We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but high quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here and used a voucher to reduce the price: it was needed, because at full rate this is expensive, even factoring in the quality.

However, the stay while short was very pleasant. The room is spacious, with good facilities, good (and free) wifi, and quiet at night.

The lounge areas were a nice place for some drinks, and the lounge singer added to the atmosphere. While we didn't eat dinner, breakfast was very good. The gym is small but with good choice. The spa looks excellent too.

So worth a visit, just try and get someone to give you a voucher as a present!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed our spacious bedrooms, facilities and amenities. It was also lovely to see that you enjoyed the Jazz session in our Signature Lounges that are on every Friday and Saturday night.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon and that you will find time to sample our Spa and our awarding winning Restaurant Gigi’s. We are constantly offering new packages so please keep an eye on the special offers section of our website.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went to Galway for work and reviewed a few different properties. The g hotel is by far the nicest in town. It has a great bar, tea time, guest rooms and spa. The only negative is its distance from town. It's a little further away from town but the amenities make you forget about it pretty quickly. Best property in Galway by far.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannabrooke7h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It was so rewarding to read that the g was the nicest of all the hotels that you stayed in whilst visiting Galway. Our team were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed our Signature Lounges, Afternoon Tea, Bedrooms and of course our Spa, ESPA at the g. We are a five minute drive to the city centre and the perfect base for exploring Connemara and the Cliffs of Moher.
Thank you for your review, we hope that we can welcome you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The G is one of Galways newest luxury hotels and is a very modern in decor. I call it very Andy Warhol style. The rooms are well appointed as are the public areas and many local clubs and parties get held there. The ballroom is a good size with separate bar from the public area bar. Lounging here is easy and comfortable. The jr suites are lovely with thier room and separate bath, but some do look over the back parking lot and one should not expect a view of Galway Bay when booking this category of room. The smaller rooms are just as well appointed, but not as spacious but some do look over the Bay, so when considering the spend, that should be taken into account. The work out room is adequate but small and the spa is modern and a nice amenity.

Room Tip: Make sure when booking any quite that it isn't looking over the parking lot of adjacent shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandGirlToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel as well as our multi functional Signature Lounges and our newly opened ballroom, “the g Suite”. All of our Junior Suites and many of our Deluxe bedrooms boast views of Lough Atalia, which forms part of Galway Bay. We hope that you will stay with us again and please call us directly so we can personally arrange your booking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we popped up to galway for a conference and decided to stay here for one night prior to the conference closer to salthill. It was my boyfriends birthday and I got a great pkg which included the jr suite and prosec co on arrival, we also had a late checkout at 2 which was fab since we didn't get there until 8pm. The service in the hotel is great and the menu decent in the restaurant with several choices. One thing I'll point out though is it's confusing, we had the chateaubriand which was excellent BUT we ordered a sharing meal for 100€ to get it, in the room the following day I saw we could have ordered it alone instead of having a starter and dessert which we didn't really want. This should be clearer.
The room was great and very relaxing, pluses were the comfy bed, the privacy and the seating area with fire, all really great touches, the minuses the lighting is actually pretty crummy for someone having to do their makeup, I couldn't find one light in the whole room ok for this, no magnifying mirror either. The temp in our room was all over the place and led to my boyfriend sleeping very uncomfortably, with it going very hot and very cold all night, the porter tried to fix on our arrival but to no avail. Our room should have been switched when this was noted. The only other gripe I have was that when I emailed the hotel to advise of a special occasion they sent me a menu to buy things off them, this really annoyed me. We travel extensively throughout the yr with many occasions landing within these periods, we are always looked after very well when this is noted, twice I was asked to pay for something I wasn't interested in, usually a card in the room or a small cupcake is customary, when I pointed this out I got a smug email back saying a bar of chocolate would be there in the room for him. This was a lovely touch as were the cupcakes which I didn't expect, but I really didn't like the attitude I got and it stuck with me. Because of this sorry G five star your def not. Guests are accommodated for in 5 star without the stick I got

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther down corridor second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting Galway on business. We were so pleased that you purchased our eight birthday package which included an overnight stay in a Junior Suite, a bottle of Pink Prosecco on arrival as well as a late check out until 2pm. It has been a major success for the hotel.

We will share your feedback regarding our menu offerings with our Food & Beverage Manager, David for him to look into further. Please accept our apologies that you were not offered a room move when you informed us of a malfunction with the in room temperature control unit. This is a standard practise and we will look into this immediately. We always do our best to ensure that our guests celebrating a special occasion are well looked after. However as standard we always send guests our “pick and mix” selection if they are celebrating a special occasion and they may wish to plan a little something extra themselves. Please accept our apologies if offence was caused as this certainly was not the intention.

We hope that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The lobby, lounges, restaurant, spa and hotel room were all completely luxurious. The staff were all approachable and provided us with great service. Room service is offered 24/7, and again the staff went above and beyond with this service and the food was great. We paid the extra 10 euro to use the room in the spa that had a large jacuzzi-like pool, sauna, steam room and heated lounges and absolutely loved this experience. Another plus is that there was a fitness center available to use. The only downside to this hotel is that it is a good twenty minute walk into Galway. If you don't mind the walk or distance from the town and are looking to stay at an excellent, luxurious hotel, the G hotel may be the right fit for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel combines unique decor, amazing service and creative menu offerings. It was lovely to read that you made time to visit ESPA at the g, our award winning Spa. Thank you for your kind words. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the G hotel on a pigs back voucher. Our stay was fantastic from start to finish. I cannot think of a hotel that was as relaxed and consistent throughout. Our luxury double room was super in size and comfort. The food in the bar was above average but not wow! I have heard the good in Gigi's is supposed to b gorgeous! We dined elsewhere unfortunately so I cannot comment. Even though the hotel is not in the city centre, I would definitely stay in the G next time I am in Galway. Staff were nice enough but not amazing as some people have said, our prose co was handed to us at the door unopened with no offer to open same. The bathroom products were of extremely good quality, my skin was soft and fragrant after, I was surprised at the quality. The double shower was very refreshing & the bath relaxing. Consistent decor throughout the hotel. Overall a great hotel and the best I have stayed in in. Galway. I would spend the taxi fare to town for a city centre location to stay at the G.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindaob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that your stay was fantastic from start to finish. Our team were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the relaxed ambiance of the hotel, their consistent levels of service as well as our amazing bedrooms and bathrooms.
We hope that you will stay with us at the g the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice hotel, with a great location. But certainly not worth the prices they charge and really don't think it should be 5star. It would be a good 4 star hotel. We got charged €270 for one nights bed and breakfast. I have stayed in other 5 star hotels before that were vastly superior to this one. Breakfast was also quite disappointing - we got down late and the staff didn't seem very interested in accommodating us. The food was lukewarm at best

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dongyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Naturally we were disappointed to read that you did not find the hotel to be good value for money. The rate you were charged was for a Luxury bedroom – our third category of room on a Friday or Saturday night. The Luxury Bedroom is a premium bedroom. Had any of your concerns been brought to our attention we are certain that we could have rectified your issues whilst you were with us.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon to enjoy the true g experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £121 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing