We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel - Well worth a visit”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I always use Trip Advisor to looks at hotels before i travel. I thought I’d write a report on my recent trip to Galway in Ireland.
My son was playing Gaelic Football at a local club (Salthill-Knocknacarra GAA) and we stopped in the Salthill Hotel. This was a recommendation.
I can safely say it was one of the best hotels I’ve stopped in, with the "warmest" of welcomes. The rooms, facilities, bar area and service were found to be excellent. The location is also excellent, across the promenade to the beautiful Galway Bay. The staff were always on hand to answer questions and always had a smile on their face. It's a shame I only stayed two nights, would liked to have stopped longer.
The promenade is great for a stroll in either direction with the views around the bay. It is a good 20-25 minutes walk to Galway Town but well worth it. There is a bus stop near the hotel for those who don’t want to walk.
There are numerous pubs and other food outlets on the way into Galway Town. The ones we visited were friendly and welcoming.
Can't wait to go back and take the rest of the family. Well done to the Salthill Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,567)
There are newer reviews for Salthill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,038 - 2,044 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay in this Hotel. I was with my wife and 4 month old daughter. We last visited here in October '12 and I am delighted to say that it hasn't changed a bit.

We were checked in by Eileen at Reception, who greeted us with a warm smile and offered us a cot for our baby and help with our bags. We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor with a great view of the sea and promenade. The room was very clean and spacious. We had a flat screen tv with Sky Sports and internet access and lots of other channels, tea & coffee making facilities, large bathroom and the hotel has complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel.

The food was lovely here. There is food served all day till 9pm in the bar which boasts brilliant views out over the sea & promenade.. There is a fine dining restaurant too in the hotel called Prom which has similar views to the bar.

The amenities in this hotel are exceptional. It has a 25M pool, Hydrotherapy Suite; Features 18M Hydrotherapy Pool with fountain, heated to 31 degrees; Relaxing Loungers; Sauna; Steam room; Whirlpool, Extensive Gymnasium and Professional Weights Suite, Advanced Training Area, Aerobics Studio, Spinning Studio, Pilates Studio.. The Leisure facilities are all kept extremely clean..

The staff are all so friendly and it is only a 20 minute walk to Galway City or bus 401 stops outside the hotel and drops you to the city centre.

If you're considering a break in Galway then you should really give this hotel a try, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: 4th floor we stayed on and the views were great..
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentKillalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I cannot begin to praise the Salthill Hotel, it's manager Pauline and it's staff enough.

We recently celebrated my brother's wedding here and the day was faultless. The hotel was comfortable and inviting. The food (on arrival, the wedding breakfast, the afters and all the food we were served the next day) was delicious, hot, and served by pleasant and professional staff. The bar staff were friendly and on their game, despite the ridiculous hour that we kept them from their beds 'till! The rooms were clean, modern and inviting, with possibly THE most comfortable beds I have slept in in a hotel. (And I have a bad back)

I was particularly impressed by the manager Pauline. My brother and his bride spoke very highly of her from the get go and having seen her in action over the wedding I can now see why. Her attention to detail, given the myriad of tasks she undertakes on a daily basis is commendable. She made made Mervyn an Mary feel as though they were the only Bride and Groom in the world. I noticed that during the wedding day she tended to another prospective bride and groom, and it would appear as though she was treating them in the very same way. There was also a busy conference being ran on the same day and the hotel was packed to capacity with guests. None of whom interfered with our day nor detracted Pauline from being attentive to our needs.

In the midst of all the perpetration for the wedding we sadly lost our Dad, and this is where Pauline truly came into her own. The understanding nature she dealt with Mervyn was heart warming. She was empathetic and took the time to chat with not only Mervyn but with me also. A job that was above and beyond for a busy hotel manager.

As I said at the beginning, I cannot praise the hotel enough, and I would highly recommend it no matter what brings you to it's door. I wish you continued success.

A very happy guest:))

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonnieC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed there second time in the last year. This time we traveled with 4 months old baby. The hotel got in touch with us and offered a cot for the stay. The facilities there are amazing. Love the walk to galway city as well. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Karolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Spent 3days here. would recommend this hotel. food was very good service was excellent both in bar and restaurant. Throughout the hotel the attention to detail was first class. great views from the hotel and a very well run leisure centre. EXCELLENT

Room Tip: Third floor sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairead410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We can't thank the staff enough at the Salthill hotel for their professionalism on our wedding day. People that attended the wedding are still talking about how they were treated on the day- the food, the service, the rooms. It was an amazing day and alot of that was down to you, Pauline & staff who looked after us so well- so we thank you again.

It really was the best day of our lives and we cant thank you and your staff for making it so special for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

we had our sons christening here and from the minute we walked in the door i knew that we would be looked after. the food in the prom reseaurant was out of this world not 1 person in our party could find any fault,the staff & service was professional & even though the restaurant had 2 other groups in we were looked after like we were the only ones there. so once again thank you to all invloved in making our little boys day out so enjoyable & memorable

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubgal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,991 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £69 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing