We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant B&B”
Review of The Stop B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stop B&B
Ranked #5 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very pleasant B&B”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The look of the B&B is lovely. Special attention has been accorded to the decoration and makes the stop B&B look like no other one! The beds are comfortable, the breakfast takes various forms and is very tasty. There is also a very pleasant lounge where you can drink tea and read. All members of the staff are very friendly and care about your comfort! My only negative point would be that when some costumers don't respect the rules of quietness during the night, it is difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoFrenchTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    135
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
134
342
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights here. It's a really cool little b&b, very comfy beds, delicious breakfast, lovely people working there and a great location. Really nice atmosphere and nice touches like bottled water to take up to your room and home made cookies in the living room. We'll definitely return

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dublinemma27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penndel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this lovely place. The location is perfect - just a short walk to all the action of Galway city centre but with the luxury of peace and quiet upon our return. The inn is immaculately kept and the breakfasts magnificent! Russell and Emer are tremendous hosts! Their recommendations were perfect and they were a great help in arranging transportation for us. We will surely stay here again on our next trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAM9088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This was a great location and our host was soooo very helpful, even though we arrived so late!! The breakfast was delicious, the bed comfy, and the whole house clean! Thank you so much- we highly recommend! Lori Ann and Caitlin

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loriann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I've stayed in this B&B twice now, the first time in August 2013 and then in March 2014. The bedrooms are clean and simple, though some might find them a bit small (I think they're perfect size!), en-suite bathroom (with shower, toilet and sink) are very small but serve perfectly. The bed is reasonably comfortable - not out of this world, but slept in it no problem. The noise proofing between the rooms isn't great so I'd recommend bringing some ear-plugs with you. We stayed there when the place was full and could hear the people in the room above and below us.
The real winner for this B&B is the breakfast, the location and the décor/atmosphere. The decoration is very individual and the owners make every effort to make you feel welcome. The breakfast isn't just the usual fry-up but a few options: from healthy muesli, to a veggie scrambled eggs with feta cheese and basil infused roasted tomatoes, fry with a twist, and french toast with cinammon and pears. Really tasty!
You're within walking distance of Galway city and Salthill. The Dominick street area (that has all the best pubs in Galway as well as some tasty restaurants - Rouge, Kai, Aniar all worth a visit) is minutes away, with the rest of the town minutes away also. Thankfully, you're not so near all the action that it'll keep you awake at night time.
We didn't have a car but there are parking spaces available to the rear of the building.
There's some really cute touches to this B&B, like the sitting room area with home-made cookies and a variety of tea and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the stop in late March while doing a Roadtrip around Ireland. Galway was definitely one of our favorite places. Rus and Emer at the stop were fantastic hosts. The B&B is located just a few minutes walk to the town center. It's decorated so cute! The food was fantastic, freshly made to order. The room was a bit on the small side and didn't have a tv-but a great value! We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Theamberpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellently located in Galway City, The Stop is funkily decorated with a great vibe and lacks that awkwardness of being in someone else's house you can often feel in a b&b. Great breakfasts with homemade bread. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NollaigBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,428 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stop B&B

Property: The Stop B&B
Address: Kilcullen House 38 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Stop B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing