We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a family weekend in Galway to celebrate my parents 70th birthdays. There were 10 of us in the group, 8 adults and 2 small children, and we had a wonderful stay at the Pillo. Very attentive and friendly staff, extremely comfortable rooms, great choice of menu for the breakfast in the mornings. Some of the group had dinner in the restaurant one evening, and the menu was equally extensive, and reasonably priced.The hotel is only a short distance from the city centre, which offers you the choice of taking your own car, or getting a taxi. The hotel also provides complimentary car parking, and is within walking distance of 2 smaller shopping centres. We didn't have time to use the spa facilities this trip, but it gives us an excuse to come back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, especially as you were here to celebrate a special occasion. I have passed on your kind feedback about the service, food and standard of your accommodation to all of the team. It is a pity that you did not have a chance to visit our relaxing Spa, it will something for you to look forward to on your return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    413
    189
    78
    34
See reviews for
192
525
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in this hotel during midterm break with dh, 5 yr old & baby! Everything fantastic from check in to checkout. Breakfast and bar food was superb, dinner in restaurant was amazing. All staff encountered were so pleasant and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Location was perfect for a family, with 5 year old and buggy we could walk to city centre in 12 mins. Will definitely return for another family break, we all thoroughly enjoyed it!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mumof1-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a lovely review about your midterm break with us. The team were very happy to read that you all had such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed on the Thursday night of Halloween with one of the girls! It was our first time every being in Galway! The hotel was beautiful, from the greeting at the reception to the cleanliness of the room! The rooms were a good size and so was the bathroom! The food at the bar was amazing definitely one of the best meals we had! When we went out that night I lost my phone and we came back to the hotel to see is it was possibly handed in there! A lovely fella called Niall worked there and he was so helpful, he got on the computer and tracked my phone, he also rang the taxi company to see if it was left in the taxi that we took into the city! Guards eventually found it! I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will go back there in a flash! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review on your Halloween break with us. I was happy to read that you found our food and service to be to a high standard. It was also great to hear how Niall, the manager on duty that night helped you to locate your lost phone. I have made sure that he received your kind feedback on this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joppa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the Pillo Hotel Galway during a group tour of Ireland. While the hotel wasn't right in the heart of the town of Galway, it was nicely located and very quiet. The lobby is very modern and glossy and the staff were very professional and welcoming and always extremely helpful - asking if you needed assistance if you seemed a bit hesitant.

The room has a lot of dark cherry-like wood furniture and built-in cabinetry, including a nice desk/vanity area where numerous outlets were located (a welcome sight to easily charge our numerous electronic devices). There were curtains and sheers at the windows, of a similar color.

Bedding was the all-in-one white duvet with no sheet that we had come to dread and groan at seeing, but the pillows were really nice and the bed was very comfortable. The bed runner was a velvet-like burgundy with a small design that was both attractive and nice quality, giving the room a modern and rich appearance with the dark wood/cabinetry. The carpet was attractive and clean with a reverse color pattern to the bed runner - a dark beige with a burgundy design.

The bathroom was modern and clean with a grey speckled Corian vanity and countertop that ran the entire length of the bathroom and along another side providing lots of room to put your toiletries.

There was a refrigerator, a well as an electric kettle with instant coffee, tea and sugar/creamers avaialble. Just around the corner from the hotel was a Spar convenience store, which we loved having nearby so we could get sodas and stock up on snacks, etc.

Our stay in Galway was disappointingly brief (but there was much to see in Ireland in 11 days), and the Pillo Hotel was so nice that we would have enjoyed a longer stay. Attractive, modern yet cozy and very nicely run. We had just one meal - breakfast - and it was quite good and enjoyable. We would gladly return if we ever return to the Galway area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsb040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip to Ireland. It was nice to hear you found the staff to be friendly and professional and that overall you were happy with the comfort and facilities of the hotel. We hope that we can look after you again if you do decide to make a return trip to Ireland.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have stayed at the Pillo twice. Not only is it affordable but it is located in a great spot for touring the Galway area. Free parking and many good food choices coupled with nice rooms make this a place we will return to in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reacol2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you have been a guest of the hotel on a couple of occasions and that on both visits, you have been happy with your room and the food and found the hotel to be good value. We look forward to looking after you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed there last Friday. We like to thank the excellent staff for our enjoyable stay
especially the girls who looked after us in the SPA. would definately recomment
this hotel as rooms are spotless and a great size. Its within walking distance to
the city city and at present the hotel offers free parking all day to hotel guests

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshaw1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I have passed on your feedback to all departments, especially the Spa and the accommodation team. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Being honest I never stayed there but i work in Galway. My phone died and my mum was worried about me driving home that night as it was stormy. We got cut off and I was afraid my mum would think something bad may have happened. I went into the hotel and they where so nice, they let me use the phone to ring home and understood that I was in need of a little help. Again I know I didn't stay here but staff play a huge part and this place has it. Thanks :)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Loula,
It was really nice to read how you were looked after when you called to the hotel in need of assistance. I am so glad that the staff ensured that you could put your mothers mind at ease. We are very fortunate to have a team that will go the extra mile and I will ensure that your feedback is shared with them.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing