We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Nearby Hotels
The Western Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,834)
Filter reviews
2,834 results
Traveller rating
1,635
608
355
152
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,635
608
355
152
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesthermal suitephilip treacyretail parkcup cakespink roomluxury roomon arrivaldouble showerturn down serviceeggs benedictamazing hotellounge areatop classpublic areasfrom start to finishcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,172 - 1,177 of 2,834 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our stay was disappointing at the G hotel.While the uniqueness of the hotel was not a problem the service was well below other hotels we stayed at in Ireland.When we arrived there was no one to help with our baggage or greet us.The décor is bright and unusual but looks worn out and in need of refurbishing.While I realize it is supposed to be edgy ,the dark hallways are just unappealing. Our room was large but not set up well and had a view of the shopping center parking lot in the rear.While a 15 minute walk to the City Center is not a problem,you are required to walk beside and across very busy roads so it seems more like and chore than a comfortable city stroll.Breakfast was very good at the hotel and there is a very good Restarant/Pub directly across the street(The Huntsman).Skip the stay and just visit the hotel for drinks and you will get to view the edgy décor without having to stay.The hotel was so disappointing we left one day early.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were not impressed with the level of service we provide in the hotel. As we have three separate entrances into the g we offer to collect the luggage once our guests check into the Hotel.

We are investing heavily in the hotel at the moment and we hope that this investment will rectify your concerns.

We hope that you will stay with us in the future so you can witness our improvements first hand.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just back from a great stay at this hotel. Food was lovely & the decor is, as one would expect from Philip Tracy, wonderfully whimsical. The staff were lovely & the rooms very comfortable. I have stayed in lots of other Galway Hotels but this is probably the best all rounder.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

It was so rewarding to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the g. Our Philip Treacy designed Hotel is so special to us all and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed the design and decor.

We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night in August. We arrived at 3 but our room wasn't ready so we sat and had a coffee in the public areas and people watched. The decor throughout the hotel is vibrant but starting to look a little tired, I thought that the hotel would be bigger, but it was more of a boutique hotel, which wasn't a problem as it retained a cosy feel. We booked a table for dinner and can honestly say it was the nicest meal I've had in a long while, all courses were fantastic, as was the service. We ended up drinking cocktails from the large cocktail menu until the early hours, which, although gorgeous, were expensive! The night porter, God bless him, treated us to chips at the end of the night which we were extremely grateful for, due to our consumption of the fantastic cocktails. Breakfast was plentiful, buffet style and also a menu which you could choose eggs Benedict etc from. I would stay again, the food was a credit to the chef, the cocktails were very more ish and the large room had the most comfortable bed and stylish bathroom, all these were to a high standard. I wasn't really bothered about the decor as I think when the hotel opened initially, it was quirky but it's starting to look a bit dated now. All staff members that we encountered were friendly, welcoming and genuine.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Irisheyesaresmilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such lovely feedback from your recent stay at the g. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel as well as our cocktail and breakfast offerings. We were also pleased to read how well our team looked after you.

Your kind words about our bedrooms, bathrooms and of course our amazing team mean a great deal to us all. We are currently in the process of reinvesting in our Signature Lounges so we hope that you will stay with us gain to see our improvements first hand.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a nice hotel with a great spa facility.

The hotel was listed as city centre by expedia -- it is a 20 minute walk from the action and it's location is on a very busy traffic route.

The room quality was luxurious and exceeded my expectations and the bathroom was 5 star no issue.

Had breakfast at the hotel and was very pleased with food quality.

Service was OK only.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Win4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our Spa as well as our luxurious bedrooms and bathrooms. We were also pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s.

We have shared your comments with all and we hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed overnight at the G Hotel in Galway on Friday 22nd August, the G Hotel is situated about 5 minutes from the centre of Galway and within a shopping centre complex.

The G is a trendy and boutique hotel with amusing decor. From the moment we arrived at reception we were treated to fantastically warm, friendly service. The room itself overlooked the Alatia Creek and the huge king bed was plush and comfortable and had a lounge are to view the big screen TV and the bathroom equally was huge and the shower was one of the most invigorating we have experienced during our overseas trip.

There's plenty of free car parking space in underground car park and free wi-fi throughout the hotel premises.

The full breakfast is superb with both a full Irish and Continental breakfast. Overall we had a 'very' pleasant experience staying at the G Hotel and would recommend it to others who require quality accommodation in Galway. Ireland,

Room Tip: Request room overlooking the Altalia Creek rather than the shopping centre.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be trendy with an interesting decor.
We have shared your kind comments about our team with all and everyone was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your bedroom and our breakfast offering.
Thank you for recommending us. We really do appreciate this and your kind words.

Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews