We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Host made us feel at home”
Review of Almara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almara House
Ranked #11 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Host made us feel at home”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were so glad we chose Almara House to stay at for our night in Galway. We were able to park right in front of the B&B and easily unload. Matt was such a friendly host and he directed us to the bus stop on the street right outside of the B&B that took us downtown for the night. The room we had was upstairs, comfortable, with modern decor and the bottles of water provided were simple but so welcome after a night out on the town!

Really the only downside we saw was the distance away from the city center but with having the bus station so close by it was a very easy trip even in the rain.

Lovely, filling breakfast. I had some delicious pancakes but we were also provided with granola & yogurt, cereal, and a basket of bread & scones.
Matt chatted with us as we were the only diners at breakfast and asked us about the next leg of our trip, along with giving us some advice on which direction to take and sites to see. Would absolutely stay here if we are able to visit Galway again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flonlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    50
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
141
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My daughter and I loved the place. It was one of the easier B&B's to find, our room was beautiful, and Matt and Marie were so welcoming and helpful when we arrived. Matt gave us directions into town so we wouldn't have to drive anymore, which we both appreciated. The beds were comfy, the room had a great heating system, and there was a drink station right outside our door. The breakfast was absolutely beautiful we almost felt bad eating it. Overall, it's an amazing place to stay, and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Our room was very modern, clean, and tasteful- the bed was also comfortable. There was even a small fridge in the room with two wine glasses and a bottle of tap water as well. The bathroom was small, but functional and clean! Right outside of the room there was a hot drink station with numerous teas and coffee and a kettle. The wifi was stable and fast. The owner was very helpful to us the evening we arrived, giving us tips on how to get to the city as well as a map. That evening we had been given a menu of breakfast options to choose from and fill out- so in the morning we came down to our breakfast choices. I'm a vegetarian- so I just asked for scrambled eggs- my boyfriend got a full irish breakfast. The food was great! We returned to our room after breakfast to pack our things up- just as we were closing our last suitcase the owner knocked on the door (7 minutes after the posted check out time) and said that the laundry needed to be done- as we were really already done this wasn't a big issue but it gave us a funny feeling...
The B&B reminded us a bit of a hotel- we saw a few business men going in and out and the issue with having vacated the room 7 minutes late. But it's a lovely B&B with very fair prices! We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our second visit to Almara House, having discovered Matt and Marie's lovely B & B two years ago. As usual they were most helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are furnished beautifully, and are a nice size. Breakfasts are delicious, as Marie is an excellent cook. Matt is kind and will share his wisdom regarding the area. They go above and beyond to meet the needs of their guests. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay while in Galway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Wanderer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Upon arrival I felt as though I was staying in a private home. Our hosts were very receptive and made us feel so welcome. The room on the top floor was very nice and the availability of being on the bus route to downtown made the trip into the city inexpensive and very convenient. Only 4 parking spaces can be tough, but other spaces ere available nearby. Breakfast was the BEST ever! Also proudly displayed was the Trip Advisor rating!

Room Tip: No A/C was available on the top floor, but window open to let cool air in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAV07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The room was a tad bigger than average size along with the bath, a slightly larger shower area but the sink was the size of a casserol dish. There was only parking for 4 cars so you may have to park across the street half on the grass. The steps were narrow making it awkward to carry the larger suitcast upstairs. Breakfast had two seatings, 8 and 9 only. There was not a table with juices, cereal, or breads like other places. It was very clean and nicely appointed and had adaquate outlets.

A note about B&B's: We stayed in 7 B&B's duing our trip, all 4 star or more. Generally they do not provide any wash cloths and just hand soap, no shower soap. As a rule the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, about 3' x 9' with just enough room for the shower stall, toilet and sink. The showers are snall some just 2' square. Most do not have any alarm clocks, have dim lighting especially the bathrooms and few or no outlets for charging phones, tablets, etc. That being said they were all clean with nice bedding, all provided a full delicious Irish breakfast and all the hosts were very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on second and third floor only so request the second so you don't have to carry everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We only stayed here 1 night, but it was a really great place to stay, rooms were nice and clean, breakfast served was really good, on top of all that, the B&B owners are a great couple.
They welcomed us and made us feel at home.
This is conveniently located about 20 mts walk from city center.
also very easy to get from all the motorways as well.
I would recommend to anyone going to Galway.

Room Tip: Any room would be good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Despardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,893 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,065 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,078 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara House

Property: Almara House
Address: Almara House 2 Merlin Park Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Almara House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an elegant AA 4 star family residence. Guide du Routard, National Geographic, Arthur Frommers, and The Italian Touring Guide recommended. Contemporary Rooms with complimentary WI-FI, Fridge, Hospitality Tray, Mineral Water, Hairdryer and choice from our Extensive Breakfast Menu. Located in the city suburbs just 5 minutes drive from the City Centre. Tours to The Cliffs of Moher and Connemara can be organized and you are collected from our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing