We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salthill hotel”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Dropped in here for lunch. The views are just breathtaking from the bar. Staff very friendly. Food was lovely, would definitely recommend to anyone to drop in. Fabulous hotel inside and out. Can't fault.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nora.G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,897 - 1,903 of 2,733 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of July for a wedding. The hotel has some nice things going for it. The room we had was very well maintained and extremely comfortable. It was modern & well furnished. A couple of things were still problematic. A lamp light was strobing when we arrived, I informed reception & was told it would be fixed that day or tomorrow morning. It never was. Also there was some sort of water collecting & then dripping consistently outside our window long after it had been raining. This was particularly annoying at night.

Breakfast was pretty good & service was good.

After settling into our room, we went down to the bar to have a drink. The barman who served us immediately started using inappropriate language that contained two four letter expletives in reference to the world cup that was being shown on their big screen. I didn't want to make a big deal out of it as I was with the groom of the wedding I was attending & didn't feel comfortable complaining in his company.

The following day I ate in the evening at the Hotel Bar. The food was appalling & overpriced. The price was similar to what you would see in the Shelbourne Hotel Bar in Dublin, except without the ambience, service or quality. I had a spring roll that was no doubt frozen & burger that was bland & overcooked.

The wedding itself was pretty well done. The room was setup nicely but again the food let the venue down. I understand that food at weddings can be often poor & this was no different. The meat was overcooked & the vegetables most notably the cauliflower would have been more suitable to being used as child's bouncy ball. On arrival & during the wedding reception a large screen had projected a welcome message to the wedding couple. This is standard except for the fact that an antivirus renewal message came up on screen for about two hours during the reception. This would have been completely unacceptable if I was the groom.

The Hotel has great potential & beautiful views with easy access to Galway City Centre & Connemara but is not quite on the money when it comes to overall professional standards. Even the main toilets accessed from the lobby hall had graffiti on the back of a mens cubicle. This was not cleaned for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel midweek for 2 nights at the start of July. We had a lovely room with a fantastic sea view and very large comfortable bed.
There was a very good selection of food for breakfast and eventhough it was very busy at 9.30am, service was still very good.
The bar is also worth a visit for food, very good menu and well priced.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, a special mention to the bar staff who were very informed of my husbands needs as he is a coeliac and very helpful in recommending coeliac options.
Location is fantastic as it is right on the promenade.
Will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R0ses123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Salthill hotel is located right on the promenade and has plenty of parking spaces. The lobby creates a great first impression and the staff are very friendly. Our room was located on the second floor and was more than ample for myself, my wife and our son. The room was well equipped and the air conditioning was excellent, especially as the weather was seasonably warm. The bar food is very good although the bar does get very busy and on occasions finding a seat can be difficult. The hotel is very “child friendly” though some may find this a down side if they are looking for a peaceful and relaxing time. The hotel is situated a good 30 minute walk from Galway City but taxis and public transport are available. Great Swimming pool and Fitness centre in the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When I checked in I was very impressed by the lobby and the surroundings. I looked forward to the stay and was quite excited....until I exited the lift. The hallway was musty and the room was very hot. Granted, it was unusually warm in Galway, but the musty smell and stuffiness of the hotel made a warm day even worse.

As seasoned travelers, we are well versed at the need for power converters. yet, for some reason, the power in the hotel seemed not up to speed. Items that had worked at every other hotel seemed to not get enough "juice" at the Salthill. Travel iron would light up but not heat up. A curling iron had the same issue. No hair dryer in the room and had to ask for a fan because of how hot the room was. Traveled to another hotel the next evening and everything worked just fine. Hotel just seems to have an electrical issue.

All in all, my enthusiasm for what could have been was tempered by the reality of what the hotel could really offer.

Room Tip: Maybe try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WonderlustTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Love this hotel. The rooms are lovely and spacious, nice and bright too. The hotel is situated facing the beautiful Galway bay. The bar and outside seating are perfect to enjoy the view. The food was delicious and not too expensive . The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was fab in every way, food, service and setting. Unfortunately the wifi wasn't working .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cathireland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed overnight at this brilliant hotel. The rooms are fantastic. (Maybe a bar fridge would add a bit) We found the staff friendly and efficient, the Cappucino's excellent. Highly recommend the great breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seamus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,107 reviews
2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £62 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing