We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort for the repeat visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Comfort for the repeat visitor”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was our third visit there this year and we were treated to an upgrade initially. Receptionists were excellent and helpful/friendly. Room had a sea view and was very comfortable. Food was delicious in Prom Restaurant ; we enjoyed meeting the young Galway chef. Service was excellent too.
Leisure centre is one of best in Ireland though this time the female staff member was not the usual cheerful/friendly person we are used to.
We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms away from heating ducts if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    672
    247
    93
    52
See reviews for
618
1,040
66
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel over a weekend we found the hotel to be well kept rooms large and clean the staff were very helpful food was lovely it is in a lovely location just outside galway but not to far that you wouldn't walk in to town.One thing i would say is the bar was very busy on both nights between serving food and drinks I felt they could do with extra staff as people were having to wait a while to be served

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had our Wedding in the Salthill Hotel in December, Pauline and her team made it very easy to plan the big day. Everything on the day was done very well, everyone loved the food and wine and the room was set up very nicely. The service from the staff was first class. We are delighted we choose here for our wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Booked into the Salthill Hotel on a very good deal from Booking.com. Staff were all friendly, hotel was clean and well-maintained. Bedroom decor was stylish and modern and the leisure centre was lovely and again very clean.Was exactly how it was displayed on the website. The buffet breakfast was also very generous with lots of choice and the staff serving teas and coffees were polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors, our was on the 4th and had a lovely view and was decorated beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamihIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Spacious room with lovely sea view. As mentioned by another reviewer, you can hear next door's tv. This wasn't an issue for us late at night, as tv noise was drowned out by the live music in the bar, despite being on the third floor. The bed was very comfortable but we still didn't sleep well due to the music.
Breakfast was okay, but the pastries and the bread were stale. The location is good, especially if you want to walk along the prom, but next time we'll go back to the Galway Bay hotel next door.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

We are staying here this weekend, I am submitting a quick review as I sip on a drink in their bar on the free wifi. Very happy with this hotel. Great location. It's a 3 star hotel but I'd give it 4 stars, not sure why it's only rated 3. Bar lovely, staff v good too. Wish we got sea view room but we didn't request one. Great under ground car park. Shame the weather so bad but we will def stay here again :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmg1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Lovely hotel with excellant views from certain rooms. Very comfortable rooms and excellant sleep. For mobile phone users the signal is bad out here but if you are not concerted with this lovely spot for a break. The bar food is good and reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,624 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing