bathrooms.
We hope that you will stay with us at the g the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice hotel, with a great location. But certainly not worth the prices they charge and really don't think it should be 5star. It would be a good 4 star hotel. We got charged €270 for one nights bed and breakfast. I have stayed in other 5 star hotels before that were vastly superior to this one. Breakfast was also quite disappointing - we got down late and the staff didn't seem very interested in accommodating us. The food was lukewarm at best

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dongyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Naturally we were disappointed to read that you did not find the hotel to be good value for money. The rate you were charged was for a Luxury bedroom – our third category of room on a Friday or Saturday night. The Luxury Bedroom is a premium bedroom. Had any of your concerns been brought to our attention we are certain that we could have rectified your issues whilst you were with us.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon to enjoy the true g experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We got a bargain rate to stay for two nights, I am not sure if we had paid loads more I would have felt as happy. We stayed in a junior suite. Nice touch - cupcakes in the room on arrival. The room as very pale, walls, carpet etc, which meant it showed up a lot of stains and looked fairly grubby. The bathroom was nice, but it didn't feel five star, the toilet paper, the toiletries, seemed pretty cheap compared with a lot of 4 star hotels. Bed was soft, be warned if you like a hard bed. Breakfast was delicious, especially the eggs Benedict.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed our bedrooms, arrival cupcakes and breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s. We have a rolling maintenance program in the g so it was disappointing to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of the upkeep of the hotel. We will be looking into this immediately. We will also be relooking at our amenities with your feedback in mind.
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed at the g hotel on Saturday 3rd May for one night. We paid €230 for one nights b&b. The g hotel, in our opinion, is far from 5 star, and not worth €230 a night.

We arrived by car and access to the underground car park was through a retail park passing the local woodies and heatons. The lift to the reception is badly signposted with small g lettering which dont stand out very well in a dark underground car park. Once in reception we noticed a sign for valet parking at an additional charge. A bit late for that.

Check in was at 3pm and we checked in shortly after 3pm, however, our room wasnt available until nearly 4pm.

While we booked a double room we were given a room where the bed was two single beds pushed together. While there was a thin mattress like cover over the two beds which was zipped together it did not prevent a very noticable dip in the middle. We mentioned this at reception on Saturday evening and the only thing that was done was that our bed was made. Otherwise there was no change to the bed. We didnt receive any feedback or apology either that evening or on check out the next morning. We later received an email requesting us to complete a survey which we did and again no feedback.

We did have lunch in the lounge and the food was excellent as was the service from the staff.

All thing considered this hotel is, in our opinion, not worthy of 5* and not worth €230 per night. We have stayed at other 5* hotels which have been far superior.



Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank alan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We were all greatly upset to read the review you posted on Trip Advisor. There are three different entrances to the hotel. The first is at the front of the hotel, the second is to the rear of the hotel and the third is from the basement car park. We offer complimentary overnight parking for our residents in the basement area of the hotel and have detailed directions both on or website and on our confirmation letters.
In relation to the bed you mention, this is a “zip and link” bed. These beds can be made as either a king-size double or a twin. These beds have become the bed of choice for most hotels due to their flexibility. The rate of €230 in an upgraded bedroom on a Saturday night in Galway is very competitive price and we were truly disappointed that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay.
We hope we have addressed your concerns.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had an amazing weekend in this hotel! The room, the cocktails, the spa and most especially the staff all deserve a comment, have already been a number of times and will definitely return and recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DS1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you had an amazing weekend with us at the g. We have shared your wonderful comments about our bedrooms, cocktails, Spa and of course our amazing team with all.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,205 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £141 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing