We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£108
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Expedia.com
£109
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
£97
Fully refundable before Tue, 5 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,206)
Filter reviews
4,206 results
Traveller rating
2,277
1,077
464
208
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,277
1,077
464
208
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prom restaurant sea view lovely hotel leisure centre galway bay bar food salt hill would highly recommend this hotel bus stop top class both nights enjoyable stay food was lovely hotel bar family room a lovely stay salthill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,444 - 2,449 of 4,206 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Located on the beach and walkway, this hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, and pubs. Easy to take a cab to town center for more shopping and eating options. Room was comfy. View was great, but only if you were standing in the window. No balcony, and barrier wall up as far as the window sill. Still, a great stay. Housekeeping was good, but bags of dirty laundry and room service trays left in hallway till end of shift is a bit tacky. But that was minor.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elsiesmom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed in the Salthil Hotel for 1 night B+B and 1 evening meal in mid-august (2016). It was a last minute booking during what was still high season in Galway, so it wasn’t a bargain-basement deal by any means, but considering that Galway was still very busy at the time, we weren’t surprised. I have to say that we really enjoyed our short stay and would have loved to have stayed longer. The hotel is situated on the Salthill seafront, with the promenade and beach just across the road. A few minutes eastward and you’re in the centre of Galway City, but also you are on the edge of Connemara and its great coastal scenery if that’s what you’d prefer.

About the hotel, it has to be said that the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. This was the case throughout the hotel, particularly so at reception on our arrival and in the bar/lounge.

The room was modern, clean, well laid out and very comfortable. We couldn’t fault it. The bathroom was also spacious with twin wash basins. A really nice feature for couples! It also had a walk-in shower. I mention this because it’s surprising how many hotels expect you to stand up in the bath to have a shower!

The hotel is relatively new and modern, without being ‘cold’ and devoid of atmosphere as many of the newer hotels can be. It is really nicely decorated and laid out with spacious and comfortable seating areas in the lobby and in the main bar/lounge. Although the lounge is very big, sight lines are broken by using high tables and tall plants to separate the lower seating areas from the bar. There are also comfortable leather sofas around the outside of the space to sink into and enjoy a coffee or a beer. Outside the lounge, facing the sea, there is a very nice veranda seating area if the weather is good enough to allow you to sit out. All-in-all it was a most comfortable place to relax, to have a drink and to talk.

If there is to be a negative comment I’m afraid that it has to be about the restaurant. To be honest we felt that the meal was just ordinary at best. Also there were very long delays (we thought) between courses, even though the restaurant wasn’t all that busy. There were a good number of empty tables around us. At times we wondered if we’d been forgotten about.

It’s worth noting that as well as the surface car park, the hotel also sports an underground car park. This is actually a very handy feature if it happens to be raining outside.

Altogether this hotel is high on our list and we would plan to go back.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EandB_HappyOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Really good value for what I paid for a last minute booking. Great location looking over the sea big walk to city centre but not far in a taxi. Disappointing only a few spare rooms and you pay extra for them most rooms have little view But - they spacious some with multiple beds, really comfortable, high standards quiet rooms with quality tv and all the usual you would expect from a high class hotel. Lovely helpful staff all round - well done. Excellent gym and 2 pools and sauna although no kids in the sauna/jacuzzi. Great atmosphere bar - excellent Irish band got people dancing. Bar food very good and not too pricey. Breakfast v good too. Free ample parking some of which is covered. A really good find and I will be back next time in Galway, really couldn't fault. Excellent

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank monkeyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We checked in and the check in was ok and parking is in underground at hotel.
Room had a nice ocean view and was in good condition and as expected.

Minor item was no free bottled water in room or mini bar for drinks or snacks.

On closer look the window header we found a swarm of spiders - 5-8 of them.
Window was not clean and spider web was also to be found.

Informed front desk....they promptly removed spiders and web but window glass
was not cleaned well till next day.

Bar food is not great and service takes often forever to get a drink, as custom is to have to go to bar for self ordering and get drinks....for Hotel bar...Think service needs better training to make eye contact with guests and tables. Positive was the music in the evenings. It was very nice to chill and listen to Irish bands play.

Location around hotel is great for a walk at the ocean, however most the shops are a way down into the city.

Room tip: Higher rooms and ask for ocean view
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JIMT-HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Exceptional customer service with the team going over and beyond to help you. Hotel itself is very clean and a short trip into the centre of town. Would stay here again should we find ourselves in Galway!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sarahdH1682YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews