We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts”
Review of Bayberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayberry House
Ranked #31 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Hosts”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was a beautiful facility and is operated by two caring people. We stayed two nights and both Marie and Tom took us to wonderful restaurants so that we would not have to worry about parking. We took cabs home and it proved so convenient. Everything about Bayberry House makes it worth your, especially the tasty breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms looked similar and were large and finely appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
74
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the mayberry with Tom and Marie.

5 of us travelled(3 adults and 2 kids) and were accommodated in 2 lovely rooms,tastefully decorated,modern and lovely ensuites.

Our rooms were cleaned each day of our stay and fresh towels plentifully supplied with tea/soap stocks etc replenished.

Maries breakfast each day was just a pleasure,plentiful cereals,juice and continental options with a stunning full irish cooked option(no probs at all too tailor to your preference) you also get the most stunning toast basket with freshly cooked scones,muffins and variety of breads to choose from!

The atmosphere in the breakfast room is just lovely,both Tom and Marie welcome you as friends and are keen to answer any questions you may have,whether it be about local events/activities or indeed theirselves,this sincerity and openness had other guests and ourselves relaxed and comfortable and had everyone interacting with each other,swapping stories of where they were from etc,it was just a lovely and interesting place to spend breakfast as a result!

The bnb is situated a bit out of town but you can walk to the salthill promenade in approx 15 mins,it'd be uphill all the way back and obviously a while longer a result,when we went out on the saturday evening Tom very kindly drove us into town so it was only a taxi back we had to find,a lovely gesture,much appreciated!

The city centre of galway is gorgeous,we had a lovely family meal in fat freddys(quay st situated in the latin quarter) where kids are very welcome and the atmosphere and staff are just a pleasure to be around.

Cant wait to return to both Galway and in particular to see Tom and Marie who are wonderful hosts in their lovely home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarebit37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just outside busy, busy Galway city center. The hostess, Marie, was gracious and offered to show us into town for dinner. The rooms were large and very clean. The breakfast was delicious, especially the Irish yogurt from Cork. Yum!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a lovely B&B with the nicest hosts, they were extremely helpful giving us a lift into town and could not have been more accommodating. Very easy going atmosphere in a lovely home. Will definitely stay there again next time I am in Galway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaMadigan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Bayberry house is an excellent B&B. The location is a short drive into downtown and a nice walk to the board walk. Marie is so kind and made us a delicious Irish coffee for the evening. Marie also makes delicious made to order breakfast. Molly the cat is very sweet and enjoys curling up on the couch with you as you read the newspaper.
Marie and Tom were kind enough to lend us their GPS which was so helpful. Marie has several wonderful dinner suggestions. We ate at the Ardilaun Hotel just a short drive away. Excellent food and good people watching. They typically have weddings on Fridays and Saturdays and the Irish go all out with beautiful hats and dresses. We also ate Moran's on the Weir in Kilcolgan after driving to the Cliffs of Moher. Amazing sea food with the most fresh local oysters.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoilerMaker04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Bayberry House and really enjoyed our time there. Marie and Tom are wonderful hosts. They gave us valuable advice and recommendations for restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing. Tom gave us a ride to town one evening. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and enjoy your visit. The breakfasts were by far our favorite out of all the B&Bs we've been to. It's close enough to town that you can walk if you want to. We walked everywhere. It's even walking distance to the Trad on the Prom, which we HIGHLY recommend. Overall, this is a good choice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much at Bayberry House. It is a lovely home, and the furnishings in our room were so pretty. Marie was so nice and so helpful--she even drove us into town one evening, which was so nice after a long day.
The breakfast is amazing--so, so delicious! Her scones are as light as a feather! She has wonderful Irish cheeses and a delicious fruit compote as well as the traditional Irish bacon and eggs and lots of side dishes. YUMMY!
She is close to the Promenade and the bay, and it's a lovely place to stay! We hope to go back again someday!
Randy and Kathy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 186 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Consilio
Consilio
#30 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House

Property: Bayberry House
Address: 9 Cuan Glas, Bishop O'Donnell Road | Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing