We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emerald Gem of Galway”
Review of Bayberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayberry House
Ranked #31 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Emerald Gem of Galway”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

From a geographic standpoint, the Bayberry House is perfectly situated for exploration of Galway City or neighboring treasures. However, the prime location of the Bayberry House pales in comparison to charm and hospitality of Marie and Tom. Their beautiful and immaculate home immediately set in a feeing of warmth and family. It took our 2 year old about a minute to go off on a cat hunting adventure with Tom while Marie shared her insights and knowledge of the area which resulted in a personalized itinerary for which we will be forever grateful. The breakfast was delightful and very filling. No detail large or small was left unattended. This was an exceptional accommodation run by exceptional people.

Room Tip: We had a view of a beautiful backyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimMcAfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
74
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We originally did not plan to visit Galway during our Ireland trip, but we decided to since we were staying in a castle hotel in Connemara. So glad we did this, as our stay at Bayberry was one of the highlights of our trip! The b&b is located near the Salthill promenade and a 5 minute drive to Galway city centre. Marie offered each day to drive us to the city centre, but it was a nice day so we decided to walk to the city and take the cab back. Marie's hospitality is just beyond amazing, we had some good laughs during breakfast time and it just felt like home! We stayed for two nights and each night we would relax in the cozy living room with a real fire that Tom (her husband) kindly put on for us. Breakfast was so delicious with ample varieties of yoghurt, oatmeal, cheeses, yummy home-made fruit compote and also some traditional hot Irish breakfast options. We had a lovely stay at Marie & Tom's place and we missed it as soon as we left. We'll be back to visit Ireland, and will definitely visit Galway and stay at Bayberry House again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Marie is an ANGEL! Her home is immaculate, breakfast devine, and room rates so low I could not believe it. Do not leave home without a GPS pre-loaded with Ireland maps and do take her up on the offer to demonstrate how to operate an Irish toilet (not kidding!). Perfect location for exploring County Mayo and The Connemara to the North and Cliffs of Moher to the South. Fly in and out of Shannon if possible. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I spent a couple of nights at Marie and Pat's lovely home in August, 2013. Marie welcomed me at the door and gave me restaurant tips, even driving me to one of them that had a special that night. I loved the selection of books and magazines around, and the breakfast was exquisite -- and filling. There is a buffet full of lovely things, but a hot breakfast also is served, so save room! There is always lovely music playing softly in the common rooms, and if you have a question, Marie and Pat look it up and give you an answer right away, anything about the area. It's really like staying with favorite relatives you haven't seen in a long time, but who want you to be comfortable. The home itself is beautiful and true to its style and design. A homey, comfortable, elegant place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericaninFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October along with friends of ours from the US for one night. We were given a lovely welcome by Marie when we arrived and shown to our rooms, which were lovely.
The B&B is near Salthill so was very close to the centre of Galway, and Pat very kindly drove us into the centre which was great so we could all have a drink or two!

Marie and Pat made us feel very welcome and we had a lovely breakfast the next morning. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penfold_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I, along with a friend visited Galway near the end of our 2 week drive around the south from Dublin. We stayed at Bayberry House for 2 nights in early September. It's in the Salthill neighborhood, which is about a 5 min. drive from the center of Galway. Marie and her husband were so accommodating! Our friend had a minor foot problem when we arrived and within 10 minutes Marie drove her to a local pharmacy and gave her cream to help ease the discomfort. The house is cozy and beds and bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. The only downside was the wifi in our double at the front of the house upstairs, was not working. Breakfasts were delicious and the first day, Marie even drove us to the center so we wouldn't have to bother parking our car. She was a delight to talk with and has a wonderful sense of humor we thoroughly enjoyed. We would stay again most definitely!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Patti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Bayberry House and found it to be a very good choice. Bayberry is two minutes drive from the beachfront road and only five minutes drive from Quay Street, which is the area of shops, restaurants, and pubs. Tom greeted us as we entered the house and was very helpful with our bags and made us feel welcome in his home. Marie was also more than helpful and very kind for the duration of our stay. The house was very clean and the rooms were nice. The only complaint that I can think of is minor - the house echoes a bit, so some noise from other guests can be heard inside of bedrooms. This should be expected anywhere that houses many people and should not deter anyone from staying at this B&B. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Bayberry and hope to stay there again should I return to Galway!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 186 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Consilio
Consilio
#30 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House

Property: Bayberry House
Address: 9 Cuan Glas, Bishop O'Donnell Road | Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing