We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but ........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently made a return visit to the g hotel. The decor is still fab but may be getting slightly worn around the edges. The bedrooms are huge with amazing bathrooms. Last time we stayed, they brought hot chocolate and cookies to the kids at bedtime which they really enjoyed. Their names were on the cookies in icing and they remembered it long afterwards. Well, that service must have been dispensed with as no hot chocolate this time! It's those kind of touches that are five star but none were evident to us this time round.In fact, I told them our stay was to mark one of the children's birthdays. In fact, we had trouble when making our reservation ( the manager had to ring me back to sort it out), rooms were not ready when we arrived (3pm) and we were told to wait twenty minutes. Half hour later and still waiting, we were told it would be another thirty minutes so we just left our luggage and walked into town. Not five star service as I told them we would arrive at 3 on the phone, I was told this would be fine as it's normal check in time. Turn down service was offered only once in our three nights, maybe this is policy? We didn't need it but water was offered at the same time and we were there during a heat wave! One night, a lot of water poured down the wall from the air con unit into our case. I reported it as it could damage the wall paper and carpet. Breakfast is just ok, nothing special. I requested soft fried eggs with breakfast (they do ask) but didn't get them. One of the children ordered pancakes and they never arrived. One morning they had no table for five ready at breakfast and we waited about 15 minutes while one was cleared. Admittedly, we waited where the buffet breakfast is but as there was no cutlery there, we couldn't set anything. Overall, the decor is lovely but things have slipped a bit. Maybe they would try harder if they lost their five star status and had to earn it back. There is one staff member who stood out - a guy called Stephen on reception. Staff need to be more customer focused in a five star hotel. On the plus side, parking is free and there's plenty of it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FamilyroomSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for retuning to visit us at the g. In relation to the children’s amenity you mention, we still offer this service. However we need to know the children’s details prior to arrival. We will follow up with our reservations team to see whether we had this information.
Please accept our apologies that your room was not ready at arrival time. We provide a turn down service every night to all of our guests. We are very sorry for the short comings that you experienced during your stay with us. We will be sharing your feedback with all the departments concerned. We hope that you will stay with us in the future to see that we are still worthy of our five star status.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope that we can welcome you back to us again soon to restore your faith in the g.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked the G as a birthday treat for my girlfriend after our short stay in Connemara.

On arrival, I was disappointed at the location I found, in a retail park beside a main road.
Plenty of car parking available, but I found the dark entrance to the lift a little offputting, as
it felt less than a safe area to enter.

Up to the entrance - check-in was straightforward, the staff were friendly and efficient, though reception itself felt a bit like a little island of office space in a cave.... it was about this time I started questioning my age-group in this hotel!

The corridors to the rooms were another darkened walk, which again felt insecure to me and
definitely set my 'secure area' alarm off, with pools of darkness only enhanced by the ankle-high lighting. This may calm down late-night revellers - why not make it a late-night-only option????

Then the room - fabulous spot, lovely lighting, large room, great bathroom, huge and comfortable bed, beautiful rose-petals..... definitely the Luxury Room I'd booked!

Let's open the curtains & have a look at the view over the loch .... only to find the view is over the carpark - who thought that one up? YES, sure, if you have a car park at the back of the hotel then some rooms must have a carpark view - what management decision led to this being the DELUXE rooms?
HUGE windows. Lovely curtains. NO reason to open them at all....

Shutting them, and after just a short time use of the room's facilities made all the rest easy to forget - a truly marvelous bath and bed guaranteed a restful few hours, and made me even more suspicious of my 'pipe and slippers readiness' :-)

Breakfast? Walking past the bizzare decor to the buffet made me wonder about the wisdom of eating in such sumptuous-looking chairs.
Obviously the hotel agrees, as on checking in at the usual 'have you paid' desk, I was led round to the fairly standard-hotel-looking eating area, safely away from the temptation of being anywhere near the buffet. That didn't last long - back to the sumptuous chairs, lovely cutlery, fair selection of fairly standard fare, and at 10.00 in the morning already the pastries were past their best by a long shot.
Hot food? Barely average, nothing like 5* standard
Noise? Lots - the clattering behind the counter did not sound to me like the staff member was too bothered about the effect on the paying customer.

At all times the staff were attentive, helpful and considerate. Nothing was too much trouble, and they are well worth their wages.

The hotel, to me, looked like the different public areas had been designed by folk who were explicitly not allowed to talk to each other, so jarring was the transition from one public space to the next.
I'd not realised how much of an old fart I'd become when all I could think of was getting to the room ASAP, and spending as little time as possible in the public spaces.....

In a word? Unsophisticated.

Room Tip: Check if your room has a car-park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OwenMc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We were all disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the unique decor and ambiance of the g. Our Luxury bedrooms are beautifully appointed as you mention. However these rooms do not boast front facing views of Lough Atalia. This is one of the main differences between the Luxury bedroom and our Junior Suites. As a city centre hotel we are restricted by our surroundings and as a result limited on the views we can offer.
Please accept our apologies that you felt that breakfast was lacking. We have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, David, and our Head Chef, Paul, for them both to look into.
We hope that you will stay with us again as the g is a unique hotel that welcomes people of all ages form all over the world every day.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely love the G, everything about it from it's modern somewhat quirky decor to it's huge relaxing bedrooms and bathrooms, rooms have everything you would like to expect for a 5 star with a smart TV and DVD player, TV in the bathroom in the junior suite! Dinning areas are very relaxing and food and drink is not overpriced, dinner was delicious along with food overall which has a real attention to detail!
Special thanks to Aoife the manager, we will definitely be back again!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kgpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read how much you love the g. Our unique decor and ambiance make the g a truly one off property. It was great to see that you enjoyed our Junior Suites as well as the amenities they boast. We have also shared your kind words with our Food & Beverage team and Aoife, our Duty Manager.
We really appreciate your review and we hope that we can welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the G for one night whilst stopping in on Galway. Picked the hotel as my wife remembered it appearing in the film The Guard. The hotel was away from the centre of town (maybe 20 minutes walk) and backs on to an out of town retail park. Rooms to the front of the hotel overlook water.
The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about places to see in the brief time we had in the city. They were also very helpful in providing a late checkout on request.

The room was well appointed and finished to a high standard, the bathroom was particularly smart with a great walk in shower and separate bath.

Breakfast consisted of both a buffet and to order selections. There was plenty of choice and the ingredients used were of high quality.

Strangely there was a separate charge for using the hotel pool, I have not experienced this before (maybe for spa treatments) and considering the room rate would have expected this to be included.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front of the hotel, no road noise or noise of any description from neighbouring roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were so pleased to read that your partner had remembered seeing the hotel feature in “The guard” the movie. It was lovely to see how well our team looked after you both. Our bedrooms receive constant praise and it was rewarding to read that you enjoyed the one you were allocated and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering also.
We have many packages that include usage of the thermal suite, as well as our standalone Bed & Breakfast rate. There is a charge to use the Thermal Suite as a relaxing visit to this facility is considered a standalone treatment in itself and the number of guests is limited at any one time to ensure an atmosphere of relaxation and privacy. However, access is included when having a 55-minute (or longer) ESPA treatment.
Thank you for your review. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The artsy g Hotel was my one hope for a stunning, contemporary hotel experience on our London & Ireland trip. After a few "classic old world" hotels, I was ready for a dazzling experience at "the g". Instead, this property turned out to be an edge-of-town, relatively plain building, adorned with a very quirky, pop-design interior.

Other reviews have mentioned the g's good location, but I just didn't see that. Located about 2 miles from the center of town, it was a little too far to walk comfortably to/from the restaurant/pub/shopping parts of Galway. The G is situated in a structure connected in back to a major suburban cinema and some typical Big Box stores - Woodie's, PetMania, InStore furniture, HomeSource (?), along with an Eddie Rockets burger joint and a deli,and its corresponding carpark. One of our rooms (206) had a glorious wall-to-wall view of this retail centre and carpark. Our other room (203), where our daughters stayed, had a view of a service walkway, and required that the curtain be permanently shut to avoid being looked into.

The dimly lit hallways were not atmospheric, but bordering on spooky and surreal, and the layout of the hotel was such that some rooms were a LONG walk from the lifts. The key-card activated lifts (a nice idea, since access from the retail centre into the G seemed a bit too easy) were somewhat confusing, requiring several tries of inserting our room keys before the green light would stay on. The bar area, adjoining the registration, seemed to always be buzzing with activity, including a large throng of people one evening (there seemed to be a live radio broadcast going on from there?), resulting in a little more general foot traffic through the first floor than I would've liked. Another reason for the key-carded lifts.

The biggest positive was the size and spaciousness of the room, especially 206. For once, we got a room that the designers didn't feel compelled to place an objet d'art or marketing literature on every square inch of the floor or table surfaces! The bathroom was extremely spacious, including a freestanding banana-shaped tub and a double shower stall, each side complete with its own shower head. Fantastic bathrooms!! However, we noticed more carpet stains than we wanted to see in a hotel of this class. The king bed, along with the linens and coverings, was probably the best in our entire journey.

Service was unobstrusive and subtle, which means it was excellent. There were no pushy concierge or porters in your face everytime you passed through the lobby. The full breakfast included with our stay was magnificent, not unlike every other hotel we experienced in Ireland and England.

While the G Hotel doesn't make our Top 3 Hotels of our recent trip, our time there was relaxing and rejuvenating, probably thanks to the additional "elbow room", both in our rooms and in the common areas. That, in itself, was worth a lot!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the carpark views. I think the front-facing rooms on the higher levels have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marsh511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We were all greatly upset to read that you did not enjoy the design of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. Our hotel is very special to us all and as you will see from other reviews it receives constant praise for its individuality and for offering a completely different hotel experience.

As you have pointed out our elevator is programmed so that only residents of the hotel can gain access to the bedrooms. Our hotel has received national and international acclaim over the years and as a result we are often the venue for radio broadcasts, documentaries and interviews.

We appreciate that your thoughts on the hotel are based on personal preference. It was rewarding to read that you enjoyed the size and comfort of our bedrooms as well as the features and benefits they boast. It was also lovely to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings and the level of service within the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for the kind words you shared regarding our service levels and the benefits the hotel boast.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

had a short break in g loved it hotel in excellent condition staff were all friendly very relaxed atmosphere unusual decor not far from centre if ever in galway again i certainly wont pass the g thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank frankiedorrity06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the g. Thank you so much for posting a five star review on Trip Advisor.
We hope that we can welcome you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Loved the colors and the décor. The shower was especially nice. We were well taken care of and would have liked to stay longer! There is a very relaxing walk just across the street and we actually walked back from Salthill Beach where my grandson spent the afternoon diving and I was alternately lounging on the rocks and getting in the water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossie0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the decor and colour of the g. It was so rewarding to read how well our team looked after you. The weather has been fantastic in Galway over the last few weeks and it was lovely to read that you made time to visit Salthill, which is only a ten minute drive from the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,305 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £121 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing