We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Nox Hotel(Galway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,379)
Filter reviews
1,379 results
Traveller rating
575
455
218
89
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
455
218
89
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrefree underground parkingthe penthousethermal suitenice hotelbusy roadspa treatmentsa short taxi ridenext morningeyre squarebuffet breakfastduty managerbar foodhen partyroom was spaciousboth morningsstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,107 - 1,112 of 1,379 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The pillowcases at the Pillo hotel seemed too small and the pillows were squeezed into them. This meant that the pillows were hard and very uncomfortable and after the first night my husband and I both suffered with neck and shoulder pain and I had a headache. There was also only one pillow for each person. The internet connection also did not work. After reporting it on the first night the maintenance guy apparently put in a lead the next day so we were able to get a connection. However this did not make any difference as the signal was so low and therefore did not work for our entire break at the hotel. The thermal suite was lovely but again some of the attractions were not working. The parking at the hotel is good but again it is a very narrow drive down to the parking thus my husbands mirror got scratched. The staff were however friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and breakfast was lovely. I had to send my dinner back as the chicken which was wrapped in bacon was still pink and not cooked properly. The waitress however exchanged it promptly for something else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donz185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardgalway-GM, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Donz185,

Thank you for your helpful comments and please accept my apologies for the poor experience regarding the bedroom pillows and restaurant dinner. Feather pillows are standard on all Beds and we do offer extra pillows on request. We did not live up to our normally high standards on this occasion and have shared your comments with all concerned .

I would be happy to discuss your stay in detail and can be contacted by e-mail : cian.landers@pillohotelgalway.com. Thank you for your time and consideration and I look forward to speaking with you in the near future.

Sincerely

Cian Landers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very friendly and help full staff. rooms were very clean and have everything you will need.
Breakfast good. Bar menu and dinner menu good as well.
Has a spa but did not avail off it maby next time.
Free parking but beware on entrance to parking under ground extremely narrow entrance .
Main toilets for bar underground near car park not great location for security for ladies on there own.

Room Tip: Always look for a complimentry up grade will supply if available
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celinecroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We recently stayed in the Pillo for a one night stay in Galway. The location is relatively central, at about a 20 minute walk and with a taxi costing 7-8 Euro to City Centre (Eyre Square). Car parking is ample and free which is a bit of a rarity in Galway if you want to be anywhere near the centre of the city. It is on/adjacent to a petrol station, which really takes away from the look of the hotel, but in reality, its more suitable as a business or bus tour hotel, so that should be overlooked.

The service isn't really up to four star standard. For example there were no offers to help with bags, which I would expect, nor was there any offer to help with any questions about recommendations for the City etc. Also, the bar and restaurant service was friendly, but not too professional. We ordered from the day time menu, and staff were a little reticent to modify anything for us (even something as basis a excluding olives from a dish). Generally, I got the feeling that we weren't the absolute number one priority, which one would in other Galway City hotels with the same star rating. However, the service was adequate.

As for food, the breakfast was buffet style and had plenty of options, healthy and otherwise. The bar food was good, if a little too pre-prepared. The complimentary bar snacks on Friday evenings are to be avoided at all costs (a small reheated lasagne portion is not a bar snack). The restaurant and bar is completely soulless with zero atmosphere, and is not the place to hang around in. It reminded me of a fairly typical Heathrow airport Hotel clone.

The rooms (including bathrooms) were comfortable, clean and fairly spacious though ours did look directly on the a petrol stations roof (see earlier comment). One tiny criticism... There was no full length mirror. But otherwise, rooms were up to the usual standard.

There was a small Gym, which looked well enough equipped. We didn't use the spa, but here are some limited reviews http://www.spas.ie/reviews/the_spa_at_pillo_hotel-95/reviews.html .

I would class it as a very good three star, but mediocre four star and would be totally outdone by other four stars such as the Park House Hotel on Forster Street. However, if you get a decent price and you want a touring base not in City Centre and need parking, then it may be worth considering

Room Tip: Ask not to overlook the petrol station
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

very nice staff and good value for money in restaurant, desserts to die for..i recommend the chocolate brownie..mmm. just one complaint and that was the noise form the main road. ask for a room at the back of hotel. would use again except we weren't that impressed with galway city...filthy dirty. oh breakfast was a bit busy the second morning and only 2 staff on.

Room Tip: back of hotel
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcs39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed in the Pillo hotel for the Galway races so that did increase the price we paid but I thought what you received was not good value, breakfast was ok, lunch ok but had to ask for things a few things that were forgotten and service slow, location was not too far from the city centre but the air conditioning did not work in our room. The staff was not familiar with the controls and unfortunately only 1 window opened and this was only a few cms so we were stuck in a room of 28 degrees. We were given a small fan later in the night but it was very noisy and did not really reduce the temperature. On check out we were told someone would contact us over the inconvenience but the only mail received from the hotel was a request from the manager to write an update on Tripadvisor, not what I was expecting!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dublin_Traveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardgalway-GM, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Dublin_Traveller12,

Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for the poor experience. I recognize that we did not live up to expectations and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further .
The Breakfast and Lunch offering is popular however it did not deliver what you would have expected from a 4 star hotel. I have shared your comments with the team who will make this negative into a positive in terms of addressing the issues you have highlighted. I can be contacted by e-mail cian.landers@pillohotelgalway.com and look forward to speaking with you in the near future.

Sincerely

Cian Landers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews