We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for exploring Galway City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for exploring Galway City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff could not have been any more professional and welcoming. The rooms were absolutely clean and very comfortable. The room was great value too. The location is great, 20 mins walk at a comfortable pace into the city centre, with a bus route close by. We ate at the bar after checking out, the food was delicious and filling. I have no complaints whatsoever, and will be recommending the hotel to anyone travelling to Galway.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhdTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind review on your experience with us. It was great to hear that you were so happy with all of the services that you received and also with our location which as you rightly mentioned is perfect for those who want to visit the city or indeed Connemara or Clare. We hope that you will choose to stay again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    413
    189
    77
    34
See reviews for
192
523
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Pillo is a clean, modern and well-run hotel. It is on the outskirts of Galway - very conveniently located near the Kirwan Roundabout (which connects with all routes in all directions). We parked our car (in free underground parking lot) and walked the 20 minutes to downtown restaurants. The first 15 minutes are through a bleak, modern set of shopping malls - then the city centre beckons.

Major tip: don't eat in the hotel restaurant. Salad was over-priced and very sad. There are plenty of fine restaurants within an easy walk - drive of the hotel, and even several large food stores to allow you to stock up on various goodies.

A few minutes along the major roads in any direction and you're into beautiful country.

A very good hotel to use as a base for exploring the region...

Room Tip: The lifts are modern and efficient, and go from parking garage below to top floor, so no worries abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Micheal,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found the standard and cleanliness of the hotel to be good, aswell as our location as a base for touring the countryside. It was disappointing to read that you were not happy with the salad that you were served. We would normally receive positive feedback about our food, therefore, we have been monitoring this dish more closely since you made the point. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The lobby and bar/restaurant area are very nice. If you have a car the parking is free which is a plus. There is not a free breakfast. We did have lunch one day and the service and food was good. The rooms were comfortable When you drive up to the hotel for the first time it is a little unnerving because it looks old and worn but when you step inside your opinion changes. There is a "mini mart" right outside the building so this was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 23 May 2015
Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us.
We offer a range of room plans some of which are priced as room only and therefore would not include breakfast, however we offer a discounted breakfast rate on check in.
We hope that you stay with us on your next visit to Galway

Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for Aug bank holiday weekend.. Hotel was lovely, very clean and rooms were really comfy.. Dinner in the olive bistro was absolutely amazing! Highly recommend eating here and not waiting too long! The reason I would dock it a point is just minor things that cud be improved, understanding it was Also race week we had to wait over an hour after check in time, however we were offered comp coffee/tea but some may not be too happy about this.. I ordered a cocktail at the bar, first was "after eight", I normally wouldn't complain but it looked & tasted awful!! The bar man was great however, could tell I was not happy and replaced it with different one wich was ok..love cocktails but if there isn't a change would not order them here again..Cocktail menu and cocktails need improving and slightly over priced in comparison to other hotels Iv stayed in. Another slight issue which was addressed in the end was that I had booked with breakfast included, on both mornings it was mentioned that I was not on the pre paid list but I had my booking invoice in my phone to prove this..felt abit embarrssed been stopped twice! Lastly early bird with bottle of wine for €49 was advertised all over hotel, we did early bird time but when asked about offer we were told we could not take the offer?? It was 6pm booking? Had to pay regular rate, not too expensive but abit misleading ..Food made up for it though.. Overall this is potentially a fantastic hotel but these little issues should be addressed as I feel it would loose people wanting to return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annamarie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 23 May 2015
Dear Annamarie,

Thank you for your comments, firstly really glad to see that you enjoyed your overall experience.
We have a new cocktail list in place and indeed some exciting new offers in Craft Beers & Ciders also. We have also extended the wine & dine offer to be available all day.
We look forward to seeing you in Galway again soon.

Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Myself my husband and my 7 month old baby stayed here for 1 night.we ate in the restaurant, food was edible but not great.service was very poor.i was half way through my dinner and the waiter asked was I finished.felt very rushed.maybe they wanted the baby out of the restaurant but it was only 6pm. when we were leaving we asked the waiter to bring our drinks up to the room my husband was on crutches and I was wheeling the baby in the buggy (as we had no hands free to bring them up) the next morning when we were checking out we were charged 5 euro for room service.i think this is just scandalous as the waiter never said we would be charged.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 23 May 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. It was disappointing to read of your experience in our restaurant.
Please be assured that we welcome children throughout the hotel.
The charge for room service was unnecessary in this instance as you have rightly pointed out.
These issues have been shared with the teams involved and hopefully corrected for future guests
We look forward to seeing you in Galway again soon.

Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lovely time in Galway at the Pillo. The staff were very nice and friendly and made our stay so enjoyable. Everything was really clean. Would definately come back. Free parking and easy in and out. Easy to find right beside the roundabout.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 23 May 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for such nice comments. It is nice to hear positive feedback especially about our staff.
We look forward to seeing you in Galway again soon.

Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Arrived at hotel for mid week break at start of Aug.first day all ok,,2nd day we came back after been in galway shopping.to find air con was not working,we instantly informed reception and housekeeping.got call back from male manager who informed us it wouldn't be back for a few days.most unhelpful manager as he would not locate a fan for us.this was a request on booking for air con.only for Arlene which I spoke to and located fan immediately for us.the rest of our stay would be ruined.excellent food,nice room for junior suite.only 15 min walk in to city

Room Tip: Look for junior suite.basic rooms cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I apologise for the lack of air conditioning on your 2nd day. It was very unfortunate that we experienced this problem and we worked to get it repaired as quickly as we could. I am sorry that you had an issue with receiving a fan. I am glad that Arlene located one for you. On the plus side, it was nice to read that you enjoyed the food and your suite and were happy with our location. We would hope that if you return to Galway that you will contact us directly and we will ensure that your next stay is a more comfortable one.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing