We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dreadful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently went there for food and drinks as we live locally. We were waiting at least ten minutes waiting to be served. We were sitting at the bar but he kept on ignoring us. When we were eventually served he was very rude. We tried to order another drink and again we're treated in the same manner. We never ordered our food and we left. This was on a Monday night, very quiet. We will not return. We could make some allowances if it was busy. All in all a dreadful experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bern777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Customer,
It was very disappointing to read your review on your experience during your visit to our Point bar, especially as we would normally receive positive feedback about the staff and the service that they provide to our customers. As I am not aware from your review which Monday you were here, if you would like to let me know directly, then I would be happy to follow up on this for you.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    407
    188
    75
    34
See reviews for
191
515
51
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself was ok rooms are a bit
dated but grand , location was a five minute taxi into town cost seven euro which was fine ,however I have to agree the hotel was very noisy.
Our room phone was rang four times between 830am and 11am not long enough to answer but long enough to wake a light sleeper ,so much for a relaxing night away!
The cleaners also seemed to be constantly outside our room slamming doors (think we were beside the supplies closet!
The room above us seemed to have maintenance workers banging, stamping across the floor and dragging furniture with them.


On the plus side the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies that you experienced noise disturbances during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, I cannot explain why your phone would have rang during those hours. Please be assured that I have advised our accommodation department about the importance of keeping noise levels to a minimum before our checkout time of 12 noon so that our guests can enjoy a relaxing break. I was glad to read that you found our beds to be comfortable.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nites and got a great deal, €240 per couple inc breakfast. Rooms are run of d mill but for d luv of god if u r a light sleeper do not stay here, air con noisy and room like a sauna if u turn it off. We also spent a half day in d spa and it was fab, not cheap but d thermal spa is amazing. Receptionist not very friendly on our arrival and though professional could do with cracking a smile and sayin "how was ur trip". Also was amazed that when I asked at d bar for cocktails to be told "we don't do them". For a 4star I would think d towels should also be better quality and cover more then d cheek of my bum!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penneys-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Fab looking hotel right next to a large garage for anything you've forgotten, and really rather close to the city centre. However, I ordered room service for three nights, and the food left a lot to be desired. It was passable, but a tough steak and a stale waffle later, felt slightly bemused. Had to wait 40 mins to check in as only one person on reception dealing with a complaint, whilst who appeared to be the manager ducked in and out of her office completely ignoring the long queue and the rather frazzled desk clerk trying desperately to remain polite and composed with so many people in front of her.(incidentall, she did). The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Towels were practically made of paper though. A newish bathsheet isn't much to ask for is it?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LS259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It was disappointing to read that you were not happy with your room service food. We normally receive positive feedback on our food. I am not sure if you shared your feedback with any of the team after your first night's meal, as we would have been very happy to change the meal for you. In relation to your checkin, I am disappointed and surprised to read that you were waiting 40 minutes to checkin. No other guest made us aware of a similiar delay, however, I am sorry if this was the wait that was experienced. If it was myself or whomever else passed the desk, I apologise if you felt that you were being ignored as this would certainly not have been the intention. If a guest does have a complaint and the receptionist is busy, then they will generally offer for a manager to assist the guest rather then them dealing with it so that it can be dealt with away from the desk and does not impact on checkin/checkout service for other guests. Please be assured that all your feedback has been taken on board. We hope that you may consider returning to stay with us again and we will happy to ensure that your next stay is more enjoyable.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My friend and I are just back from our 3 night stay at the Pillo hotel Galway, and I had to leave a review to say THANKS for helping to make it a fantastic weekend in Galway.
From the moment we arrived at your hotel, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, from the staff in reception through to the restaurant staff (Michael and Thomas are two gents!)
The main hotel areas and rooms are kept really clean, event the potted plants spread to the local shops!

We did need to ring reception twice, for additional towels and to resolve a problem we were having with cold water in the bathroom – but both were dealt with really quickly.
Food in the restaurant was delicious – we’ll be back for the chicken Caesar salad alone, and the breakfast was lovely – just what the doctor orders after a night out in Galway!

So to sum up: Location – Perfect, Hotel – Clean and Modern, Food – Delicious, Staff – Very friendly and helpful – for us 10/10
We look forward to making a return visit in the future.

Thanks again
Sinead

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent weekend here with us. It was lovely to read that the staff were friendly and helpful, in particular Michael and Thomas who have worked with the hotel for quite a while. They were very happy to receive your compliments. I am glad that you also enjoyed your meals and that you will be returning to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just outside town, with free parking,the Pillo hotel offers excellent value for money. Very comfortable,nicely furnished and immaculately clean bedrooms. Staff were friendly,and extremely helpful with a problem I encountered during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to hear that you were happy with both the standards and service that you received on your recent stay with us. We hope that we can look after you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had a midweek 2 night stay at the Pillo recently and couldn't fault it in any way. Staff were excellent. Room was spotless. Breakfast was piping hot and loads of it. Bar had a nice atmosphere to it. I would, and allready have, recommended it to family and friends. Dave,Dublin

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very complimentary review on your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. Thank you recommending us to your family and friends. We do appreciate this. We look forward to you returning in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#8 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#14 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing