We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary getaway ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Co.Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Anniversary getaway ”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just back after celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at the g! First impressions were excellent as the reception ladies were v helpful and welcoming. We were upgraded which was a lovely surprise. Our room was fab. V comfortable with a lovely surprise of cupcakes and a card and chocolate from management for our anniversary. The bathroom was fab with a lovely walk in shower and bath with bathrobes and slippers. The bed was one the comfiest I have ever slept in at a hotel. V quiet at night. The staff overall in the hotel were v friendly and especially in the bar. The cocktails were divine. Only a 20 min walk into town so not bad. The breakfast was delicious. Ridiculous to see other reviewers complaining about a stain on a carpet. Do they not realise it's a busy hotel. Only negative was that a lot of the people staying there were v snobby. But the staff were wonderful. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. We will def be back again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us at the g. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind words about our ladies and gentlemen working in the g as well as our bedrooms, cocktails and menu offerings mean a great deal to us all.

We really do appreciate your fantastic review and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you both back to us again. Please let us know if you are returning so we can ensure that you have another flawless experience.

Kind regards and best wishes to you both,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    585
    338
    138
    75
See reviews for
279
1,585
37
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It's hard for me to rate this property a 5 Star property when the sofa's in the main lounge have worn / torn arms on them and are in dire need of replacement. Likewise, our room's carpeting was speckled with multiple stains and needed to be replaced. Loved the bed & linens on it. The location is a little odd with a DIY store in the rear of the hotel (plenty of free parking though). I'm glad I got our room through a discount website b/c had I paid full price, I would have been much more critical of this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a very busy street in the front of the hotel. It may be too noisy for some folks. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Naturally we were all greatly upset to read the review you posted on Trip Advisor. We take enormous pride in the level of service that we provide here in the g. We are investing heavily in the hotel in the coming months. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so you can experience our improvements first hand.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

So I normally stay at other hotels in Galway this was my first time at the g. Mostly positive...the staff were excellent, particularly the breakfast team. The drinks were very reasonably priced at the bar. I thought the room was great, I guess I had one of the standard ones facing onto the retail park, but I was very impressed by the decor and facilities. Sometimes boutique hotels favour funkiness over function, but everything worked fine in the room. (but no ironing board??) Normally I just don't get the turn down service concept....but it was really good at this hotel. Free parking a plus, and there is a great pub across the road as well. Free wifi.
Areas for improvement? Breakfast itself was underwhelming, the sausages in particular were poor, the omelette greasy. And you can't charge guests to use the sauna/pool, thats not on.
But very good, I was impressed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was lovely to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you were impressed with decor and facilities.

We have shared your feedback regarding our breakfast offering with our Head Chef, Paul, for him to look into. Thank you for your comments we hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was slightly surprised when we arrived at the G hotel as I had been picturing something in the City Centre; it's actually set on quite a busy road and backing on to a retail/entertainment park. This wasn't really an issue - although initially it felt like the hotel was situated well out of town the city centre is walking distance, albeit about 20-30 minutes away.

The hotel itself is superb - I loved the quirky styling (including the 'pink' room!) and the attention to detail in the bedrooms (cupcakes, magazines, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, good toiletries in the huge bathroom, a hairdryer that actually has enough power to dry your hair). The room was a good size and perfectly quiet. Parking is free (in the underground car park shared with the retail park) and breakfast (buffet and cooked to order options) was excellent. A couple of other reviewers have commented on the lack of service from reception staff - which was fair, there was no suggestion of an offer to help bags or suchlike - but actually I was completely happy with the briskness and unfussiness of the check in and check out.

We stayed here after booking a deal through secret escapes, so I can't comment on the full price, but our stay was excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibblesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to read how impressed you were with the hotel once you entered. Our unique decor and ambiance receives constant praise and we were delighted you enjoyed this. We have shared your kind words about our bedrooms, amenities, complimentary parking and value for money with all.
Naturally our reception team were disappointed to read your comments, as part of our check in standards all guests are offered luggage assistance.
Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us at the g again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice hotel but too expensive for what it is and staff could be friendlier, this is not a realy 5 star hotel. I would recommend staying closer to the town there are much nicer places which are much cheaper. Didnt try the breakfast here but heard it wasnt great from another visitor.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We were all upset to read that you were not entirely impressed with certain aspects of your stay. Our team were disappointed to read that you did find them as exceptional as others have mentioned regularly on Trip Advisor.
It is also upsetting that you judged our breakfast offering without getting to try it for yourself. We are constantly complimented on our good value for money so it was disappointing you felt otherwise.
We hope we have addressed your concerns.

Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Meath, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

People had told me this hotel was stylish but a bit impersonal. We went there as a family on a special offer deal and were delighted with it. The staff were very friendly and interested, very welcoming indeed. Once they knew it was my husband's birthday they upgraded us to a fantastic spacious room with a great view, right next door to the kids room, even though I hadn't requested this. The public areas of the hotel were interesting and different. The kids loved that they were so classy. We had a nice booth in the restaurant for breakfast the first morning, which was good as the tables in the middle of the room were quite close to each other and a lot less private. We used our €30 voucher (also part of the special offer) on lunch in the pink foyer, which we all enjoyed. The cocktails were delicious. The doormen and parking valets were exceptionally efficient and friendly. All in all I'd say our stay at the G was one of the highlights of our summer. Looking forward to going back some time soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your experience at the g. Our team were delighted to read your lovely comments about them. It was also great to read that your husband enjoyed his birthday whilst staying with us.

We really appreciate your wonderful feedback about our bedrooms, Signature Lounges, value for money, cocktails and of course our team.

We hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon. Please send our birthday wishes to your husband.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed there at the weekend and the hotel is lovely but it’s not a 5 star. The decor is fantastic and really adds to the hotel. The staff were courteous and helpful at all times and did go above and beyond. It is let down by its facilities. Our room didn’t have a mini bar, not that we wanted one. The spa lacks a pool but the big surprise is that it cost €10 per person per visit to use. At €480 for 2 nights you’d expect that to be included and it is a little petty for it not to be included in a 5 start hotel. If 2 people used the spa all 3 days of the stay it would have cost an extra €60. It’s not a lot in the grand scheme of things but it creates a sour taste and dampens the experience. The staff were 5 star, the facilities were not. Great experience but still feel let down.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We were all disappointed to read that you were not entirely impressed with your recent stay at the g. Here in the g we stock our mini bars on request but we also offer twenty four hour room service so drinks can be prepared by our highly trained team and delivered to your room.

The number of guests is limited at any one time in the Thermal Suite to ensure that there is an atmosphere of privacy and relaxation for our guests. The Thermal Suite experience is considered a standalone treatment in itself rather than an inclusive ‘leisure centre experience’ so it does command a reduced charge for guests. However, if you book a minimum treatment of 55-minutes in the Spa use of the thermal suite is complimentary prior to the treatment commencing and you also have full use of the Relaxation Lounge post-treatment.

We hope that we have addressed your concerns and that you will consider staying with us the next time you are visiting Galway.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing