We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay in great surroundings”
Review of The Stop B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stop B&B
Ranked #5 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I just stayed at the Stop for two nights. We had a wonderful stay in accommodation which is spotless and welcoming. The interior decor is really cool and clearly reflects the artistic background of the owners. Russell was an excellent host without being overbearing or trying too hard. The food was delicious, I would return just for the homemade bread and jam!
The property is also very convenient for Galway city and just a short walk to all the bars and restaurants in town.
I really enjoyed staying here and already look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaLeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at The Stop in March 2014 for 2 nights. We could have happily spent much longer! Russ and Emer are lovely hosts, friendly and accommodating. The house is well decorated, everything is fresh and new, and beds are comfortable. Breakfast was made to order with locally sourced ingredients and there were several delicious options. They also gave us perfect recommendations for restaurants, cafes and pubs nearby. The house is a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town, a perfect location. We really could not have asked for anything more. I would recommend The Stop to anyone visiting Galway, it's really a remarkable place with a relaxed and friendly vibe.

Room Tip: We saw most of the rooms and they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W_Andrew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The B&B is very nicely decorated with artsy pieces but in a homey, not pretentious way. The hosts were super nice and gave us a self-drawn map of their personal recommendations in the city. Location is great--less than 10 min walk to city center and grocery store right across the street. Bedroom was clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water and good wifi connection. Breakfast was top notch too. Definitely stay here if you're visiting Galway!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amysmhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at The Stop last summer and found it to be clean, friendly and modern. I would recommend it to anyone. Russell, Emer and the other staff members were perfect hosts and were very helpful in helping us to locate local attractions. Russell's breakfasts were generously sized and Emer's homemade cookies were delicious. The Stop is ideally located close to the centre of Galway City and is also within easy walking distance of Salthill. I'll definitely be booking to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our stay at The Stop was cozy, clean and comfortable - Russell is so kind and welcoming, he looked after us so well and had some really great Galway tips. The breakfast each morning was delicious and we loved the bright dining room and the quirky sitting room (where you can help yourself to tea, coffee and delicious homemade cookies) The location is perfect and there's a shop and ATM right across the road which is a bonus. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. It was my first B&B experience and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

What an amazing Bed and Breakfast. Russell and Emer went out of their way to insure that we had an enjoyable stay. Their hospitality was beyond expected, so much so that we extended our stay. The breakfast like everything else was incredible and I could not recommend this Bed and Breakfast enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here last week - got great help from the outset from the owner , Russell and also he communicated with us en route and showed us to the car park on arrival. The place is very clean , simple and the breakfast was really really good. definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 60 in Galway
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stop B&B

Address: 38 Father Griffin Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Stop B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing