We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service is not 5 star”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my husband & daughter, room etc was lovely, parking in a retail park a little off putting, no sign of valet parking. Service in the bar was just dreadful, lounge very busy, one bar man only, several waitresses taking orders but we waited 20 mins for our drink order, we witnessed two other couples also complaining. 2 managers were there but none seemed capable or willing to help behind, the bar was covered with dirty glasses. Service at breakfast was just as bad. Missing a place setting and had to ask twice for it, food was only very average, I have eaten much better in 4 star hotels for a lot less money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We were all greatly upset to read the review you posted on Trip Advisor. The hotel is situated in the Wellpark Retail Complex. Valet parking is available at the front of the hotel. However we have three entrances to the hotel and we will collect luggage and offer valet parking from all three. We were greatly disappointed to read that you were not impressed with the level of service provided in our Signature Lounges and in Restaurant Gigi’s. We have shared your feedback with the relevant Managers and we hope that we can welcome you back to the g again so you can experience the true meaning of the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    568
    329
    133
    74
See reviews for
266
1,543
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel on Saturday night for 1 night as a late birthday present for him. Check in was very quick and efficient the receptionist was really nice and even advised us that we had been upgraded us to a luxury room from a standard room.

We had an app in the thermal suite for 1.30pm so he advised us he would drop our hotel keys to the spa.

On arrival to the spa we were greeted by another lovely girl who checked us in and showed us around the spa this in itself was so relaxing the nicest spa I have been to as of yet.

After the spa we collected our key and made our way to the room on the first floor the room was amazing a huge bed flat screen tv. a living area with a 2 and a 1 Seater. the bathroom has a his/hers sink and his/hers shower.

We needed an iron and it was brought to us within minutes of requested also when we requested 2 wine glasses.

We had afternoon tea booked for 3.30pm this was such a treat everything was so fresh and nice the mini burgers were to die for and the service was great.

We had dinner in gigis that evening the service here was outstanding they could not do enough for us. we had the 3 course from the indulge menu and it was yum. the beef was amazing.

The next morning we had breakfast again in GiGis and again the same service as the night before it was excellent.

We will without a doubt be returning to this hotel hopefully in the near future. 10/10

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at the g. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed one of our Luxury bedrooms and that our team took such good care of you.
It was so rewarding to read how much you enjoyed your experience in the Spa as well as our afternoon tea offering in our Lounges. Our new menu offerings in Restaurant gigi’s have received constant praise so it was great to get your feedback also.
We really appreciate your review and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure your next stay is as memorable an occasion.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We came back to the G Hotel having spent a few nights there the year before and having had fond memories of facilities the staff the food and the service. It was memorable for myself and my wife. This time we brought 2 of our children with us to share the experience. What a change in 12 months. Now rooms were fab and we got complementary cupcakes and it was really 5 star. Meal the first night was lovely and we had travelled from Dublin so it was late when we arrived. All going well. The breakfast the following morning was so poor. We purposely came down towards 11 as we wanted a sleep in but what we were met with was appalling. Scrambled eggs were burned and nearly gone. Mushrooms were gone. Staff of which there were two blonde ladies in particular were just rude and had no interest in serving us. Eventually we got tea and toast ( no orange juice and we were afraid of the two to ask)after a wait and then as we were eating the two ladies began clearing away all the hot display with more banging and clatter than you would have witnessed from Basil Fawlty. It was a disgrace that they appeared on a mission to clear all away and others had similar challenges as us. I visited the gym after a lovely day in Galway and the air conditioning was broken and it was hot in there as the temp was above 20 degrees outside. Anyway I hope they sort it out as they have a potentially great product and while it's not cheap which I don't mind it's definitely not 5 star with staff issues clearly impacting the customer experience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dathai777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to us at the g. Naturally, we were upset to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. We are currently looking into your feedback regarding your experience at breakfast. Breakfast is served between 7am and 10.30am during the week and then up until 11am at weekends. Our breakfast offering and especially our ladies and gentlemen working in the g receive constant praise so your feedback on your recent experience is worrying and we will certainly investigate further.
We take enormous pride in the level of service provided in the g and our team are paramount in everything we do. We sincerely apologise that this stay did not live up to your previous experience with us. We do hope that you will stay with us again so we can ensure that you again experience the true meaning of a stay at the g.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of our mini moon just after we got married. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite which was a really lovely touch and on entering our room we were greeted with cupcakes, truffles and a lovely card from the manager congratulating us on our wedding. The hotel itself is really fabulous with really plush and modern decor - but unfortunately the hotel sits quite a bit outside the city and you therefore have to get a taxi when travelling into Galway. As well as this it is located in a shopping retail park which really takes away from the 5* experience. However in saying that when you are inside the hotel you cant see any of the shops.
We used the thermal spa which was very relaxing although some of the heated seats weren't working which was a shame. My husband had a facial which he really enjoyed.
We ate dinner on the first evening of our stay as it was included in the price and the restaurant manager brought us a free glass of bubbly which was very kind thoughtful.The food was exceptional and I can not find any fault with it. The breakfast was also really good.
The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help. Our waiter on the first evening gave us lots of helpful tips on what to do in Galway and reccommended a really good restaurant for us to try on our 2nd night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your mini moon. It was lovely to read that our team looked after you so well on your special occasion. It was very rewarding to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in Restaurant Gigi’s and that our team were able to help you plan your time in Galway.
The hotel is situated in the Wellpark Retail Complex so we are adjacent to the EYE cinema which is a great bonus for our residents. We are a five minute drive from the city centre also.
Please accept our apologies that certain features of our thermal suite were out of order during your visit. However we were pleased read that your partner enjoyed his treatment.
We really do appreciate your review and we hope to welcome you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here on holiday and was very impressed with the place. A lovely room, with comfortable seating area and a nice bathroom. One gripe (this seems to be the norm for hotels) is that the twist up plug does not allow free drainage of water from the shower (fantastically powerful) meaning there is a good inch of water in the bath by the end of a short shower. Complimentary water replenished daily was a nice touch. Breakfast was great - gluten free toast and adjusted dishes provided no problem, same with the bar food. It makes a real change to be able to have a burger when eating out! And the gluten free scones are a must try! A nice walk into town along the loch. Pleasant staff who really made time to be helpful. Planning my next stay already.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lodesgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you were impressed with your stay at the g. Our team were delighted to read that you enjoyed the level of care and attention they provide. We have shared your kind words about our menu offerings and gluten free dining options with our Head Chef and his team. Please accept our apologies for the issue with your shower; we will look into this immediately.
We really do appreciate your kind words. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel was one of the nicest we stayed in while visiting Ireland. We were looking for a hotel that had more of a modern luxury, and we found it with G Hotel. The rooms are nice sized, the shower is amazing, the service, the food, the drinks and entertainment, and the dazzle of the hotel were wonderful. There is a spa and a gym as well for some additional rest and relaxation. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you found the g to be one of the nicest hotels you visited whilst touring Ireland. Our team were delighted to read that you enjoyed our luxurious hotel as well as our amazing bedrooms and bathrooms. It was also lovely to read that you made time to visit our award winning Spa, ESPA at the g.
Thank you for recommending us to friends and family.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Love everything about this hotel! The staff are super friendly and helpful and the rooms are fab. Have been to quite a few events in the function room and there's always a nice atmosphere in there.. Would definitely recommend for a Wedding or just a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you loved everything about the g. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and thank you so much for recommending the g to your friends and family. Our new ballroom “the g Suite” is the latest addition to the hotel and we really do appreciate your feedback.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing