We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a funky place alright!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have to agree with Simon D on this one. It was not a pleasant experience at all especially when we stepped out of the lift and it was dark and dreary because they were testing the security system. When the lights went on it was still dark and dreary. The staff is cold and impersonal. The food leaves a great deal to be desired and one morning someone had wiped down the bar area with a sour towel and the odor for dining and food lay out was nauseating. The décor is artist driven and not classy at all. The concierge staff were helpful at all times. The room was small and not warm and inviting. For a Superior room and 4 star hotel which is locked to a shopping mall and far from the downtown center I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 2Travelers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We were all greatly upset to read the review that you posted on Trip Advisor. Our Philip Treacy designed Hotel is very special to all of us in the g so it was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our team receive constant praise for their warmth and friendliness and our menu offerings have also received great praise for their value for money and creativity. The g is conveniently located just a five minute journey from the city centre and whilst we are located in a retail park this allows us the opportunity to provide complimentary parking for all our guests.

We hope that we have addressed your concerns.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 2,752 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and myself stayed here for one nightwould have loved to stay longer. From the moment the lift doors opened to the fabulous lobby, with all it's beautiful warm strong colour scheme, till the lift doors closed the following day when we had to leave. It was a great experience. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the waiter in the restaurant where we had a delicious evening meal. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and spacious, and very quiet. We loved every minute of it. Philip Tracey did a brilliant job on the designing of it. I have travelled to lots of 5* hotels over the world and this one measures up to all of them. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aaastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the unique and colourful decor of the Hotel. Our team were so pleased to be mentioned in your review and everyone was happy to read that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated.

We really do appreciate your kind words and praise. We hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The G Hotel is a super stylish, wonderful hotel.t is very modern and richly appointed in terms of aesthetic and amenities. The staff are friendly and very helpful (true of people across Ireland). The rooms are massive; to the point that the 42" TV almost seemed too small to watch from bed ;-) The bathroom was equally massive and had 2 sinks, 2 fantastic showers, bidet etc and a glorious bathtub to soak in. The rooms have plenty of closet space i addition to a nice sitting area that puts it on par with (or bigger than) many a New York apartment. If we ever came back to Galway again, we would stay here without hesitation and wish we have more time here to enjoy the hotel even more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed the unique decor of the g. Our team were so pleased to get a special mention in your review. It was rewarding to read how much you enjoyed our bedrooms, bathrooms and Hotel throughout.
We really do appreciate your review and we hope that we can welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I travelled to stay in the G Hotel and were really disappointed with the whole experience. A number of issues, namely:
1. The hotel is widely marketed as being 5 minutes from the city centre - it is in reality a good 20 / 25 minute walk.
2. The location is odd - the hotel is in the same building as a shopping mall and the whole area has a real commercial appearance.
3. When we arrived at the front of the hotel, there was nobody to advise us where the car park was located or to park the car despite signs advising that a car parking service was in operation.
4. The hotel car park is an underground area that is shared with the shopping mall shoppers.
5. The lift from the car park to the main reception area is a functional but does not create a positive impression when checking in to a 5 star hotel.
6. The whole ambience is impersonal and "temporary".
7. We unexpectedly had to check out a day early and were promptly charged an extra night's accommodation - one night's accommodation at the G Hotel therefore cost us approx Euro 300.

The breakfast was good - our one positive experience at the G Hotel. Overall, this was an exceptionally disappointing experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We were all greatly disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the g. In relation to your comments, the Hotel is marketed as a five minute car journey from the city centre as oppose to walk. We are located in the Wellpark Shopping Complex so we are very open about our location.

We offer our guests complimentary self parking to the rear of the property or in our underground car park. However, valet parking is available at a one off charge of €10 for the duration of your stay. Lastly in relation to checking out early, our cancelation policy dictates that any cancellations or amendments need to be made at least 24 hours prior to arrival for a standard bed and breakfast package. For a dinner or Spa package this increases to 48 hours prior to arrival.

We hope that we have addressed your concerns.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Loved it! Fiancé brought me here as a present for my birthday! One of my faves! The room had rose petals on the bed and candles lighting when we came back from town after a meal! The place is just stunning all pink! Lol! Only thing I didn't like was location ! Other than that it's a 10/10

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read that your partner treated you to a stay at the g to celebrate your birthday.

We really do appreciate your fantastic review. It was so rewarding to read how special your experience was.

We hope that you had an amazing birthday and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed 3 nights to coincide with a wedding and almost everything about the hotel disappointed except that the bed was comfortable. I could not mention comfort in relation to any of the furniture in the public spaces. Almost anywhere else would be a better place to stay; a waste of a lot of money. The breakfast is a joke e.g. three mornings running we got no milk with our tea and when we asked for it one day we got a large glass of milk! The ambiance is awful (was it designed to be a hotel or something seedier?), the staff are plainly fed up and there appears to be no management of any calibre. Give this hotel, in the middle of a shopping centre complex, a miss.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Moira43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We were all greatly disappointed to read the review you posted on Trip Advisor. The Hotel was designed by an Internationally acclaimed Milliner, Philip Treacy and we have won a vast number of awards since our opening for the unique style of the Hotel.

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy the design as well as the level of service that our team are regularly commended for on Trip Advisor.

It is such a shame that you never shared your feedback during your stay with us. This would have allowed us the opportunity to address your issues and rectify them to ensure that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

We hope that we have addressed your concerns.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner in August and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, we loved the decor! Our room was massive and very clean! Also arrived to complementary cupcakes and chocolate, which was a nice wee surprise, simple but thoughtful. Staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a perfect location, very close to the main restaurants and shops. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us earlier this month. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay as well as our arrival cupcakes.

We have shared your kind words with all. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,305 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £121 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing