We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a stay at the g hotel with friends. Positives were the design, the rooms and the spa. Negatives were the poor atmosphere in the bar, the very very slow service at dinner and the overall feel of a well designed 4 star hotel rather than a true 5 star hotel. The hotel definitely has potential. The staff were friendly and the common areas areas smart. The room.was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. However, the service was just too slow for the dinner we had, the food a little disappointing and the overall experience just fell a little short of what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. There is a lack atmosphere in the bar. All in all an enjoyable stay but room for improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W_TMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the design of the hotel as well as our beautifully appointed bedrooms and Espa at the g. Naturally, we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience in our Signature Lounges. We have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, David, for him to look into further. Thank you for your feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to us again soon to experience the g fully.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Back for another wonderful stay in the G. Staff welcoming but unobtrusive and added a lovely personal touch of sending up personalised desert plates for my children. Without a doubt the classiest and most luxurious place to stay in Galway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to stay with us at the g. We were so pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and that the team made your stay extra special and personable.

We are all looking forward to your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make it as memorable an occasion.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a lake view room that was spacious, modern and clean.
Beds comfy, crisp clean linens and soft pillows. In room bar fridge, lots of storage, deep bath tub and walk in shower, turndown service at night. The modern air conditioning was a treat, many of the older hotels do not have AC and June was warm and no rain. Cupcake sugary but nice addition to greet you when you arrive. We would stay here again. Breakfast came with room, lots to choose from, we liked the omelet and muesli with fruit and drink the fresh squeezed fruit juices.
Spa was most expensive pricing. There is a work out gym with all modern equipment.
Walked to Greyhound dog races 5 minutes away- that was fun.
If driving, put in Eye Cinema for your GPS search, parking lot for hotel is same as the theater.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room vs. parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyFromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We were pleased to read you enjoyed our modern and spacious bedrooms. We have shared your kind words about our linens, amazing bathrooms and of course our arrival cupcakes with the entire team. Our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s is a great way to start the day. We have just added some new specials to our ESPA packages so we hope that you will stay with us again to experience these for yourself.
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your time and feedback.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fodors writes: "G" is for glamour—or good grief (depending on your taste)— after our stay at this gem of a hotel we will join the glamour side and add great and gorgious to the list of words that start with g when we describe this hotel. If you are looking for a truly unique hotel, lovingly designed this is a must choice. From the reception area and the bar restaurant areas, to the corridors and of course in our room we were impressed by the design - especially when you are used to the often somewhat similar business hotels this one will make a lasting impression on you. When we arrived at the hotel we were greated by a friendly team that really did their best to make us feel welcome and gave us excellent advice on what we could to in Galway and where to eat and have a drink. Throughout our trip in Ireland we have met many friendly folks, but still the team at g-hotel wins first place in this elite group.
Our room was very comfortable, bathroom was nice, even though the hotel is at a major street corner and right next to a shooping complex we had a very quiet night and then enjoyed an excellent breakfast before again the team gave us excellent tipps for our next destinations.
One thing to consider: The hotel is a bit outside the city center, so you can either have a nice walk along the water (20-30 mins) or take the bus or cab. For us this was actually an advantage as the city is quiet busy during the day and there is complementary parking at the hotel
All it has been a great stay for us at the g-hotel and whenever we come back to Galway, this would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkesgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the g. We were delighted to read you had such a fantastic stay and that you got to experience the true meaning of the g.
Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is so special to us all and it was very rewarding to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere and design of the hotel. Our team were all honoured to be considered amongst the most hospitable group of people you met during your time in Ireland. Our location makes the g the ideal base for touring the city centre as well as a starting point for exploring Connemara and the Cliffs of Moher. We genuinely appreciate the time and effort you put into your review and we hope that we can welcome you back to us in the g again soon.
Thank you once again.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Out of all the hotels I have stayed in Galway, this is the worst for service and definitely the most unfriendly. The ONLY person who walked around with a smile on his face was the Irish restaurant manager at breakfast. We arrived and only stayed on a Saturday night and the place was full of 'hens' so perhaps our experience would have been better if staying a different night! The cocktail bar was rammed and the service appalling. So many niggly things happened like not asking us whether we would like to pay the bill in sterling in euro which resulted in an extra £15 bank charge. The staff look like they have to force a smile. On the plus side - the bed was super comfortable.Husband has since eaten dinner at restaurant and said the food was very good but I only ate breakfast which consisted of sponge sausages and something that tasted like microwaved white pudding

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We were genuinely upset to read that you were disappointed with the level of service you received in the hotel. From reading other reviews on Trip Advisor you will see that our team receive enormous praise for their warmth and friendliness.
We really wish that you had brought your concerns to our attention whilst you were staying with us. Had we been aware of any of these issues we would have been able to have resolved them whilst you were in house.
Please let us know if you are ever returning to the g as we can ensure a very different experience.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the G hotel on Saturday and Sunday night past. We arrived at the hotel by car and we were told to go to the front of the hotel to avail of the valet parking which was included in our deal, it all went very smoothly and our bags were taken to our room. Check in was very quick. I had rang the hotel before our trip because I was concerned about a few things that were mentioned on tripadvisor. I told them that I was 33 weeks pregnant and I wanted to make sure the bed was a king bed and not two beds put together, I was assured it was a king and they were true to their word. The bed was amazing, it was the best two nights sleep I had in a long time. My room was right beside the elevator which was a huge bonus for me. The room was gorgeous and I really wanted to bring the shower home with me it was amazing. I requested an iron and they brought it up within 5 minutes of my request.I got my deal from secret escapes which included 2 night stay with breakfast, 10 euros each off our meal, use of the thermal suite and valet parking. The total was €342.00. To be honest I wouldn't want to be paying the €260.00 per night rate which is wrote up in the room, I dont think it is worth it. We had dinner on saturday night in the hotel and the food was very good but the service was very slow and it wasn't over busy so i don't know what the problem was. We sat down for dinner at 8 and it was about 10.15 when we got finished, it wasn't a problem as we were in no hurry. My husband had a couple of drinks in the bar area but i did feel it lacked atmosphere possibly because I wasn't drinking.The breakfast is very good with excellent choice. My husband used the thermal suite which he said was ok but he had been in better, and I used the relaxation room which was just lying on a bed listening to music, to be honest I was a bit bored.If the thermal suite was not included in our deal it would be €10.00 each time to use it, which I thought was a bit unfair as we have stayed at different hotels and you had unlimited use for nothing extra.There is a bus stop right out the front of the hotel which is great as we didn't have to take the car into the city, we used the bus both days and on the Sunday we got a taxi back to the hotel which was €7.00. That night we went to the cinema which is just directly behind the hotel. All in all we really enjoyed the hotel and the staff are very helpful, I would recommend this hotel to all family and friends but I would say to look out for the offers.

Room Tip: "we stayed in room 120 and it was close to the elevator and the thermal suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were delighted to read how well our team looked after you and how they ensured that everything was perfect right from the beginning. We are constantly updating the special offers section of our website so please keep an eye out as we will have an autumn offer available in the coming weeks.
Our thermal suite does command a charge of €10 per visit unless it is included in your package. The thermal suite experience is considered a treatment in itself and we deliberately keep numbers to a minimum for our guest’s enjoyment and privacy. We aim to create a relaxed dining environment in Restaurant Gigi’s so please accept our apologies that you felt service was slow. Our Signature Lounges are more suited to a less formal and speedier dining experience.
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is really modern and unique. The food is very good and the bed is heavenly. The location is a little tough because it's in a mall setting but you can certainly enter from the rear of the hotel to avoid the traffic. It's a very convenient location, there's a nice restaurant across the way if you want to get out of the hotel. It's also a quick cab ride or a nice walk away from City Centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed our unique hotel. We have shared your lovely feedback regarding our beds, location and design with all.
The hotel is situated in the Wellpark Retail complex and we are a five minute drive to the city centre.
We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,751 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,863 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,203 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £134 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing