We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salthill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,935)
Filter reviews
2,935 results
Traveller rating
1,633
821
307
110
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,633
821
307
110
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprom restaurantsea viewgreat hotelleisure centregalway baybar foodgreat facilitieswedding receptionsalt hillwould highly recommend this hotelboth nightsenjoyable staylovely roomhotel bartop classa lovely stayfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
2,114 - 2,119 of 2,935 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice late 2013. Once for pleasure and then again for a wedding.

Could not fault the hotel either time.

Food was great, especially the steak in the restaurant which was cooked to perfection and just looked mouth watering.

View of Galway bay from the room was beautiful the next morning. And the room itself was spacious, modern and clean. ( the comment card on the table was left filled in by the previous guest, that didn't bother us, and from what they said they enjoyed it as much as we did).

Special mention for Damian who was on duty both times we stayed and helped make our stay all the more enjoyable.

Would definitely return and I have not seen a better place in Galway for a wedding, they know exactly what they are doing here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thatsjustmyopinion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I attended a wedding on 19 June 2014 at the Salthill Hotel as a guest and was very impressed. People were pleased with the wedding package (e.g. the sparkling wine in the reception before the meal, the canapes etc.), but what impressed me was the graciousness of the service during the very tasty meal. I was not feeling well and declined the dessert. The staff (I remember Ann and Jackie, in particular) offered ice cream and fruit salad as an alternative, without even a hint from me. I know too that the staff prepared some toast for a baby who was at the meal. The wedding was admittedly a small one, and I realise that it might not have been possible for the staff to have been so helpful if the numbers had been large. But it was appreciated and made a difference. The DJ that evening, Aidan Kenny, was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnOP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Can't beat the view and being just across the street from the Promenade, a mile plus walkway along the bay,which includes some inspiring views and historical reminders of the famine and the exodus of Ireland's people. Its a more contemporary hotel with delightful concierge service and substantial breakfast. The bar is always busy with a lot of local folks, particularly Sunday night dancing. And the pillows are among the more cushy we found in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattyWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Such a shame! Potentially a beautiful property, with beautiful views, that is run as a cheap wedding mill and hub for bus tours. Staff is overworked and slow to serve. Chambermaids are terrible, probably because they are cleaning 20 rooms a day. Wedding receptions are held by the elevators…awkward! The gym is great--that and the view are the only redeeming features. Clearly, the owner is desperate to pay off his debt at the expense of employes and guests. We've been here before--but will never go back again.

Room Tip: get a seaside room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kevin69487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for your review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us. Needless to say I was disappointed to read your comments.

I am at a loss as to what your actual grievance is, I spoke to you on many occassions during your lenghty stay and in fact you wanted to extend your stay. Unfortunately I could not accommodate your request as the hotel was full.

Galway is a vibrant popular city and we along with the many other hotels are enjoying what is regarded as high season.

Salthill hotel has wonderful views overlooking the Promenade, this coupled with superb food and service has made the hotel a very popular venue for weddings for which we are extremely grateful.

I hope you will accept my personal assurance that your experience is not indicative of the high service levels we strive to and do achieve so consistently as can be attested from the many positive comments we receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

myself and my husband went to stay at the Salthill Hotel last weekend. The hotel is amazing, our room was very spacious with all amenities you would need/expect (tea/coffee making, hairdryer, free toiletries etc. the room, as the hotel, is spotless. We booked an evening meal. now normally we stay away from hotel food as i am not usually a fan, but as this was in the package we booked we decided to give it a go and boy were we glad we did. the food was amazing, it was high class restaurant class. the staff were super attentive and everything was delicious. The breakfast the following morning again exceeded all expectations. it was a buffet style with every possible option you would want. i could not fault the hotel in any way. All staff we encountered were very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be working! i have been recommending this hotel to everyone. i cant wait to return again, it will definitely be our place to go for a weekend away. Mary Kennedy

Room Tip: we were in room 308 and had a lovely view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Mary k,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Salthill hotel.

I am delighted that you had an unforgettable stay with us and that our staff was very accommodating to your needs. It was our pleasure to have you with us and I have passed your fabulous comments to the team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews