We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A group of ten of us stayed at the pillo last weekend . We went on the sapphire hotel package which included two night bed and breakfast , one evening meal , a spa treatment and canapies and cocktails on one evening . All the hotel staff were fabulous from reception to bar and in the spa . They could not have been more accomadating . The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the set menu was excellent , scallops , lamb , steak . The menu was varied and top class .The whole package was 179 euro each and was excellent value for money . The canapies and cocktails in the bar were fabulous and nothing was spared . The rooms were very clean and anything we asked for was attended to by reception straight away , more towels , anything they could not have been more helpfull . Our group varied in age fron late 20 s to mid 60,s with some of the group from dublin , derry and donegal and everyone agreed that our stay was a top class experience . We will definately go back and it was refreshing to stay in the Pillo was they definately put the "H" in hospitality . I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of staying in galway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANITA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive review on your recent stay with us. It was really lovely to read how much all of your group enjoyed their stay and how well you were looked after. Your feedback has been shared with all of the team who were very happy to hear your comments. We hopefully can look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    427
    202
    81
    35
See reviews for
201
551
53
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a 1 night stay in Hotel as rates are good, receptionist was friendly on check-in, we were given an upgrade to a junior suite ! Let's just say their suites are very basic, & dull, not what you would expect from a 4* hotel !! bed was uncomfortable, two mattress's pushed together !! Bathroom was nice, but shower-bath wasn't great, corridors are very dark & don't smell great, we decided to go for dinner in the restaurant, bar staff are friendly, we were seated in Restaurant promptly & ordered. food is expensive & not of great quality,waiting staff are not attentive to customers.
You wouldn't want to stay any more than 1 night in this hotel, overall you get what you pay for

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When I first landed, I was very surprised how tight the entrance to the car park was (the under ground section). You wouldn't want to own a hummer! It was quite warm in the hotel itself but the rooms had good air con and the beds were comfortable. The bar food was tastey and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardcrinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,
It was nice to read your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the food and your room and also about the staff who are always very happy to hear how they are looking after our customers.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Everything about this hotel was great. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and willing to help if needed. My room was quiet, comfortable and spotlessly clean. I couldn't fault this hotel. The restaurant serves tasty food and breakfast will fill you up for the day. There are also shops and a convenience store located within walking distance. Perfect for a city break and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echobravo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you were so happy with your stay and that you enjoyed all aspects of it, including your room, the friendliness of the staff and the food. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of Galway City Center. The food was good. The hotel staff was very helpful about what to see and do in Galway. There was a large tour group staying. In the morning we were unable to use the elevator because all the luggage was being loaded.

Room Tip: I do not have any tips. the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the food, staff and air conditioning. I apologise for the delay that you experienced when using the lift. We hope that we can welcome you back again to the hotel if you decide to pay a return visit to Ireland.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we really regret not paying that bit extra for the G Hotel at the time.
The hotel is above a garage and beside a dated shopping centre, the reception is misleading as once you reach your room the furniture is dated, it is dark and there was the sound of flushing ALL night.

The dining area for breakfast is like something from a motel on Route 66, it was grand but nothing special.

We will not be staying here again as I'd prefer to pay a bit more and sleep in comfort

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0Ave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently went there for food and drinks as we live locally. We were waiting at least ten minutes waiting to be served. We were sitting at the bar but he kept on ignoring us. When we were eventually served he was very rude. We tried to order another drink and again we're treated in the same manner. We never ordered our food and we left. This was on a Monday night, very quiet. We will not return. We could make some allowances if it was busy. All in all a dreadful experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bern777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Customer,
It was very disappointing to read your review on your experience during your visit to our Point bar, especially as we would normally receive positive feedback about the staff and the service that they provide to our customers. As I am not aware from your review which Monday you were here, if you would like to let me know directly, then I would be happy to follow up on this for you.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,888 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing