We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and personal service for weddings”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I attended a wedding on 19 June 2014 at the Salthill Hotel as a guest and was very impressed. People were pleased with the wedding package (e.g. the sparkling wine in the reception before the meal, the canapes etc.), but what impressed me was the graciousness of the service during the very tasty meal. I was not feeling well and declined the dessert. The staff (I remember Ann and Jackie, in particular) offered ice cream and fruit salad as an alternative, without even a hint from me. I know too that the staff prepared some toast for a baby who was at the meal. The wedding was admittedly a small one, and I realise that it might not have been possible for the staff to have been so helpful if the numbers had been large. But it was appreciated and made a difference. The DJ that evening, Aidan Kenny, was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnOP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,003 - 2,009 of 2,816 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Can't beat the view and being just across the street from the Promenade, a mile plus walkway along the bay,which includes some inspiring views and historical reminders of the famine and the exodus of Ireland's people. Its a more contemporary hotel with delightful concierge service and substantial breakfast. The bar is always busy with a lot of local folks, particularly Sunday night dancing. And the pillows are among the more cushy we found in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattyWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Such a shame! Potentially a beautiful property, with beautiful views, that is run as a cheap wedding mill and hub for bus tours. Staff is overworked and slow to serve. Chambermaids are terrible, probably because they are cleaning 20 rooms a day. Wedding receptions are held by the elevators…awkward! The gym is great--that and the view are the only redeeming features. Clearly, the owner is desperate to pay off his debt at the expense of employes and guests. We've been here before--but will never go back again.

Room Tip: get a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kevin69487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for your review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us. Needless to say I was disappointed to read your comments.

I am at a loss as to what your actual grievance is, I spoke to you on many occassions during your lenghty stay and in fact you wanted to extend your stay. Unfortunately I could not accommodate your request as the hotel was full.

Galway is a vibrant popular city and we along with the many other hotels are enjoying what is regarded as high season.

Salthill hotel has wonderful views overlooking the Promenade, this coupled with superb food and service has made the hotel a very popular venue for weddings for which we are extremely grateful.

I hope you will accept my personal assurance that your experience is not indicative of the high service levels we strive to and do achieve so consistently as can be attested from the many positive comments we receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

myself and my husband went to stay at the Salthill Hotel last weekend. The hotel is amazing, our room was very spacious with all amenities you would need/expect (tea/coffee making, hairdryer, free toiletries etc. the room, as the hotel, is spotless. We booked an evening meal. now normally we stay away from hotel food as i am not usually a fan, but as this was in the package we booked we decided to give it a go and boy were we glad we did. the food was amazing, it was high class restaurant class. the staff were super attentive and everything was delicious. The breakfast the following morning again exceeded all expectations. it was a buffet style with every possible option you would want. i could not fault the hotel in any way. All staff we encountered were very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be working! i have been recommending this hotel to everyone. i cant wait to return again, it will definitely be our place to go for a weekend away. Mary Kennedy

Room Tip: we were in room 308 and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Mary k,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Salthill hotel.

I am delighted that you had an unforgettable stay with us and that our staff was very accommodating to your needs. It was our pleasure to have you with us and I have passed your fabulous comments to the team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed the views of the bay from our hotel room. The room and bath were clean, roomy and comfortable. The Wi-Fi was good but not great. We were limited in the number of devices we could have active without paying for time.

Food was excellent - desert a special treat! There are a lot of weddings and receptions here, so be mindful of that on the weekends.

Nice location to start out for walks along the bay - downtown is probably 20 - 30 minutes walk.

the pool and spa is open to the public - be mindful of that when you use the facilities, that are nice.

Room Tip: Stay during the week to avoid the weddings! Ask for a room with a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonmickey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A spur of the moment trip to Galway (we were going to Kilkenny) on what proved to be one of the best weekends weather wise so far this year. We had not booked anything and arriving in Galway tried a few city centre hotels but all were fully booked so tried this hotel in Salthill and were accommodated in one of the newer rooms which was quite nice and very comfortable. All the necessary toiletries on hand and a separate shower. Breakfast provided a good array of cereals, fruits, full irish and breads. There is a very good gym and pool onsite with good opening hours. we decided to stay a second night and were accommodated in one of the older rooms, not as comfortable with a small bathroom but still adequate for a short stay. We had bar food on our first evening in the hotel which was presented quickly. Bar food is bar food so nothing too elaborate. The restaurant menu seemed very appetising with some great sounding fayre, however we did not dine there. Overall the hotel is clean and staff are friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NariekYelworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel, right on the beach at Galway Bay is a trendy hotel with quiet rooms and good food. Our room had a view right on the bay and we enjoyed being able to watch over Galway Bay all evening! The room was quiet, even with much activity in the hotel, it was peaceful with a comfortable bed and lots of pillows. The bath was large with the coolest hair dryer ever!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,518 reviews
2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
2.6 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Address: | Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £53 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing