We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy location and relaxing atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easy location and relaxing atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, centrally located. Near city center, but not right in it. The plus is free on site parking and easy access to roads. The restaurant and bar are delicious with accommodating staff. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive feedback. It was lovely to read that you were happy with the service and facilities of the hotel including our free underground parking which is always a welcome plus for our guests and customers. Hopefully the next time you stay you will have more time to relax and get to enjoy our luxurious Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    407
    188
    75
    34
See reviews for
191
516
51
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limerick ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel was nice and central and easy to find. Busy but quick check in. Car park available underground. Room nice and clean. Had dinner in the bar and very nice. Staff friendly. Only negative was no pool for kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineconroy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you were happy with your recent stay with us and that you had an enjoyable meal experience for both food and service. While we do not have a pool facility ourselves, our family package offering does include admission to a local swimming pool as one of our family activity options If you do decide to stay with us again, we will be happy to provide you with information on this.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Pillo for 2 nights while visiting our daughter who is "studying"/enjoying Ireland for a semester in Galway. The rooms were spacious, clean and we felt very safe and comfortable at this hotel. A much better value than the hotel in Dublin. We enjoyed the breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful. I wish I had time to enjoy the spa. I would definitely stay at the Pillo again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in the Pillo on St Patricks day for the second year in a row and once again it was perfect.Room was excellent, staff were very pleasant and breakfast was very good as well. Anyone looking at staying in this hotel should not give it a second thought and book it right away, trust me you will not have any problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 888TerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family and I just stayed at the Pillo the last weekend. We had three rooms; all fine. We had the breakfast buffet each day and it was filling and adequate. Ate one night in the hotel restaurant. Also good with ample portions.The only issue I would say would be the wifi; very spotty.
All staff very accommodating, especially the women working at reception the evening of Friday, March 14th (I'm just sorry I don't have their names). We were trying to get a family member from Dublin Airport to Galway via bus. They were most helpful with schedules and information about the Dublin Airport.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing over the entrance. No issues with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

A friend and I stayed in the Pillo for one night this February.
It was super easy to get to the hotel from the M6, i.e. no need to go through traffic in town. I parked in the free underground car park and felt my car was very secure.
The room and en suite were absolutely spotless.
My friend and I had dinner in the bar and couldn't have been better looked after. Portions were ample and there was a good selection on the menu that would suit most tastes.
Breakfast was served in the bar and there was a great selection from a buffet-type display.
All the staff were so helpful, even for minor enquiries such as about local shop.
My friend and I enjoyed a spa treatment each in the lovely, warm, quiet and spotless spa. The spa staff were very welcoming and competent. The treatment rooms were spacious and relaxing. My therapist was Lynnelle and she was wonderful. I'm still savouring the memory of my massage!
I would not hesitate to recommend the Pillo for a good value and relaxing break.
I'm already looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had the most gorgeous time here.... used the Spa and Thermal suite.... Had a 3 course dinner... our room was large, 2 double beds. We just loved it. No complaints. The hotel is central, the staff friendly and helpful, the food simply amazing and the Spa is an oasis of tranquilty!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you and your partner had such a nice time and got to enjoy the hotels facilities. I have passed on your kind comments to all of the teams in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing