We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed valentines night 2014. Staff were exceptional from booking to check out. Made a very romantic stay by full filling all our needs and even going the extra mile to make our stay all the more enjoyable.

The Spa was excellent value and the staff here were well trained. Full body massage and our own jacuzzi afterwards for a very good price.

Only downside was the meal we had in the restaurant. Lamb shank was served like a carvery lunch and the salmon was over cooked like it had been sitting at the pass waiting to be served for hours.

This didn't spoil our stay although and we would return, just eat elsewhere!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thatsjustmyopinion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your Valentine's stay with us so much, including the service from the team and also your Spa experience. It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your meal. It is a pity that we did not hear from you before now, as 4 months have passed since you were here. Since then we have introduced a new menu which I am sure you would be very happy with if you did reconsider dining with us again. However, the Head Chef has seen your feedback and he has made note of your comments, as it is very important to us that we provide a good quality dining experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again for your next special occasion and please make yourself known to us if you do. Kind Regards, Siobhan Burke General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had a surprise weekend for our anniversary we had a great time food was great breakfast all u can eat staff very nice spent 3hours in the spa we came out new people we'll worth a try prices very good as we'll go back in a hart beet

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jAKEROXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that your surprise stay was so enjoyable, from your Spa experience to the food and service that you received. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again.
Kind Regards, Siobhan Burke General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked the Pillo Hotel for myself and 5 girl friends. We were all pleasently surprised. There is free underground (safe) car park, Free Wifi Fi in all rooms, The food really surprised me at how nice it was. We used the spa, and I had a lovely Massage by a girl named Anna, she was supberb. Can't recommend it enough. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All very pleasent to deal with.
The rooms are large, with 2 beds, Mini Fridge, Tea & Coffee making facility, TV, Iron, and safe. The bathrooms are quite large also with plenty of counter space.
The only thing missing from this hotel is a Swimming pool.
Only 5 mins by taxi to centre of Galway.
Overall great stay and would def go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineaddaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Sinead,
It is lovely to read that your group had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the kind feedback about your rooms, food and the service you received, in particular from Anna in the Spa. I am glad that you found the hotel well situated for the city. We hope that you all will return to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Pillo hotel from the 20th-23rd of June 2014. Overall the hotel was nice, The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel was in walking distance of Galway Shopping Centre and Galway City. Taxi's are available right outside the hotel entrance. The reception staff were very misleading as we were informed of night time entertainment which never happened, which was very disappointing, if you are staying I would recommend going out as the atmosphere in the bar is dead. The spa was excellent and very relaxing! The food was good! The Wifi worked exceptionally well in the rooms to my surprise. The air conditioning in the rooms made a lot of noise but a good nights sleep was still had. I must say the girl who served us dinner and breakfast on Friday evening and Sunday Morning was delightful! The luggage room was available to us after check out which was handy! Overall no major problems and a good experience was had.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel face the Road rather then the courtyard not that its much of a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annoymus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with your room, your meal experience, in particular the service you received and also that you found the hotel to be well situated for the city. I apologise that you received incorrect information about entertainment and that you found that the bar lacked atmosphere. This point has been taken on board. We hope that you will return to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at Pillo for 6 days. The rooms are large and the bathrooms have enough counter space to hold all toiletries. Restaurant food was good. Reception staff was very helpful in connecting me with tours, Shopping center within walking distance. The SPA was especially nice. Free underground parking and free internet were nice extras. Close to all main highways for day trips. Great staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you found the service in all departments to be to a high standard. All of the team were very happy to hear this. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay again when you make a return visit to Galway.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights dinner B&B at the Pillo Hotel on our recent self-drive tour of Ireland. What a wonderful experience it was. The room was lovely and the dinners were amazing. Staff were very accommodating, even letting us take our dessert back to our room:) we were on a special package advertised on their website and couldn't believe the bargain for first class service, accommodation and dining. The meals were fabulous, and very generous. One night we shared a main course, as we knew from experience how generous the portions were! The location surprised us a bit, as it seemed to be in the suburbs rather than downtown - but the reality was that it was easy to get to the Old Town of Galway, yet there was modern shopping nearby and it was perfect for getting out of town for day trips! We highly recommend this hotel and especially the D B&B package!

Room Tip: We asked for a "quiet" room and they moved us to one overlooking the back - not a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD891950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always great to hear that our customers experience has been a positive one and from reading your feedback, we are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you found the hotel to be such good value for the money that you paid. The staff loved reading your review. We hope that you will stay with us again, if you do make a return visit to Ireland.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Pillo over the weekend of June 13-15 - all 46 of us had the best service, advice, help, food and Guiness over the time! Would certainly recommend anyone to stay. Distance to Galway a tidy walk, but taxis available outside or if not ordered in minutes. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Gilly and Roger,
It was our pleasure to look after you and your family and friends for Roger's birthday. We were delighted that you were so happy with all aspects of your stay. We do hope that you may make a return visit to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,999 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.2 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £55 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing