We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel with great spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed in the Pillo hotel Galway over St Patrick's weekend. The whole town was chaos but the hotel although full of guests seemed tranquil and a lovely quiet escape. The room was large and very clean. Also visited the spa while there which was very reasonable. A little walk from the main town (15 Mins walking) but definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over St Patrick's weekend, and that you found the hotel to be relaxing. Our Spa is very popular with guests and it is nice to hear that you got to enjoy it and found it to be good value. We look forward to having you back to stay in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank TipperaryDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, centrally located. Near city center, but not right in it. The plus is free on site parking and easy access to roads. The restaurant and bar are delicious with accommodating staff. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelda328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive feedback. It was lovely to read that you were happy with the service and facilities of the hotel including our free underground parking which is always a welcome plus for our guests and customers. Hopefully the next time you stay you will have more time to relax and get to enjoy our luxurious Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel was nice and central and easy to find. Busy but quick check in. Car park available underground. Room nice and clean. Had dinner in the bar and very nice. Staff friendly. Only negative was no pool for kids.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineconroy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you were happy with your recent stay with us and that you had an enjoyable meal experience for both food and service. While we do not have a pool facility ourselves, our family package offering does include admission to a local swimming pool as one of our family activity options If you do decide to stay with us again, we will be happy to provide you with information on this.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Pillo for 2 nights while visiting our daughter who is "studying"/enjoying Ireland for a semester in Galway. The rooms were spacious, clean and we felt very safe and comfortable at this hotel. A much better value than the hotel in Dublin. We enjoyed the breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful. I wish I had time to enjoy the spa. I would definitely stay at the Pillo again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in the Pillo on St Patricks day for the second year in a row and once again it was perfect.Room was excellent, staff were very pleasant and breakfast was very good as well. Anyone looking at staying in this hotel should not give it a second thought and book it right away, trust me you will not have any problems.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888TerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family and I just stayed at the Pillo the last weekend. We had three rooms; all fine. We had the breakfast buffet each day and it was filling and adequate. Ate one night in the hotel restaurant. Also good with ample portions.The only issue I would say would be the wifi; very spotty.
All staff very accommodating, especially the women working at reception the evening of Friday, March 14th (I'm just sorry I don't have their names). We were trying to get a family member from Dublin Airport to Galway via bus. They were most helpful with schedules and information about the Dublin Airport.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing over the entrance. No issues with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.9 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £52 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing