We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of Galway City Center. The food was good. The hotel staff was very helpful about what to see and do in Galway. There was a large tour group staying. In the morning we were unable to use the elevator because all the luggage was being loaded.

Room Tip: I do not have any tips. the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the food, staff and air conditioning. I apologise for the delay that you experienced when using the lift. We hope that we can welcome you back again to the hotel if you decide to pay a return visit to Ireland.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we really regret not paying that bit extra for the G Hotel at the time.
The hotel is above a garage and beside a dated shopping centre, the reception is misleading as once you reach your room the furniture is dated, it is dark and there was the sound of flushing ALL night.

The dining area for breakfast is like something from a motel on Route 66, it was grand but nothing special.

We will not be staying here again as I'd prefer to pay a bit more and sleep in comfort

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Ave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently went there for food and drinks as we live locally. We were waiting at least ten minutes waiting to be served. We were sitting at the bar but he kept on ignoring us. When we were eventually served he was very rude. We tried to order another drink and again we're treated in the same manner. We never ordered our food and we left. This was on a Monday night, very quiet. We will not return. We could make some allowances if it was busy. All in all a dreadful experience

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Bern777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Customer,
It was very disappointing to read your review on your experience during your visit to our Point bar, especially as we would normally receive positive feedback about the staff and the service that they provide to our customers. As I am not aware from your review which Monday you were here, if you would like to let me know directly, then I would be happy to follow up on this for you.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel itself was ok rooms are a bit
dated but grand , location was a five minute taxi into town cost seven euro which was fine ,however I have to agree the hotel was very noisy.
Our room phone was rang four times between 830am and 11am not long enough to answer but long enough to wake a light sleeper ,so much for a relaxing night away!
The cleaners also seemed to be constantly outside our room slamming doors (think we were beside the supplies closet!
The room above us seemed to have maintenance workers banging, stamping across the floor and dragging furniture with them.


On the plus side the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies that you experienced noise disturbances during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, I cannot explain why your phone would have rang during those hours. Please be assured that I have advised our accommodation department about the importance of keeping noise levels to a minimum before our checkout time of 12 noon so that our guests can enjoy a relaxing break. I was glad to read that you found our beds to be comfortable.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nites and got a great deal, €240 per couple inc breakfast. Rooms are run of d mill but for d luv of god if u r a light sleeper do not stay here, air con noisy and room like a sauna if u turn it off. We also spent a half day in d spa and it was fab, not cheap but d thermal spa is amazing. Receptionist not very friendly on our arrival and though professional could do with cracking a smile and sayin "how was ur trip". Also was amazed that when I asked at d bar for cocktails to be told "we don't do them". For a 4star I would think d towels should also be better quality and cover more then d cheek of my bum!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penneys-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Fab looking hotel right next to a large garage for anything you've forgotten, and really rather close to the city centre. However, I ordered room service for three nights, and the food left a lot to be desired. It was passable, but a tough steak and a stale waffle later, felt slightly bemused. Had to wait 40 mins to check in as only one person on reception dealing with a complaint, whilst who appeared to be the manager ducked in and out of her office completely ignoring the long queue and the rather frazzled desk clerk trying desperately to remain polite and composed with so many people in front of her.(incidentall, she did). The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Towels were practically made of paper though. A newish bathsheet isn't much to ask for is it?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It was disappointing to read that you were not happy with your room service food. We normally receive positive feedback on our food. I am not sure if you shared your feedback with any of the team after your first night's meal, as we would have been very happy to change the meal for you. In relation to your checkin, I am disappointed and surprised to read that you were waiting 40 minutes to checkin. No other guest made us aware of a similiar delay, however, I am sorry if this was the wait that was experienced. If it was myself or whomever else passed the desk, I apologise if you felt that you were being ignored as this would certainly not have been the intention. If a guest does have a complaint and the receptionist is busy, then they will generally offer for a manager to assist the guest rather then them dealing with it so that it can be dealt with away from the desk and does not impact on checkin/checkout service for other guests. Please be assured that all your feedback has been taken on board. We hope that you may consider returning to stay with us again and we will happy to ensure that your next stay is more enjoyable.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My friend and I are just back from our 3 night stay at the Pillo hotel Galway, and I had to leave a review to say THANKS for helping to make it a fantastic weekend in Galway.
From the moment we arrived at your hotel, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, from the staff in reception through to the restaurant staff (Michael and Thomas are two gents!)
The main hotel areas and rooms are kept really clean, event the potted plants spread to the local shops!

We did need to ring reception twice, for additional towels and to resolve a problem we were having with cold water in the bathroom – but both were dealt with really quickly.
Food in the restaurant was delicious – we’ll be back for the chicken Caesar salad alone, and the breakfast was lovely – just what the doctor orders after a night out in Galway!

So to sum up: Location – Perfect, Hotel – Clean and Modern, Food – Delicious, Staff – Very friendly and helpful – for us 10/10
We look forward to making a return visit in the future.

Thanks again
Sinead

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SineadK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent weekend here with us. It was lovely to read that the staff were friendly and helpful, in particular Michael and Thomas who have worked with the hotel for quite a while. They were very happy to receive your compliments. I am glad that you also enjoyed your meals and that you will be returning to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,713 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.9 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £52 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing