We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at salthill hotel.”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great stay at salthill hotel.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at the Salthill hotel with my husband and two teenage daughters. We had a great time. Hotel is very comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. rooms were very comfortable. bar was very relaxing. Swimming pool and gym were both very good and well equipped. Only disappointment was the taste off the water. I decided to have a cup of tea in the bedroom and there was a dreadful taste from the water. the location of the hotel is perfect. Its very central and a lovely walk into the city centre. The breakfast was o.k. a little over cooked and not very hot. On the second morning I ordered poached eggs and they were lovely. Kids loved the buffet breakfast. This was our 4th stay at this hotel and we will be back for next mid term break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 210713am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    713
    265
    97
    55
See reviews for
671
1,092
72
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Salthill is called that for a very good reason, the water is very very soft which makes it taste salty. This would be tolerable IF the hotel provided free bottles water. But it doesn't and there is no bar fridge.
The rooms at the front of the hotel are more updated with power points etc then the ones on the side.
The bath has one of those metal plugs permanently fitted. The bath was filling whilst having a shower. I removed the plug to find a huge hair plug, god knows when that was cleaned last, revolting!
The staff are friendly and do their best to help where they can. But you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear. Hotel needs a refurb.
Breakfast is disappointing and the bfast restaurant is very loud, it feels like every sound is amplified. Chairs saggy and has a cafeteria type feel to it.
This hotel has potential to be decent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MCLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September and had a very enjoyable 3days . Service and food were terrific .The staff were so friendly ,in particular Reception staff .hotel is very convenient to Galway City as bus stop outside the hotel .The prom is across the road where you can walk ,jog or people watch .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in October and was very impressed overall. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel is very family friendly also. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean, and the bathrooms are quite impressive with a large shower and a separate bath tub. Views of the beach in Salthill from the room was also lovely. Very nice leisure centre with a family pool separate to a training pool with lanes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMON89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kessock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel location, facilities, staff and food were superb! Rarely do you land somewhere in your travels where there wouldn't be some wee thing you would change or think of a wee tweak that could take the hotel to your idea of perfection. The Salt hill Hotel was just fantastic. Smiley helpful staff, lovely rooms, views to die for ... hey, what more can I say?

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank momacdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I Stayed here on the October weekend with my wife and daughter.when we went to our room it was not properly cleaned so we rang reception on which they acted immediately. The bar staff I must say let the rest of the staff in the hotel down as they can be quite rude. This is our 5th time staying here and though it would not stop me from staying here again the bar men would want to take a leaf out of the rest of the hotel staffs book. Other wise excellent hotel...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. Staff were very friendly on the whole.
We experienced a problem with the water supply which tasted strongly of salt for the first 2 days. We were not made aware of this on arrival. We were thirsty from traveling and quickly drank a cup of tea each, then realised it tasted a bit strange. At first we thought this was due to the UHT milk.
When we spoke to a male member of staff he seemed well aware of the problem and said he wouldn't drink it. I asked if it was harmful and he said it was not, but it just tasted bad.
The staff in reception said there had been a problem during the previous week and that it was caused by a very high tide. This seemed to be a strange reason as the water was clear.If they knew there had been a problem they should have been monitoring it daily and warning new guests not to drink it. Salt water is not just unpleasant, it is very dangerous for anyone with kidney disease.
On leaving we expressed our dissatisfaction with the cavalier attitude towards this problem and were again told it was due to the tides and that they couldn't control that.
If the problem was due to the high tide one wonders what other contaminates were in the water.
We also found a pair of dirty pants left by a previous occupant on a shelf in our room.I reported this to the staff at reception who was apologetic, saying someone would come and remove them.
This did not happen and i reported them to a cleaning lady the following morning and they were promptly removed.
Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the restaurant meals, especially
the ' Early Bird' menu. Excellent food, beautifully presented.
Breakfast buffet was satisfactory, though the apple juice always tasted watered down and it would have been nice to have fresh fruit (not made into fruit salad), and poached or boiled eggs for a healthier option.

' menu which was excellent value.

Room Tip: our room was over the hotel side entrance on the second floor and was very quiet. Lovely view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyhighwycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,053 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
326 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing