We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The G”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 4 January 2007

We stayed at the G for 2 nights for my birthday and it was just fabulous. You have to like and appreciate design to get it, I guess, but it was in my view just brilliant.

Our room was great - roomy with the most comfy bed I have ever experienced. Toiletries and bathroom also as fab as expected.

We didn't eat in the restaurant (mainly because the concierge had such good suggestions for places to eat in town) but the breakfast was tasty (if a little slow to arrive).

The location is fine - out of town but easy to get to in a cab - and overlooking a lake.

The cocktails and ambience in the bar were just brilliant - really lives up to the photos on The G website.

My only gripe is that we arrived at 2.30pm and had to wait over an hour for our room. We were asked to wait in the bar for "a few minutes" on arrival - if we had known it would take so long we might have gone out. Instead, we decided to have a cocktail or three in the pink bar. I think in hindsight it was pretty poor of the hotel not to pick up the tab for those drinks, given that the delay was entirely their fault. However, after a few kir royales, we didn't really think about it and paid for them ourselves.

Apart from that episode - which I guess if we had asked the hotel, might have been remedied - we had a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone. Even if you are staying elsewhere you must go to the G for a cocktail at least, just to see it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,592 - 2,598 of 2,736 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2007

Having read all the reviews on the site we thought we would go for four days including New Year. Here are some thoughts and comments:-

Not that easy to find but if you see the EYE cinema it is next door.

Had to struggle in with our luggage which was a shame as I am on crutches at the moment. The booking in process was painful as there was no-one to show us to our room and they had to dig out the restaurant manager to do it (which she did well). Also it is really annoying that the check-in people keep answering the telephone when checking people in. It just adds to the time and is plain rude.

Be aware that a Junior Suite is better than a Luxury Suite. Just a fireplace I think. Our Junior Suite we were in had a fantastic view and the room was excellent. However if your vision of a Suite is a separate bedroom and living area then think again as they are combined in one (large) space. The bathroom is excellent with great products.

Book your treatments well in advance as when we tried on arrival we got a funny look and were told that they are always booked up for a long time ahead! To be fair we got in on a cancellation later.

The restaurant is very good - ask for a booth.

The service in the bars and lounges is excellent.

So overall a very good experience - you will enjoy it!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeffBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Just returned from an excellent 3 night New Year stay the G.
This is a really lovely, very chic hotel. From the outside, it's part of a glass-fronted shopping centre virtually sitting on a roundabout, but you won't be disappointed when you step inside. The decor is very stylish, the restaurant is excellent, and there are so many staff that you can't fault the service. Well worth the money for a special occasion like New Year, and be sure to take advantage of the airport pick-up if it's available. The Spa facilities are also top class although it is very busy, so make sure you book in advance. NB. If you fancy a change of scenery, the Hunstman Inn across the road does really good food and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

My boyfriend brought me here for a two night stay as a birthday treat. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left was pure luxury. Yes it is expensive and cant really be truly experienced on a budget but for pure indulgence this is the only place to go. We were collected from the Train station and then shown around the hotel which i think is a really nice touch, the staff were so so friendly and very attentive, to be honest we went into town on the Saturday night and found ourselves wanting to go back early to sample the cocktail bar!!! We went to the ESPA spa on the morning we checked out and that really was the perfect end to a perfect stay. The only one fault and its a very small one is that the bath is too long, if you want to strectch out and relax you find yourself sinking under because you cant reach the end and there is no footrests on side even. The other one thing was that the air conditioning wasnt very effective and i had trouble sleeping as it was a bit stuffy, but those observations wouldnt affect me staying there again by a long shot. I cant wait to re visit

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LMC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Myself and a friend stayed here for a post christmas getwaway. We were expecting good service and to be treated well and we were. I was a little dissapointed at first when the thermal suite was out of action due to technical problems.We also did not relaise you had to book in advance for treatments/use of the espa, but due to cancellations and a very friendly and helpful receptionist at the spa we managed to have treatments on day two of our stay (but not the thermal suite). Generally the service and attitude of the staff was very good and friendly. Overall it was good value and gave two friends a special treat!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cousinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2006

Myself and my husband spent 2 nights in this hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary.

We arrived at about 7.30pm and were advised that our car would be parked for us and all our luggage would be brought to our rooms - excellent!

The reception area is so different - black decor with lighting candles and impressive floral displays and oh my God - you have to have a look at the fish tank, watch out for the colour changing sea-horses!

The concierge showed us to our rooms and offered to show us around the hotel if we liked (we were in a rush, so declined). He talked us through all the functions in the room and offered to take care of anything that we needed.

The room was fantastic. Big king size bed, flat screen TV, fully stocked mini-bar (at the same prices as the bar), volume control for the TV in the bathroom(!), air conditioning and complimentary shoe shining service! The bathroom was lovely and was stocked with complimentary spa products.

We were advised that there were a number of Christmas parties going on in the hotel over the weekend – but to my surprise, we were not disturbed once as the rooms seemed to be very well insulated.

We ordered breakfast in bed on both mornings (any room service ordered was very prompt) – what a luxury as it comes up on a trolley, which folds out into a table with a heating oven underneath so your food stays lovely and warm. We had the full Irish and the pancakes which were really tasty. Freshly squeezed OJ and great tea!

The bars were very impressive, table service and every cocktail you could imagine (they are quite expensive though at €12 a pop, but lovely as a treat). The staff were super friendly and efficient.

Our only crib about the hotel was the restaurant. The surroundings were beautiful as with the rest of the hotel and the staff were very capable. They didn’t have the wine that we initially ordered. We were very impressed with our starters, but both of us were disappointed with our mains (sirloin steak and sea bass) which lacked imagination, taste and any unity. Our deserts were ok – but again, not what we were expecting from such an impressive 5* hotel and at the prices they were charging.

Things to consider:

-Location as it is outside of the city centre. We called out a taxi and it cost €10 into the centre at 9pm.
-Cost – a complete luxury hotel and an ideal location for celebrating something special, but unless you have a lot of money at your disposal then beware of the costs.
-Personally I loved the décor, it was truly different and unique, but I could see how it may not be to everyone’s liking as it is very modern and “out there” in parts.
-Give them 10 mins to retrieve your car, if in a hurry ring down before hand.

All in all – a great hotel, but not for the faint hearted or faint of pocket!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travellers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

It first started out rocky when our "butler" was nowhere to be found when we arrived into Galway Airport. We called the hotel and they sent our "butler" (so funny) to pick us up. From that moment forward the G was an amazing experience. Every single staff person seemed geniunely kind and friendly. Unfortunately we only stayed one night at the G since we thought it was going to be far from the center of Galway. Not the case at all, short 5 minute taxi ride into main area...plus they offer a "butler" to take you to and from the airport well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jinabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,750 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,859 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £135 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing