We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but very loud and expensive”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

It's an expensive hotel, rooms are nice but need sound proofing! There was a wedding on and the fire alarm went off twice and people very loud on the corridors!! Rang reception but they weren't too bothered about it!
Location is great tho! Free parking! And staff at reception during the day were very friendly and helpfulness

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,930 - 1,936 of 2,777 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for the second time. Rooms are very large, quiet and clean and ours had seaview. Location is great on Salthill Promenade which is a 20 min walk from the city center. Staff is friendly and breakfast was buffet style. Very recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank dublinherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Easy parking below the hotel.
Nice spa facilities.
Friendly staff.
Great location to enjoy the prom.
Nice food at breakfast.
There were notices in the spa/pool area to wear overshoe protectors - no-one does.
I wrote my name in the dust on the bedroom furniture. Didn't bother complaining only there one night and don't expect to waste precious time reporting basic cleaning issues.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tab_toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Salthill hotel in a family room which for the money was a bit of a let down.. The roman blinds had damp patches which is off putting and the view was nothing only roof tops couldn't really open windows very well... There was a wedding party in the hotel when we arrived which was right in middle of reception area ..we felt so awkward walking in and out with luggage and kids ..
I really feel nowadays there should be a family room in leisure centres as my son wasn't allowed come to change in ladies changing rooms as he is over 8 years old.. This was a bit upsetting for all as he did not want to go on his own to the mens..and neither did I...
Very expensive for our one night which was disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Elaine R,
Thank you for taking the time to write following your recent stay at Salthill Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay with us. Salthill Hotel would be renowned as being one of Galway’s Premier Wedding destinations and as the guests arrive via the main hotel reception it can sometimes temporarily make for a busy lobby. I have passed your comments regarding your suggestion for family changing rooms onto our Fitness Centre Manager for his consideration.
I hope that we make get the opportunity to welcome you & your family back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Fiona Killilea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in a sea view room and sitting looking out over the bay was spectacular. Our break included breakfast and dinner on one night and that meal was really good quality and the restaurant staff very friendly. We were traveling around Ireland and this was one of the best breakfasts we had with good quality ingredients. Although travelling by car we chose to catch a bus from the bus stop directly outside the hotel which took us straight into the city centre and the return journey was less than 4 Euro. The room was large and had everything we needed such as Tea Coffee an ironing board and a good powerful shower as well as a separate bath, A lovely hotel and we will definitely visit again if we can.

Room Tip: Sea view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

First the positives:
The staff are very courteous and helpful
The breakfast was delicious with fresh ingredients and a variety of food to choose from
The negatives:
It was hard to find, not at all well signposted
We paid E458 for two nights for a double room which was on the small side and with virtually no natural light. It was like a cave!
The bar food was execrable but we were there during Galway race week; a member of staff told us anything goes culinary-wise at this time of year.
Prices for food & drink were excessive. Taxis to and from the city centre cost over E30 a time

I found the locals uncouth to put it politely!! But that's not the hotel's fault.
I won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nifhionnlaoich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fkillilea, General Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Nifhionnlaoich,
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay with us. We do offer a variety of great value packages and rates throughout the year at the hotel. As many hotels would do our prices would be seasonal which would affect the rate. I would recommend our own website to avail of our very best offers.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Fiona Killilea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but I stayed in the salthill hotel and I have to comment on the outstanding view from the Blackrock bar it was a beautiful day and just sitting at the bar looking out on to the bay it has the most spectacular view of Clare! The bar it self is really well finished the staff are very helpful. I checked in with a girl called rachel she was really busy but still took the time to recommend the bar and prom restaurant. There was a wedding arriving, it was crowded but a nice atmosphere. The room had a beautiful sea view, clean and very comfortable. Flat screen TV for the football! As we were here for two nights we decided to go to the bar for one night have few drinks and some food. We sat at a table ordered from the menu. Both had the seafood special, fresh cod deep fried in a beer batter. Had a small problem with the chips a little over cooked, pointed it out to the manager, as he asked, was everything ok with our meal, he seemed to asked every table as he passed with a nice smile, I thought this was a nice touch excellent customer service, James was his name, he apologise and brought us fresh chips with in minutes, but the fish was really good. The same manager was behind the bar for the best part of the evening/night.You don't see that much, the suits in some hotels walk around the place!! After our meal we moved to the bar counter to have a few drinks. Spoke with the manager a few times and other staff they recommend things for us to do in galway and places to go out as we were heading into the city on Saturday night. Did not get up for breakfast so can't comment but I am sure it's nice! We had a late lunch in the bar Saturday, thai green curry and chicken stir fry noodles both excellent. Served by the same manager do ye ever go home!! Also your leisure centre is excellent. Check out by a different receptionist friendly and ask how was our stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paul92o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,454 reviews
2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,912 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Address: | Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £52 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing