We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pillo Spa review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Clare
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pillo Spa review”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just wanted to say a big thank you to the ladies who looked after us this weekend. We booked different treatments for a group of friends celebrating a 30th and it was the best pammered morning ever!! We all came away in a relaxed daze. the hot stone massage was fantastic and will be going back again. Very clean and friendly staff.. jacuzzi would have been nice but that's only a minor observation (we prob wouldn't have left if they did) would recommend a morning here before a great night out in Galway :) we got a fantastic offer and would highly recommend this hotel spa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pebbs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    431
    207
    81
    37
See reviews for
203
558
54
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is not a review of the hotel but just a review of the spa. Purchased a LivingSocial voucher to get a facial and lunch and it was very enjoyable. The thermal suite is not extensive but it is clean and relaxing. I'm mainly writing this review to compliment the amazing facial I received. They use Dermalogica products here and I can say without a doubt, it was one (if not the best) facial I've had. Dermalogica use a process called 'Skin Mapping' which focuses on your face in zones rather than as a whole. I really felt my skin was getting the attention it needed.

I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruadh_ruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

great hotel nice rooms good food in bar staff great let down by cold breakfast was not busy so food let go cold over all we had a good time there and will go back next time in area ken moore dublin

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremorris, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My daughter and I went for a day spa, a lunch and spa package. The lunch was lovely, chicken caesar salad and beef stroganoff, very tasty and then we went to the thermal suite and afterwards, for a facial. The treatment was a 70 minute Dermalogical, and without a doubt, this was the best facial I have ever had. We go for at least 5 spa breaks a year and I have had quite a few facials to compare it. My daughter also said it was the best one she had, and we had different therapists. There was also a neck and shoulder massage and arm/hand massage included, so it was doubly relaxing and fantastic. It would have been nice to have had access to a pool/jacuzzi, they don't have one unfortunately. The relaxation room was very nice and they provided herbal teas. The seats could have done with soft cushions, just a small gripe. Overall, a fantastic afternoon, great value and a facial to remember. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marya072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff, and decent parking. The Pillo Hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from Galway city centre or 5 minute drive by car.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destination-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We spent two nights in this excellent hotel. Comfortable and spacious rooms, every facility. High marks to Marta on reception who was ultra efficient, offering unfailingly accurate information. Specially good breakfast included apricots, and really spectacularly good soda bread, fresh and crumbly, to die for. We loved it here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just stayed there with my partner for the weekend. The hotel is very central, no more than 3-5 mins drive from Eyre Square. Ample (free!) parking in an underground car park. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely. Service was excellent and very friendly. The room was very spacious and comfortable. My only quibble was that our room over looked the roundabout and dual carriageway outside so if you like to leave the window ajar, be prepared for traffic noise, even through the night!
Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and will be returning at a later date for certain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfield12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,097 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,925 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing