We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburban Hideaway”
Review of Almara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almara House
Ranked #11 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Suburban Hideaway”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Our room was still occupied when we showed up early, but we were allowed to park and leave our bags while we visited Galway. The B&B is easily reached from the town center by bus. After we returned we were made welcome, and plenty of tea & candy was offered as we relaxed in the comfortable room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sundial J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    50
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
141
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, NV
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Marie welcomed us nicely and showed us to a well-appointed room with toiletries and a snack. It's clean and spacious. My complaint is that the walls are quite thin and you will hear everything not just in adjoining rooms but throughout the house. My wife and I tried to lay down for a nap after our arrival but could not get much sleep as other guests were greeted. At bedtime, the snoring of our neighbor was audible throughout the night. Our breakfast was the smallest we had in Ireland but the quality was outstanding. Marie was friendly, her husband polite and helpful but a little cold.

Room Tip: Definitely ask if anyone is staying in an adjoining room because walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gael11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Matt and Marie were wonderful hosts, helping us with directions and things to see while in town. Served a a delicious breakfast, in a cheery dining area. Very clean modern accomodations, near bus stop; would recommend

Room Tip: upstairsfront could hear traffic with window open, otherwise, plenty of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkbars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My sister and I spent 4 nights at this wonderful B&B. Matt and Marie made us feel like we were staying with our parents. They arranged for our tour bus to pick us up, laundry service and Matt even drove us to the train station. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. The breakfast you ordered the night before and could choose from a traditional Irish breakfast to a smoothie or organic yogurt just to name a few! The service and presentation was 5 star. The B&B is right on the bus route with a 10 minute ride to the Eyre and very convenient. Hope to stay with Matt and Marie again someday!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We (four couples) stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in nearby hotel. The owners are so friendly and helpful. Very clean and beautiful house. Breakfast was gorgeous the next morning. Would definitely recommend staying here!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The owners pay attention to detail with everything and are extremely helpful and friendly.
The breakfast is homemade and the rooms are clean and furbished nicely.
I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for everybody who is travelling around the country and is looking for accommodation close to Galway City Centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canary Islands, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A friend recommended this B & B for good service, close to the University campus and the city of Galway, peace and care of the hosts and the fact is that he was right, the hosts are very polite and worry that everything you need is within your reach and even care about your planning, not to miss the full day and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonimonzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,893 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,064 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,078 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara House

Property: Almara House
Address: Almara House 2 Merlin Park Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Almara House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an elegant AA 4 star family residence. Guide du Routard, National Geographic, Arthur Frommers, and The Italian Touring Guide recommended. Contemporary Rooms with complimentary WI-FI, Fridge, Hospitality Tray, Mineral Water, Hairdryer and choice from our Extensive Breakfast Menu. Located in the city suburbs just 5 minutes drive from the City Centre. Tours to The Cliffs of Moher and Connemara can be organized and you are collected from our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing