We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot in Galway”
Review of Almara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almara House
Ranked #11 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely B&B, very helpful and friendly hosts, great spot to stay, close to Galway, a short 10 minute stroll down to FLannery's Hotel for a fantastic meal! The B&B had fantastic breakfast, room very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and the tea, coffee, iced water just out on the landing was lovely - although its on a reasonably busy road into Galway this didn't bother us. Thank you to Matt for your welcome and assistance!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seenthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Almara House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms here in July on a family vacation. It's pretty, comfortable and clean. The location was a good base for exploring Galway and Connemara. They served the best breakfast. And they helped us get our luggage when it arrived a day late.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank baytownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our least favorite B&B on our Ireland trip. The location is on a busy street, so there is a good bit of street noise, then we had guests arriving at 11:30 and again well after midnight that gave us a start. Then when the other guests fell asleep, we were bombarded with very loud snoring. So we did not get much rest. Then the breakfast was a bit meager, and we felt a bit cheated. The choices for breakfast forced some odd combinations and to only get two "silver dollar" sized pancakes at breakfast is kind of sad. The place looks nice on the surface, but a little closer inspection shows the place is a bit threadbare. Our carpe had a hole in it, the paint in the bathroom was a bit slapdash and gave the room a rather cheap feel.

Room Tip: Our corner room had good ventilation.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shibumi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just spent four nights at this lovely, comfortable and immaculate B & B. In addition Matt and Marie are the most warm, friendly and professional owners we have ever met. Service was exceptional. They both cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast is outstanding and location very handy. We were in town from America for a family wedding and were so glad we stayed at Almara House!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

During our holidays in Ireland We stayed at ten B&B´s and this was definetly the best one! Lot of thanks to Marie! She helped us a lot and was very very friendly. Even after we checked out and had a problem we called her and she helped us again! You have many choices for breakfast and it tastes excellent! The room was so lovely furnished! Thanks for this great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Matt and Mary were unbelievably gracious hosts! We arrived with a load of soaking wet clothes and shoes as we were caught in a heavy downpour at the Cliffs of Moher. It was Sunday so no laundrettes were open. Matt immediately offered to take care of them and throw them in his dryer and make sure they were dry as soon as possible. We were so grateful as we needed our jackets warm and dry for our next excursion!

The house was so warm and welcoming! Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable! Matt and Mary provided us with everything we needed to make our stay a great one!

The location was excellent! Breakfast was wonderful! We could not have been more happy with our stay at the Almara House. Thank you Matt and Mary!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a wonderful night there in early June. It was very clean and tidy and the owners were very obliging. The room was comfortable and breakfast next morning was superb - the best porridge I have tasted in a long time. Access to Galway was very easy and I will happily return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, although those upstairs are harder with luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,991 reviews
3.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,567 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara House

Address: Almara House 2 Merlin Park Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £65 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almara House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an elegant AA 4 star family residence. Guide du Routard, National Geographic, Arthur Frommers, and The Italian Touring Guide recommended. Contemporary Rooms with complimentary WI-FI, Fridge, Hospitality Tray, Mineral Water, Hairdryer and choice from our Extensive Breakfast Menu. Located in the city suburbs just 5 minutes drive from the City Centre. Tours to The Cliffs of Moher and Connemara can be organized and you are collected from our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing