We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great service and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salthill Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night, dinner, B&B break at this hotel. We were greeted very warmly on arrival and the check-in by Aine was professional and warm at the same time. We stayed in room 411 and it really was spectacular - beautifully prepared, spotless and really cozy - fluffy towels, lots of toiletries and coffee and with the most wonderful view of Galway Bay imaginable.
Lunch in the bar was a real treat - toasted sandwiches, chips and two pints all for €21 ...and served by welcoming, smiling staff who had time for everyone and were a mine of information re what to see in the area, history of the area etc.
Dinner was included in our package and really was "top notch" - 3 courses + tea/coffee, beautifully prepared and presented and was easily high-class restaurant standard...Jamie really looked after us each night and it was a pleasure to have a waiter who was professional and friendly at the same time.Breakfast was equally friendly/ efficient and the selection was hot/ tasty and plentiful.
Reception staff were available at all times to answer questions etc and we never passed the desk with being greeted by a cheery "How are you"? Much appreciated by both of us.
The leisure/ spa is really spectacular and very welcoming also.
Our thanks to the wonderful "crew" - we will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Just ask at check-in if there is a good room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Carolmac58,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Salthill hotel on Trip Advisor following your stay with us, it was a pleasure to read.

We are delighted that we managed to impress you so much and thank you for your comments on how clean our rooms are and that our food and service in all outlets were of a high class standard.

I shall also pass your lovely comments to both Aine and Jamie, they will be so pleased.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    659
    243
    92
    52
See reviews for
601
1,020
63
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived for light lunch last Monday January 20th at 2.15pm. The bar was quiet with around 8 tables occupied. There was 2 trays from the bar on one of the seats we went to sit down on. We waited over 15 minutes for our order to be taken, even after asking one of the staff to take our order, which she replied, I will be with you in a minute. After ordering the food it took another 45 minutes to arrive (soup, Caesar salad and toasted sandwich) and when it did it was only luke warm. A lady sitting near us who had also ordered a sandwich came over to us to ask was our food ok, as her sandwich was also only luke warm. She said she regularly eats there but standard has gone down considerably. Eventually manager came over to apologise, but that was all. It might have been an idea to say, we will not charge you for the food that was poor.

I have stayed in hotel on many occasions and I would note that a number of staff at reception and in the bar need to prioritise customer relations, and realise that the guests pay their salaries. Without guests there would be no hotel. I will not be staying or dining at this hotel again, mainly because of service and lack of concern when also staying during Galway races in 2013. There was constant noise and loud music coming from the bar till 2am most days. We tried to order food one evening at 9.15 and told kitchen was closed. Staff just said sorry it's not our problem, because it's race week. While many good reviews have been written and rooms with sea view are pleasant and spacious, could I offer a suggestion that staff frequently reminded and trained in good customer relations. Thank you for reading this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Bp M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Salthill hotel.

I am bitterly disappointed to read your recent review and want to start by apologising for failing to deliver the high standards of service we set for ourselves and clearly failing to meet your expectations.

I hope you will accept my personal assurance that your experience is not indicative of the high service levels we strive to and do achieve so consistently (as can be attested from the many positive comments we receive) and I can assure you that we will use your feedback to close these gaps in our service as a matter of the utmost priority.

Unfortunately, I cannot comment regarding your stay at the Galway Races as I was not part of the Management Team at the time, however, I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly as I would love to meet with you in person to discuss the issues as I know we can and will meet and exceed your future expectations and just hope you give us the opportunity to do so.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and i just stayed here for New Years and had a ball we will be back soon! Staff are excellent they could not have done more. and hotel itself is stunning, food was great and booking service very efficient,

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eoin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Eoin C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Salthill hotel. I am delighted that you had an unforgettable stay with us and that our staff was very accommodating to your needs.
The Team here at Salthill endeavour to provide each of our guests with a wonderful stay and I am really delighted that you had such a good time. The will be thrilled to read your review and thank you for all your kind words.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked the hotel through hotel.com and stayed for one night on Friday 17 January. Cost was €71. We availed of the underground car-park which is handy for avoiding the rainy Galway weather. Check in was efficient and quick. Our request for a quiet spacious room was honoured. The hotel is large and rambling but at that price we weren't complaining. Breakfast offered a good variety. The only complaint I would have are those awful "snake-like hose" hairdryers, They are useless. We ate in the bar when we arrived, It was not very adventurous, the usual burger and chips, lasagne, seafood pie, steak and chips. Could have offered up more fresh ingredients. Overall though we were really impressed

Room Tip: Room 320 has a sea and car-park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear happy186605,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Salthill hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
I am currently reviewing the bar food menu and the new menu will be in situ over the coming weeks.
We are also updating many of our rooms and the hairdryers are on the list.

Thank you again for your review and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We attended my sons wedding at this hotel in late december and enjoyed the whole atmosphere of the hotel immensely. From the first moment we arrived in the hotel we were made to feel very welcome. The wedding room and meal were excellent. Some of our guests had problems with bedroom noise but this was dealt with promptly and efficiently by the staff. We found the banquet manager very helpful and corteous to all our guests and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other people planning a wedding or family celebration. This was in fact our second visit to this hotel for similar family occasion.,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Macker36,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your son's wedding at the Salthill Hotel and thank you for a wonderful review.
It was such a pleasure to read that you had a fabulous time and that the service and atmosphere was excellent.
To know that our team made you feel truly special is indeed wonderful.
We know how important these moments are for our guests and will always do our very best to make these occasions and celebrations as memorable and special as possible. I am also thrilled that the staff were so practive in dealing with the noise issue to some of your guests bedrooms.

We hope that you can visit us again soon and thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Back again to this oasis in Galway. Great value offer, we could not turn down. Usual warm welcome from Hazel in Reception. Room had no view this time but we were tired so settled in. Very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Staff remembered us and this friendly tone continued into the dinning room where our delightful waitress Iwana from Poland and chef Paddy from Kilkenny were very chatty. People make a place!! Dinner was great value and very tasty. Even my "bug bear" of the price of the "lowly" pint could not be faulted in this hotel - Dublin hotels take note!
looking forward to another break in Galway soon.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not overlook the inner "garden"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear RetireeOldcastle,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Salthill hotel. It is wonderful that our staff made such a warm impression on you and you are quite correct the people make the place!!

I have shared your kind words to Hazel, Paddy and Ivona, they were thrilled.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here on the 17th December 2013 for one night and it was amazing . The bar food was lovely and not too dear and the bar man was one of the funniest and nicest I have yet to meet I was sorry I did'nt get his name and then I could have gave him a special mention . The beds in this hotel are really something ellse, they are sooooooo comfortable and the sheets have a lovely perfume off of them a really great hotel and I hope to be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Irene C,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Salthill hotel and thank you for a wonderful review.

It was such a pleasure to read that you had a fabulous time and that our service was excellent together with a witty barman.

We hope that you visit us again soon and thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.9 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing