We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiance to celebrate our anniversary, hotel is lovely and food was nice. Just the noise was unreal, think there was a hen on the night we stayed and it was so ridiculous. I expected a bit of banter and noise but what we got was unreal, people banging doors up and door the hall, women screaming and laughing at 2am. Rang reception at said this but nothing happened, don't usually complain but when u spend that amount of money on a room itself you should be looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phacko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We were pleased to read that you found the hotel to be lovely and you enjoyed our menu offerings. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were disturbed by noise. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. Once our team receive a call about noise they will react as quickly as possible. We are currently looking into your feedback.
Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will stay with us again so you can experience the true meaning of a stay at the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,764 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Another great stay, service from check in to check out and everything I between. Print Check in even though we wrre there at noon. Room was fantastic. The thermal suite was quiet and really relaxing.
The staff on our arrival at the restaurant were relaxed but really attentative. The food was fantastic, good portion size and really tasty. Even though a really large group were seated just after we were the service was fantastic. Have to say every time we stay it gets better and better. Can't wait for our next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read that you have become a loyal guest to the hotel. Our team were delighted to read that everything was perfect during your stay and that you enjoyed your bedroom as well as our thermal suite experience.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to us at the g again soon. We hope that we can continue to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Perfect in every way. The staff were so friendly. The rooms were shining - stayed in room 293 - superior deluxe room - room was massive - bathroom was beautiful. The decor was very unusual and I really liked it - Breakfast was excellent - staff were fantastic. I really don't know what more to say as I could not improve on either food or staff or hygiene. Didn't hear a sound from next door - so rooms must be soundproof. Just 10 - 12 mins walk from the town centre which is perfect to work off the fantastic dinner. Loved everything about the G.

Room Tip: Dont know what to add here - pick our room if you can afford it - Dont take your husband with you if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasonaltraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that you found the g to be perfect in every way. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated as well as the features that our Luxury bedrooms boast.
The g is ideally situated for exploring Galway and the surrounding areas. We really do appreciate your kind words and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The g Hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from City Centre but is surrounded by none of the noise and crowds of central Galway or West Galway and SandHill. A very modern hotel with incredibly large rooms, several pleasant lounge and sitting areas down stairs and a well designed fitness center. Philip Treacy, who created many of the hats seen at William and Kate's wedding, participated in the interior design and it is quite unique. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful. A bit pricey but full breakfast, free garage parking, free wifi, and free access to the gym included. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.

BTW...for those from the US...the Black and White pudding served at breakfast...its not pudding. ASK.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ectphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that the location of the hotel suited your needs perfectly. The hotel is a five minute drive to the city centre and the perfect half way point for visiting Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is so special to us all here and we were so pleased that you enjoyed all the different features of the g.
Our team really do appreciate your kind words and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a gem this hotel was and beat our expectations on our tour through Ireland. It had an amazing spa and the service was excellent throughout. The quality of the materials used in the room was excellent and the room virtually soundproof as well as being very large. I would definitely go out of my way to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbryant73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
It was so rewarding to read that the g exceeded your expectations whilst touring Ireland. We were all delighted to read that you made time to visit our Spa, ESPA at the g and that you enjoyed the attention to detail and quality throughout the hotel.
We all appreciate your kind words and we hope that we get to welcome you back to us again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the G for 2 nights in July whilst the Arts Festival was on. First impressions of the G are, well, not great as it is essentially latched on to an out-of-town shopping centre and cinema. The reception is very dark and black and nothing special.
Having said that, service was nothing short of exceptional. All staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful. The room was very nice (we had a deluxe facing the lake), the bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the bathroom was luxurious.
Breakfast was fantastic as you would expect in Ireland, with all the usual trimmings. We also had dinner here (in the Signature Lounge) which was without doubt the best meal we had in Ireland.
All in all, a very pleasant stay although I don't think it quite hits what I would expect of a 5 star. What it is lacking is character (it feels a bit like an office block even though has trendy interior), location (it is bolted onto a business park and on the edge of a busy roundabout), and facilities (there are no tennis courts, golf courses etc which you would expect of a 5 star). Service, food and the rooms however are all top notch. You can't go too far wrong with a stay at the G.

Room Tip: Lake facing room (deluxe) is the way to go...will cost more but probably worth it in the long run
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boru1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you found the level of service to be exceptional and that our team made you feel welcome. Our bedrooms as well as breakfast offering receive constant praise and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed both as well as your experience in our Signature Lounges.

In relation to the star rating of the hotel, the g is a city centre hotel, and as a result we do not have a golf course or tennis court that you might expect in a Resort style property. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting the city of Galway.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for one night last week.
It's a lovely building , the room was enormous and comfortable , wish I cold have spent more time there !
Fairly close to the city centre , a short walk or a quick taxi .
We enjoyed the tasty breakfast and the bar was a fab place to relax

Stayed: July 2014
Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g . We were so pleased to read that you found the hotel to be lovely and comfortable. Our location make the g the ideal destination for exploring Galway, Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher.

Thank you or your lovely feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to us for longer so you can enjoy the hotel once again.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £115 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing