We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why do big Hotels have staff who couldn't care less”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Perpignan, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why do big Hotels have staff who couldn't care less”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for two days,and to be fair we started off on the wrong footing because it was pouring with rain and the only car parking space we could find was inches deep in water and over seventy yards from the hotel entrance .When we arrived the welcome was very flat which was a let down since the hotel looked very smart from outside.The first night we ate in the bar and it was this meal that persuaded us not to eat in the hotel the following evening.We had a Bookmakers steak sandwich which had probably been liberated from the sole of the bookmakers shoe.The overall ambiance was not helped by the giant screen T.V, which was showing a darts competition while we ate.The following day we left the hotel at 9.30am for a day long trip to Clifden,arriving back at 4.40pm,only to find that no effort had been made to service the room!Eventually we did get new towels and the bathroom had a cursary wipe over,but no attempt was ever made to remake the beds.When we left the following morning at9.00am we asked to speak to the duty manager to tell him of our problems,but we were told nobody was on duty at that time.It probably explains why the hotel is so badly staffed and run

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincelegrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Vincelegrau,

Thank you for taking the time to review Salthill Hotel and I regret that we did not meet your expectations.

I would be very grateful if you would personally contact me at your earliest convenience as I would like to know the exact dates of your stay so that I can follow your issues up in a more specific way.

At Salthill Hotel we pride ourselves on customer care and service of the highest standard and your experience was far from that which we aim to deliver to our guests.

My email address is fionakillilea@salthillhotel.com

Thank you,
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    723
    269
    99
    55
See reviews for
692
1,106
72
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killorglin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Good spacious rooms, which were clean and comfortable.
Huge lounge area, with a good buzz.
Bar food was good but breakfast in restaurant was over cooked and cold.
Guinness in bar was flat and badly poured .
Pity really as a better management would help to improve all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieoReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Willie O Reilly,

Thank you for taking the time to review Salthill Hotel and I regret that we did not meet your expectations at Breakfast nor indeed when you wished to enjoy a pint of Guinness, however thank you for your positive comments in relation to our location, rooms and cleanliness of the hotel.

Please be assured that all your comments have been taken on board and highlighted with the relevant departments.

Your feedback is very important to us and it is through this feedback that we can improve the services we provide.

I know we can and will meet and exceed your future expectations and just hope you give us the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were doing an independent CIE tour of Ireland and at the last minute they substituted the Salthill Hotel instead of the Gayway Bay Hotel. We were not happy, as the Galway Bay Hotel had a higher TripAdvisor rating.

We stayed two night mid October 2013. We ranked it at the bottom of our hotel stays. No safe, no complimentary bathrobe or slippers, no ice bucket - had to go to the bar downstairs to get ice. No in room iron or ironing board or pants press. Bathroom has a shower door - made floor wet and slippery. I used the hairdryer and the hose was filthy. This hotel had the worst tasting water of our whole 11 day trip.

Positives: great bay breezes from window that opened, 2 bottles of still water (actually that was for 2 day stay - so a possible negative since the water tasted so nasty) They did post the local weather on board down near the reception desk.

Basically this hotel seemed to skimp on amenities.

First the positives:
1) Nice king room with partial view of Galway Bay.
2) Window opened and we got a wonderful breeze.
3) Bathroom had washcolths + a defogged mirror.

Then the negatives:
1) The worst tasting water of our whole trip.
2) Half shower door - resulting in a wet, slippery floor.
3) No safe
4) Noice bucket.
5) No iron, board or pants press.
6) Hairdryer hose was filthy.
7) No complimentary bathrobe or slippers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Magic Carpets,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

Needless to say I was disappointed to read your comments about your stay and clearly your experience of staying with us was not to your liking.

I can only hope that you will be so kind as to contact me directly either by phone or by email fionakillilea@salthillhotel.com so I can follow up in a more specific way and perhaps persuade you if returning to Ireland to stay with us so as we can restore your faith in the Salthill hotel experience.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

stayed here last week for one night stayed here previously and again it did not dissapoint had booked a standard double room but the very nice receptionist upgraded us to a superior room free of charge and we were very pleased wiyh the room very spacious with a seperate bath and shower and a lovely view looking out to sea the food was also very good as were the staff highly recommend

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen19689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Stehen 19689,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted our receptionist was so helpful and courteous and that our staff in general are attentive. It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback regarding our food also.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over night with my other half, really enjoyed our stay. Clean hotel, clean room, comfy bed & friendly staff, what more could you ask for. The night porter had us laughing the minute we arrived, really nice guy. Will der return to this hotel in the near future

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahHMoran87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Sarah H,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Salthill Hotel and thank you for a wonderful review. It was such a pleasure to read that you had a fabulous time and that our rooms and service was excellent.
To know that our team made you feel truly special is indeed wonderful.
We hope that you can visit us again soon and thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

just home from a 3 day stay at this hotel, it was excellent.
Friendly staff, fantastic food. Spacious rooms. Very modern. Lovely leisure facilities. Underground parking too. All round brilliant hotel, cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Perfect for couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing