We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spa treatment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“spa treatment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My daughter booked for both of us for the summer sensation package.
my therapist was Roisin and she couldnt have been nicer. She did a back massage and checked often how the pressure was. she told me what oils she was using and i only wish she lived closer to Monaghan as i would definately be a regular of Roisin. i also had a facial and nail treatment. i really enjoyed the experience and next time we are in Galway i will definately be back to this wonderful spa. my daughter also really enjoyed her treatment and found it most relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Betty,
Thank you for your positive review about the Summer Sensation package which you and your daughter enjoyed here at our Spa. Roisin was very pleased that you rated her so highly and she looks forward to looking after you again on the next trip you make to Galway.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    408
    188
    75
    34
See reviews for
191
517
51
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Couldn't fault anything. All staff very friendly. Food was excellent. The room was very comfortable. Free Wifi in the room. About 15 minutes walk to Eyre square. Will definitely call back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Daniel,

It was lovely to read that you had an enjoyable 2 night stay with us. I have shared your feedback with all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here recently on a motorbike trip. As always the staff were first class and the room was spacious, modern and clean - along with the biggest bed in the world! Free WiFi in the room is a bonus too. As I was travelling alone I eat in the hotel and the food and service were again excellent.

I enjoyed a good nights sleep and even though it is in a busy area I have to say the hotel was quiet throughout the night.

The great cooked breakfast next morning started the day off perfectly. I don't think you could beat the Pillo for its standard and amenities for the price you can book for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Jay,
I am glad that you were looked after so well on your recent and return stay with us. Your feedback about your room, food and service have all been shared with the team. Thank you for sharing this with us
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed two nights at the Pillo Hotel ,about 10 mins walk into Galway,we used to get a taxi back 8 euros.The hotel has the friendliest staff you could wish to meet ,all very enthusiastic and willing to give you the service you require.The hotel has a good bar serving great quality food and the underground free car park is a real plus. The rooms were large with could comfy bedsWill certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLADESheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
It is always lovely to hear that our guests are happy with their stay and from your review, it sounds like you both had a very positive experience in all areas of the hotel and that you enjoyed the food, great service and free parking which we offer. We look forward to providing this high level of service to you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed there last night I don't like complaining and writing it here but hotel never got back to me so they clearly aren't bothered , booked for one night it was expensive went to the bedroom it was lovely and clean but it had two double beds I check my booking and it was for deluxe king and it did say could be king or two doubles , but for a couple away on wedding anniversary double is unexpeactable by bed at home is bigger , and then to be woken at 5am by the generator on the roof the noise was unbearable and I got no sleep went down to reception at 5.45 the porter was not shocked and new what I was talking about straight away he said he would leave a note for manager that was in at 7 but never heard anything again .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
My apologies that you were expecting a call from the hotel after your departure and this did not happen. I followed up on this with both reception and the manager on duty and please be assured that the lack of contact was purely down to a miscommunication between the departments. We would always do our best to resolve any issue which a guest may have, preferably before they leave the hotel and it is unfortunate that this did not happen for you. Your point regarding the bed preference you booked have been noted, as has the issue you had with noise from outside your room. We have carried out work on our plant in recent weeks, so hopefully any issues which may have been causing a disturbance to our guests have now been resolved. If you would like to speak to me further on your stay, then I will be very happy to talk with you. You can contact me at 091 513200.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff could not have been any more professional and welcoming. The rooms were absolutely clean and very comfortable. The room was great value too. The location is great, 20 mins walk at a comfortable pace into the city centre, with a bus route close by. We ate at the bar after checking out, the food was delicious and filling. I have no complaints whatsoever, and will be recommending the hotel to anyone travelling to Galway.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhdTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind review on your experience with us. It was great to hear that you were so happy with all of the services that you received and also with our location which as you rightly mentioned is perfect for those who want to visit the city or indeed Connemara or Clare. We hope that you will choose to stay again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Pillo is a clean, modern and well-run hotel. It is on the outskirts of Galway - very conveniently located near the Kirwan Roundabout (which connects with all routes in all directions). We parked our car (in free underground parking lot) and walked the 20 minutes to downtown restaurants. The first 15 minutes are through a bleak, modern set of shopping malls - then the city centre beckons.

Major tip: don't eat in the hotel restaurant. Salad was over-priced and very sad. There are plenty of fine restaurants within an easy walk - drive of the hotel, and even several large food stores to allow you to stock up on various goodies.

A few minutes along the major roads in any direction and you're into beautiful country.

A very good hotel to use as a base for exploring the region...

Room Tip: The lifts are modern and efficient, and go from parking garage below to top floor, so no worries abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Micheal,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found the standard and cleanliness of the hotel to be good, aswell as our location as a base for touring the countryside. It was disappointing to read that you were not happy with the salad that you were served. We would normally receive positive feedback about our food, therefore, we have been monitoring this dish more closely since you made the point. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing