We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

As I live locally I often pop in. The bar was quite busy but Tommy the barman still made time to chat to us. There was a good atmosphere in the bar making it a pleasant evening for all. The food looked fab and we are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Bern777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you for posting your lovely review about your recent visit to our Point Bar. It was lovely to hear that you were well looked after by Tommy, who was delighted to hear this. We hope that the next time you are in, that you will also get to experience the lovely food that you saw being served.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The pros:

1. Very close to downtown. Walkable – even with 2 young kids to downtown Galway in 20 minutes.
2. It is connected to a Spar gas. There is milk, fruit, many of the conveniences of a service station with minor grocery store attached. The coffee is awful, but beggars can’t be choosers
3. There is a shopping mall/McDonald’s down the street
4. Free high speed wifi
5. The hotel itself is reasonably well equipped with restaurant that features live music, decent workout room, no pool. Rooms clean and spacious.

The cons;
1. The safe didn’t work for 2 days since we were there. They fixed it just in time for us to be leaving the next morning
2. Ice machine on the first floor not working – had to go to the 3rd floor to get
3. toilet did not work and the toilet seat kept slipping off. Gross and gross.

They need to get the kinks out and it would be elevated to much more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you found the hotel to be well located for the city centre and nearby conveniences and that overall you were happy with the facilities of the hotel. I apologise for the cons which you experienced with your room. Please be assured that these will have been attended to by our maintenance department.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you are returning to Galway.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice stay. Good food . Relaxing spa .lovely scenic drives. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful .would go back .good location. Close to town. 15 mins walk to eyre squAre . Would recommend for relaxing weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipjgunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay with us and for recommending the hotel. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed many aspects, including the food, service, Spa and our location. We find that many of our guests enjoy the convenience of being near to the city centre and the bonus of free parking in our underground carpark. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Pillo Hotel on 15th May for 3 nights. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness throughout the hotel was excellent. buffet breakfast was ok but we had the early bird set menu with wine which great value for money and enjoyable.in the Spa we chose the ultimate couples retreat which was very relaxing it was worth every penny. Again the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can not praise this hotel enough it was the first time we have stayed in Galway and can not wait for next year so we can return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELEN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to read that you were so happy with the staff and their service. We are very lucky to have a team who are always striving to ensure that our guests receive the best service possible when they visit us. It was great that you got to enjoy our relaxing Spa and the wonderful treatments that are on offer, as well as our Wine and Dine meal which is very popular. We look forward to looking after you both again on your next visit to Galway.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here at Easter for one night it's a really nice hotel very bright & spacious lovely staff our room was bright and very comfortable we had breakfast there and also very good, would highly recommend it, it's within walking distance to eyre square but there's a taxi rank outside hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MargaretDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us and that your recommendation to others. We look forward to having you back to stay again at the some time in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Pillo Hotel Friday 23rd to Sunday 25th May and have to say I was presently surprised with the hotel. Its in a good location with nice rooms and good food. Our only downfall was that the gentleman David on the receptions attitude left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willobrien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you posting your review on your stay with us in May. I was glad to read that overall you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your accommodation and food experience. It was disappointing to read about your review of David, as we normally receive positive feedback about our front office team on their customer service. If you wish to share any further detail on this, please feel free to contact me. We hope that you will make a return visit to us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

All staff went out of there way to help and were always friendly and polite to me from check in, dining area and check out
Room was spacious and well aired,very clean, easy access to parking and city centre

Room Tip: Room very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you were so well looked after by the staff during your stay with us. We are very lucky to have a team who are dedicated to ensuring that our guests have the best possible service and experience. I will ensure that they receive your kind feedback.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,665 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,984 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £61 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing