We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone,
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful hotel, fab large air conditioned bedroom with very modern bathroom and a great breakfast! We stayed here yesterday for one night and could not fault the place, we got a massive room on the 3rd floor with a sea view and breakfast this morning was very tasty. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moneypenny085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    716
    266
    97
    55
See reviews for
673
1,094
72
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on 3 seperate occasions, it's always clean and breakfast buffet is amazing, the staff at reception could be a little friendlier but not rude at all!! My sister went to see the wedding coordinator and found her very off putting and not friendly at all!! But overall I love this hotel...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 575bitten575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was traveling with 6 people so the room was nice but odd. We got two triple rooms--kind of confusing. It was one room with three separate rooms within it. So, you walked in and there was a bathroom with a queen bed, then you go right and another room with two twin beds and then another room with a twin bed. All the doors closed for privacy but had to go through someone's bedroom rooms to get to the bathroom. One room could have easily slept 5… Other than that--super comfy beds, clean. Right across from the beach which is stunning. Our room had no view. No restaurants within walking distance. We ate at the hotel. Odd layout. I loved being across the street from the beach. Staff was kind of snooty and rude. Not very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megatalkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel has a good location in Galway but still it is not worth the money one pays to stay here.

The rooms need to be upgraded to be worth paying 120 pounds a nite. The sea view rooms are large but they look very ordinary in terms of design and utility ....a 2 star Hotel in Dubai would score better on this attribute.

When you ask for a king bed they join two sgl beds and give you as a double bed & can you imagine this Hotel room does not have a In room safe ??????

The front desk staff are not trained to be customer centric and they don't seem to care a damn about service.


The hotel forever looks busy & seems always short of staff be it the Bar,restaurant ,rooms service. The housekeeping was the only place which seemed to be doing a good job.

The food is tasty but never comes hot and on time be it in the Bar or room.

I think this is a badly managed hotel where the owner needs to realise that Salthill is on the down hill unless he does something about it otherwise this Hotel will be closed in few years !!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Galway Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Satish N,

Thank you for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

Needless to say I am disappointed to read your comments about your stay. We have undergone an extensive renovation programme over the past number of years and we are due to complete the work by December 2014 and to this end you will see a vast improvement in the design and decor of our rooms.

Concerning your issues regarding the general operations of the hotel, I can assure you I have addressed your concerns regarding the level of service and committment from our staff.

I hope that you will afford us the opportunity to stay at the Salthill Hotel in the near future where I am sure your experience will be more favourable.

Best Regards,
Fiona K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Donegal
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Enjoyed this hotel as the leisure centre is fabulous ,rooms are a good size and lovely view of Salthill from window,the only fault i had was with the water in the room which i made tea from not good tasted of salt so bought a large bottle of water to use.Breakfast is very good buffet style with good selection of cheese and mini pastries and fresh homemade brown bread and the tea here was fine,

Room Tip: Bring your own water for drinking and making tea or coffee and get a front room facing the Promande...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Caroline M,

Many thanks for the positive review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Unfortunately we did have a slight issue with salty water, however we have addressed the problem and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My husband, our 9 month and i stayed at the salthill hotel in October and i have to say it was a holiday to remember! Firstly the location was great. The staff were lovely, the food was fabulous and even though the rooms were a little too warm they were lovely too. The leisure centre was really lovely too! If you have a small child the hotel is very child friendly and the staff couldnt be more helpful! I know that this review seems too good to be true but honestly i couldnt fault the hotel. This hotel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murph91010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Murph 91010,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Both my colleagues and I found your kind words extremely encouraging, they speak for themselves really. Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel with my partner and our 2 children. The hotel lobby is really welcoming but I cant say the same for the lady that attended to us at reception.She was very rude and it seemed she was in a rush to go somewhere. After we left our bags in the room, we decided to go down to the bar to get something to eat. It was quite busy but the young girl I think her name was Grainne, a small black hair girl came to us quickly wit menus. She was very welcoming,had a lovely smile on her face and found the time to talk to us about things to do in Galway even though the poor thing was on her own on the floor and had a lot of people to serve. Our food was taking a while to come as she already explained to us before we ordered which was ok but our children was getting a bit agitated . She came back with paper and colouring pencils and even a couple of small toys to keep our children entertained for a while longer. I thought this was very sweet of her. She really did provide an amazing service that was way beyond our expecations. During our stay here most of the staff were really nice but the breakfast staff and reception staff do need to brush up on their people skills as we did find them to be quite rude.Overall we would come back as the hotel is an excellent place for families as it has a huge leisure centre and is just across the road from the beach and 10 mins to Salthilll village.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Lara C,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

We pride ourselves on offering superb customer service, therefore it does not surprise me that Grainne stood out with her friendliness and attention to detail.

I am dissappointed with your comments regarding our reception and breakfast staff and I apologise that we fell short on our customer care at the front line.

I am working through the issues you experienced and I I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,058 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,888 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
328 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing