We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our family stayed here for the weekend 11th to the 13th January and what an enjoyable stay it was. Reception welcoming and staff extremely helpful and friendly. Restaurant - Dinner was really lovely served by very attentive & kind staff. Breakfast the same - choice was excellent and again staff are just so friendly and helpful. Family room was really spacious and very clean. We had asked for a 'quiet room' and our request was gratefully obliged.
Location of this hotel is absolutley perfect - a 10 minute walk into the city centre. Lovely to leave the car behind in the Hotel Car Park and stroll around the city without negotiating parking.
It is a pleasure to recommend this hotel to anyone venturing to Galway for a break. You will be adding your own positive review afterwards! ; )

Room Tip: If you are an early night person or have children with you, ask for a 'quiet room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    431
    206
    81
    37
See reviews for
202
558
54
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My partner and i stayed here for two nights on the 23rd and 24th of Dec. The location of the Pillo was not especially difficult to find as we drove in from Dublin. We arrived late afternoon to be greeted by a warm, cheery and very enthusiastic reception team. The decor of the lobby was hyper festive and the place had a really lovely feel to it. Upon checking into our room we discovered we had been upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, a special and thoughtful touch as it was our 25year anniversary. The room I must admit was meticulously clean and tidy but looked like it could use an urgent upgrade. That said the bed, a king, was magnificently comfortable and the bathroom was equally comodious and spacious. As an Antipodean traveller not used to bath/shower combos with the ubiquitous sticky shower curtain, I found showering a tad tedious. There is free wifi in the lobby but not in rooms, the selection of free tea, coffee and bickies was very satisfactory. the toiletries too were satisfactory but not exceptional. But here at the Pillo with the minor faults I described there is a winning formula and a secret weapon....the staff. The team at this hotel must be on some leprechaun happy water, as nothing is a problem and their smiles are as big as a West Coast Irish sunrise. In particular I must mention a delightful lady from New Jersey (i think) who basically was everywhere tending to clients' needs and soothing their every concerns. On Christmas eve the team put on mulled wine and fruit mince tarts in the lobby which highlights again the care and sincere dedication this team have for their guests. And when you think you could not be indulged any further, they provided guests with a gorgoeous piece of Galway crystal to take away as a Christmas gift...classy stuff!! Pillo is not located in the Galway downtown precinct, but a handy 15mins walk gets you there. There is a wonderful Dunnes store right next door where you can buy food, beverages, clothing and pharmaceuticals...and pretty much anything you might have forgotten to pack. Parking downstairs is free and secure. I mentioned a couple of negative perspectives in this review; but these become a complete non-issue when you put yourself in the care of this most extraordinary team of caring hoteliers. Bravo, Pillo Hote, Bravo!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claude c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the pillo hotel first weekend in the new year 2013. A group of 7 for a spa weekend. It was a surprise for a 50th birthday and the staff were very good at helping with the surprise.
The hotel was spotless, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, location was perfect and food was fantastic.
We arrived on a friday evening, rooms were spotless and had everything we needed in it. Perfect size.
Bar food has a great selection and is reasonably priced. Breakfast is a buffet, which was surprisingly warm and had great variety.
Our spa treatments we had on the saturday. The spa is fabulous. Great atmosphere, very relaxing and the staff are brilliant at their jobs. They made us feel very relaxed and the thermal suits were well laid out and very modern.
Our evening meal was delicious. As a group of 7, we have no faults with the hotel, staff or facilities. Great value for money. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here over Christmas for 6 days and have to say that it's rare to come across such friendly staff. From the moment we arrived to when we left, all the staff were welcoming and seemed to genuinely happy..We were also really surprised that when we returned to our room on Christmas even there was a Christmas card and tree decoration left for us-really unexpected and a very nice touch. The hotel itself is lovely and really clean and modern. Will definitely stay again, and would recommend for anyone staying in galway for a break.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angrytraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed here for one night in a twin room with my daughter because we were both attending Xmas parties in Galway.
The room was warm & comfortable, good value & free parking. The staff were attentive & friendly.
Visited the spa the previous week & really enjoyed the experience, so relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_louisa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the pillo 14-17th Dec inc.
We really enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a junior suite as it was our 10th wedding anniversary. Breakfast had good choice of foods. The Bar food was excellent. We also had a lovely sit down meal on the Saturday night, the Italian/Spanish waitor(can't think of his name, was really friendly & couldn't do enough for us. Hotel was ideally situated for all the shops on the Headford Rd, & it only took 10-15 mins to walk in to Eyre Square. We will definitely consider the Pillo for future visits.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamlevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I'm sitting on the huge king-sized bed in my hotel room, dreading check out time, when I will have to leave this pampered haven and return home. The past two nights here have been amazing, from the delicious food at the hotel's restaurant, to the amazingly relaxing spa, to the huge, comfortable bedroom. The hotel's staff were perfect, especially Jennifer O'Neil and a gentleman who was working the front desk but whose name I never got. Jennifer helped me out during our entire stay and assured that we had the best stay possible, and the receptionist helped me out when I had a few questions and also helped me sort out problems connecting to the internet.This mini-vacation has been amazing and was the perfect way to make our holiday season special. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We booked a room facing the courtyard. No sounds of traffic and a great night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you also got to relax in our Spa. I have passed on your lovely feedback to Jennifer and also to David at reception for the help that they gave to you. They were very happy to receive your compliments about them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Ireland.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,093 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,920 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing