We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice staff”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hotel was nice and clean. Food was good, breakfast was great. The location is perfect for a romantic getaway. The spa is excellent. What more could you want in a hotel? Price is moderate but the residents bar stays open all night which is a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    697
    257
    97
    54
See reviews for
649
1,076
71
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with our room.Think we were put in the old part of the hotel.dirty carpet,window that wouldn't close properly and a shower that didn't drain.Not up to the standard I would expect of a 3/4 star hotel.Will not be returning nor would I recommend it to anyone.Expensive too!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterkelly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

stayed here for one night in february it was a lovely hotel and nice sea view room, would definietly return again, a lovely promenade which takes you right into galway if you like a good healthy walk!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThetravellerKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

we stayed in this hotel for a saturday night in April 2013. I found the member of staff at the check in desk very friendly and informative.The hotel lobby was spacious and spotlessly clean. Our bedroom was also very spacious and spotless. We rang down to recption for an iron and ironing board which was delivered within minutes very impressive !. During the evening we used the pool facilities also. These were amazing, the jacuzzi was huge and could fit at least 20 people. The staff were very friendly here also. After a swim in the pool we went to the bar for food. The staff here were very friendly and quick to take your order. The bar was full with people but yet we were never left waiting. We bumped into the General Manager here too, Danny I think his name was, he too had a friendly word for us. The food was excellent and we could not fault it. The following morning we went down for breakfast which was also excellent. Overall i could not recommend this hotel highly enough. I have stayed in many hotels accross the country and this was up there with the best of them. I will definitely be back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane101-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Salthill is a nice hotel in a great location, a perfect base for exploring the area and most attractions are within a maximum 2 hour drive.

We paid the extra for a sea view room with a balcony and had a fabulous view over Galway bay. Only downside was our balcony was shared with the room next door so we couldn't actually use it, but it was worth the money for the view alone!

Our room was a great size with a lovely big bathroom offering a large separate bath and shower.

We chose to have dinner in the bar rather than the main restaurant and the choice was great and the portions huge! Would definitely recommend the steak and peppercorn sauce!! The breakfast buffet was also very good with a great choice for all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had our wedding ceremony and reception in the Salthill Hotel in March 2013 and to say that the hotel was excellent is an understatement. From the very start, Pauline made the whole experience extremely stress free, she took care of everything in relation to the reception. On the day of the wedding the rooms looked amazing, the service and attention to detail was second to none. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful and most importantly the food was amazing. We had friends and family from all over the county and England and everyone loved the hotel. I can’t say enough about how brilliant this hotel is. If you’re planning your wedding do not look any further than the Salthill Hotel.
Thanks to Pauline and all the staff for the best day of our lives. We hope to see ye all again soon
Mr and Mrs Honeywood 

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I always use Trip Advisor to looks at hotels before i travel. I thought I’d write a report on my recent trip to Galway in Ireland.
My son was playing Gaelic Football at a local club (Salthill-Knocknacarra GAA) and we stopped in the Salthill Hotel. This was a recommendation.
I can safely say it was one of the best hotels I’ve stopped in, with the "warmest" of welcomes. The rooms, facilities, bar area and service were found to be excellent. The location is also excellent, across the promenade to the beautiful Galway Bay. The staff were always on hand to answer questions and always had a smile on their face. It's a shame I only stayed two nights, would liked to have stopped longer.
The promenade is great for a stroll in either direction with the views around the bay. It is a good 20-25 minutes walk to Galway Town but well worth it. There is a bus stop near the hotel for those who don’t want to walk.
There are numerous pubs and other food outlets on the way into Galway Town. The ones we visited were friendly and welcoming.
Can't wait to go back and take the rest of the family. Well done to the Salthill Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,995 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
300 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing