We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Dream Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clare Villa

Clare Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clare Villa
Ranked #16 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Dream Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Clare Villa in late July 2012. The owners, Christina and her husband, were both very pleasant and as I was the early riser, brought me coffee into the living room each morning prior to breakfast. Parking was a bit tight. Easy drive into Salthill. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Wonderful place to stay. My 17 yr old daughter and I recently stayed here while on Vacation in Ireland. The room was meticulously kept and Christina went above and beyond in helping us with directions and anything else that we required. I highly recommend the Clare Villa.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne2163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Lovely place to stay: friendly and helpful owners, clean and bright room, and made-to-order breakfast. It's only a few steps from the beach and a bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Christina was a great hostess and we had a great stay. This place is convenient and clean and the food was really good too. Easy to find and right next door to the tennis and squash club. Nice walking distance to downtown Salthill, cool little town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loris, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

My husband, myself and 2 friends stayed with Christina and her husband Stephen for 2 nights. We loved their B &B. It was very clean and one of the few places in Ireland we found washclothes provided. Our breakfasts were wonderful. Christina was always helpful with info on tours and directions. The bus stop into Galway is right across the street from the B & B and the buses run until 11pm, it was great for getting to the shopping and restaurants. Of all the places we stayed in Ireland in 11 days, this was one of our favorites. Thanks, Christina and Stephen.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherielynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our 2nd night of our honeymoon. The house was nice enough, the room was clean and although somewhat small, it was comfortable, but from the moment I arrived I noticed the host (Christina) seemed to be kind of cold and kurt towards us. She quickly showed us to our rooms with her arms crossed then left. I shrugged it off but the next morning, at breakfast, it was the same thing....she was very cold and unfriendly and made us feel very unwelcome there. However, when other guests came down to breakfast (they were of Irish decent) she unfolded her arms, smiled for the first time we saw, and was completely friendly with them, chatting with them and asking their plans for the day. My husband couldn't figure out what we had done wrong!!! We booked months early and arrived well on time, and were as poilte as ever, and very quiet. Was it because we weren't Irish? Because we only booked one night?? Because we were under 35?? We couldn't figure it out but we were certainly glad to leave!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chumniski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We enjoyed walking to the beach and to the many restaurants in Salthill. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. They do not have a website but they do have email.
We had a good breakfast and received travel info from Christina. We had our own toilet, shower and sink in the room. You could get to Galway by bus but we had a rental car. The price charged was similar to the 7 others we stayed at during our trip. We stayed here for 2 nights. Rick Steves has recommended this b and b in his Ireland guide.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffinCary_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
3.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Villa

Property: Clare Villa
Address: Clare Villa 38 Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Clare Villa Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing