We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair hotel for a seaside break..”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fair hotel for a seaside break..”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My friend in Dublin booked the hotel in advance for a bargain 110 euros for two nights. At this price there is little to complain about. The public areas are good including the Prom bar which is very comfortable. The seafood chowder which the menu states is 'served in a sourdough bread bowl' came in a bowl with bread on the side. When questioned the waiter said it kept leaking from the bread bowl.....The buffet breakfast is of reasonable standard though coffee is poor and toast management needs attention. It was however a bank holiday weekend and the hotel appeared to be at capacity.
Rooms are of expected standard. The milk was not replenished however. The water is not great for tea, but using your own bottled is no hardship for the seasoned traveller.
For a comfortable break in Galway The Salthill ticks all the boxes, it is good, not great hotel but I would go back.

Room Tip: Book in advance for great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,335
    709
    265
    97
    55
See reviews for
668
1,090
72
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here with me friend and son over the midterm break for one night. We were visiting friends in Galway. First impressions were excellent-room at front of hotel overlooking grounds and sea view. Huge room with television with a welcome message for me on it! Bed was King size, you could have fit 4 of us in it! bathroom also huge with a bath and a shower! We were so happy with our room. The hotels staff are so friendly, especially at breakfast, chatting away to my son and constantly asking if we needed anything else. Swimming pools (baby pool, lane swimming and also kids pool) were amazing, with jacuzzi and sauna! balls were provided for kids to play with! We didn't use gym but it looked very well equipped! The hotel is in a great location, a short distance to the town and cafes and restaurants. We drank in the bar on the night we stayed and drinks were usual Irish prices. Overall I cant say anything bad about the hotel and would definitely return, maybe in summertime when we can use the beach!

Room Tip: at the front of the hotel for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliryan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here at the end of October , what a fantastic venue , Pauline and fiona ensured that everything we requested was seen to and done to the highest standard. The food was fantastic ! All the guests were complimenting the hotel and staff on how lovely it was and how good there stay was also!!! Our number of guests were quiet high 300+ and there was no delay in the food been served or no shortage on seconds!! I cannot recommend this hotel enough !!

Nuala & Noel Sweeney

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nualasweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at the Salthill hotel with my husband and two teenage daughters. We had a great time. Hotel is very comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. rooms were very comfortable. bar was very relaxing. Swimming pool and gym were both very good and well equipped. Only disappointment was the taste off the water. I decided to have a cup of tea in the bedroom and there was a dreadful taste from the water. the location of the hotel is perfect. Its very central and a lovely walk into the city centre. The breakfast was o.k. a little over cooked and not very hot. On the second morning I ordered poached eggs and they were lovely. Kids loved the buffet breakfast. This was our 4th stay at this hotel and we will be back for next mid term break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 210713am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Salthill is called that for a very good reason, the water is very very soft which makes it taste salty. This would be tolerable IF the hotel provided free bottles water. But it doesn't and there is no bar fridge.
The rooms at the front of the hotel are more updated with power points etc then the ones on the side.
The bath has one of those metal plugs permanently fitted. The bath was filling whilst having a shower. I removed the plug to find a huge hair plug, god knows when that was cleaned last, revolting!
The staff are friendly and do their best to help where they can. But you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear. Hotel needs a refurb.
Breakfast is disappointing and the bfast restaurant is very loud, it feels like every sound is amplified. Chairs saggy and has a cafeteria type feel to it.
This hotel has potential to be decent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MCLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September and had a very enjoyable 3days . Service and food were terrific .The staff were so friendly ,in particular Reception staff .hotel is very convenient to Galway City as bus stop outside the hotel .The prom is across the road where you can walk ,jog or people watch .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in October and was very impressed overall. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel is very family friendly also. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean, and the bathrooms are quite impressive with a large shower and a separate bath tub. Views of the beach in Salthill from the room was also lovely. Very nice leisure centre with a family pool separate to a training pool with lanes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMON89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,048 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,681 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,884 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing