We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel as a base for Connemarathon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel as a base for Connemarathon.”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Staff were very nice. Stayed for 2 nights for the Connemarathon. Good breakfast starting from 6am, no problem asking for a second bowl of porridge!. Had a few queries before booking and all were responded to very quickly by the manager.

The first night was slightly ruined by a loud group on a hen party. Nothing the hotel could do about that.

Would recommend the hotel for anyone doing the race again next year as it's a short walk to the bus pick up at the Cathedral. Just try to check that there are no hen or stag party bookings there aswell.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcdonaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    422
    199
    80
    34
See reviews for
197
543
52
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Only stayed one night, but it was a nice place. A 15 minute walk to the town centre which is fine on a good day. Taxi is about 8 euro. The spa was lovely but quite under-staffed considering it was a bank holiday weekend. The staff that were there were very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend this hotel for a stay in Galway and its surrounds.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alimackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We try to ensure that we have adequate staffing levels in all areas, and I have noted your feedback about the Spa. It was nice to read that you enjoyed the Spa experience. We look forward to welcomng you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed over Easter, was great and kids loved it. Staff very friendly & helpful!. Over all the trip was very good & enjoyable will be back. Food great & swimming pool was fun, kids friendly. We loved the whole stay and will be recommending it to family & friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over paddys weekend and I have to say the whole weekend was amazing!! The beds are so comfortable, had a great sleep. We missed breakfast on the first morning and regretted it as when we went for breakfast on our last morning it was amazing, so much to choose from and it's all fresh and always topped up... The restaurant area has great food I would defo recommend the fajitas they are so good... I had a spa treatment and it was amazing cant remember the ladies name but she gave a great massage!!! Everything about the place is fab, location, staff, food I will defo be back. Galway is our favorite place to visit.. Thanks pillo hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fos88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It was lovely to read your very kind feedback and I have passed on your comments about the food to the chefs who were very happy to hear it. I have also shared your positive experience in the Spa with the team. It is lovely to read that overall your stay was so enjoyable and that the staff looked after you. We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 for two nights with my boyfriend with breakfast included on both mornings. Rooms are very comfortable and large. Very clean! Food in the mornings was very good!...Also availed of swedish back massages that were on offer and also got a chance to visit the hydrotherapy suite. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you were happy with the standard and cleanliness of your room and also our breakfast offering. Our Spa is very popular for both our guests and locals and I am glad that you got the chance to relax and enjoy a treatment there. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in the Pillo over Easter. Great rooms, great buffet breakfast and efficient, helpful, friendly staff in all areas from Reception to the restaurant and Bar. Good parking underground and a small gym with enough equipment to take away the guilt of the big breakfast you just ate. Some nice touches like free newspapers, free fruit in Reception and Ice machines. The location is 15 minutes walk from the centre of Galway yet it is just far enough outside to leave easy access to Salthill, Barna and Connemara beyond with having to go through the heavy city traffic, and it always seems to be heavy !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artking47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review on your Easter break with us. We were delighted to read that you were so happy with the service and facilities in the hotel. It was good that you managed to avail of our free undeground parking and that you found our location to be convenient and also within easy access for touring Connemara. I have passed on your kind feedback to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,060 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,873 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,829 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing